We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in OOB!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Best in OOB!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been staying at the Echo Motel for the past 10 years. I have stayed in both a room as well as in one of the cottages and they are both very comfortable. They were both neat and the cottage made me feel like I was at home. Paul and Leslie are amazing and are really nice. They truly care about your experience staying there and will do their best to help you with an issues. I have had awesome experiences staying there and look forward to going back every year. If you are ever in Old Orchard Beach the Echo Motel is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    20
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
155
40
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This place has to be the cleanest place I have stayed. The staff and owners are so friendly always say hello to you and just don't walk past you and ignore you. Right next to the beach and close to the pier and has a very clean pool to sit at. This is our third year here such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kcard33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millis, MA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

3rd year in a row our family stayed in Cottage #2 during the first week of August. Again it was just awesome, and this isn't just a cottage, it's a full blown beach house! Leslie and Paul do a great job in making everything just right. Looking forward to next year already...only 51 weeks to go!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavendish, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband, son, his wife and two childrend have stayed at the Echo Cottages at least 10 times in the last twelve years and have had a wonderful week each time. Leslie and Paul offer updated cottages which include everything needed for a comfortable stay at the ocean either on or with beach views. Every year upon our return we find they have added amenities to their cottages to make them as comfortable as home. This include a washer, dryer, dishwasher, internet and televisions as well as attractive furnishings. You not only have ocean bathing but also a pool is available for our use. We always arrive to a sprarkling clean cottage. Leslie and Paul live on site at the Echo Motel which is ideal if you need to be in contact with the property owners. We plan to return to these cottages for many years to come. Jane Pixley & family Cavendish, VT

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at the Echo Motel (Unit 14) in June/July this summer, and hope to get back in August. I cannot say enough about this motel and its staff. As you can see, this motel has been given almost all perfect reviews except for one knucklehead. Echo is family owned and operated. It is a "mom and pop" establishment. It is very well kept up, EXTREMELY CLEAN, and 60 steps (if that) to the beach entrance. There is plenty of parking. A few are across the street, but note that I said "across the street" and not "across the continent. IF you need to park across the street, it is very very close and safe, and you can unload and load your car in the main parking lot closer to the motel. Aside from being CLEAN, the hotel rooms are safe and secure. Echo provides you with a room safe in any case. The bathrooms are motel room bathrooms, except for the simple fact that at Echo they are CLEAN!!!! They're small, but how much time do you plan on spending in there anyway? The rooms are roomy and the beds are more than comfortable. Great mattresses. There are nice common areas outside the rooms, as well as personal chairs outside your door. There is a very well kept pool area, quiet time between 10AM-7AM, and a No Smoking policy on the grounds, but the owners are kind enough to set up a table and chairs along the side of the motel for their smoking customers. They also have a hose along side the street/hotel so you can hose off your feet after coming off the beach. The beach is literally 60 steps away (I counted.) The motel is about a half mile from the Pier.

Room Tip: Two level motel. Upstairs is perfect, but you do have to bring your stuff up and down. I still enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn2kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our family stayed at this motel July 10th - July 20th. We were very careful in choosing a motel but this turned out to be a jackpot! This was by far the most clean motel we've ever stayed at. Extremely well managed. We are not from the US so ew were not able to bring beach chairs. The owners of the motel let us use their beach chairs, umbrella and boogie boards. We had a great time enjoying both beach and pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CecKro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at Echo Motel in OBB and not a complaint to be had. Cleanist motel you can find anywhere, right up to the beach and very quiet. Nice pool was very welcome has the week we were there was very hot, in the 90's. We will be back to OBB and we will stay at Echo Motel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biggersim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
#3 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
534 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#9 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages

Property: Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Address: 8 Traynor St, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2918
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Echo Motel & Cottages are centrally located and within walking distance to the pier. The Oceanfront Cottages are large with wraparound decks that offer incredible views of the beach and bay. Other cottages within feet of the ocean are also available. Clean and comfortable motel units with or without kitchenettes are located 50 feet from the ocean with no streets to cross. All accommodations are reasonably priced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Echo Motel And Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Hotel Oceanfront
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing