We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Echo Motel and OOB just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, FL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Echo Motel and OOB just ok”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here in August, my wife and three boys and myself. We decided on the Echo Motel from the good reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not very impressed after staying here. The property seemed fine, but upon check-in I realized they gave us the room ( I think room 9?) right next to the pool and with a staircase right in front of our room. That means out of all the rooms on the property, we got all the noise from the pool plus everyone coming up/down stairs from the second floor rooms. Also, the little tiny space in front of each room facing outside that most people could sit outside on, we had a staircase right in front of ours. The real kick in the rear is that this room also doesnt have parking on site, I had to park the car across the street while everyone else with a room had parking there. Not a huge deal, but clearly this is the worst room in the resort and they should have told us when booking or offer a discount.
The rooms were ok, very spacious for our family, bathroom was a bit small but we managed. Very close walking to the beach. The cleaning /housekeeping did an excellent job in tidying up.
One other point that we didnt like, there is no ice maker on the property, you have to buy your own. No beach towels, you have to bring/buy your own, and no beach toys for kids. We ended up leaving the beach toys and towels that we bought with the management for future users.
Our family didnt really like Old Orchard beach, not our type of crowd and we wont be going back. The Echo was just ok, apparently there are a lot of Canadiens from Montreal that really like this place as we talked to several that come back year after year and seemed to really like it, but it is not really for us.

Room Tip: Do not, i repeat DO NOT, stay or accept room 9 without full disclousure or a discount. its the worst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jfloMiami_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EchoMotel, Owner at Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We are happy to hear that this writer spoke to many of our repeat customers from Canada who really enjoy their time at the Echo, we love having people be happy during their stay. He is correct in stating that his room was spacious, it is approximately 15' x 30' with 3 beds, and the location is in great demand by families with children who enjoy being close to the pool. I do not consider this traveler's comments as nitpicking; its about preference. He made it very clear that Old Orchard Beach is not his type of vacation destination and his thoughts and feelings about the Echo were influenced by his total experience. He prefers amenities more often provided at, for example, Four Season's Resorts; although I can assure you his car would be parked further from his room at any Four Season location then it was at the Echo. His reservation was made by his mother who also booked a room but later cancelled. Unfortunately all information about the room, its location, and what is provided was explained to his mother and apparently, not communicated to her son. I would advise all people who book their vacations at the Echo to please speak with us as we want to be very open, honest, and totally transparent in terms of portraying our motel accurately, so there are no surprises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    20
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
159
40
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have spent a week each summer for the past three years at Echo Side, part of Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages. Our experience with the on-site owners, Leslie and Paul, is nothing but positive. They, and their staff, are friendly and helpful with local information. The location is great as you are only steps to a beautiful sandy beach and also within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops and deli's. Echo Side is a single two story house with 3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, and includes towels and linens. The place is extremely clean, well decorated and all appliances are included. You can't miss with this property and we'll be back again next summer for another great time in a great place.Jim & Loretta, Newburgh, NY

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My family and I have been going to the Echo Motel and Cottages for the past 10 years. We began this yearly trip when my children were small and we fit comfortably in one of the motel kitchenettes. We never had issues with space. We managed to cook a breakfast every morning. We were supplied all the dishes and cooking utensils we needed. Whenever we decided to cook dinner instead of going out, we had the luxury of using one of the barbeques that are supplied. If we decided to eat out side we could use one of the tables either on the second floor or the one on the lower level. My kids start talking about going back to the Echo Motel as we are driving off.
Now that they are older and have friends that they bring, we are renting one of the cottages that is very well maintained and kept clean. We also like using the pool after a day at the beach, the beach is steps away. The cottage we rent Echoside, It is very spacious and clean and there is ample room for the 6 of us.
We would not stay anywhere else, except the ECHO MOTEL AND COTTAGES!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PicSouthBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca Castle, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

For over 15 years,we've spent time at the Echo. The rooms are super clean and decorated nicely. Leslie and Paul and their staff are friendly and make us feel right at home. Along with being steps from the ocean, the Echo is within walking distance to restaurants and shops. We like it so much we stayed there 3 times this year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent a weekend in the early fall at the Echo Motel, Leslie was very friendly and helpful. The motel is not fancy but extremely clean and well kept. The microwave and fridge were great for breakfast, a stone's throw to the beach. Will be back for longer stay. great beds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary_oMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We are repeaters to Echo Cottages and as long as Paul & Leslie will rent to our family we will keep coming back. They offer so much to make our vacation fun and relaxing. Most other properties are not as clean and comfortable....you have to provide sheets, towels etc but at the Echo they provide everything including washer/dryer so we do not have to even pack a lot of clothes. We wash and wear. The kitchens are fully equiped including dishwasher so it gets us out of the kitchen after meals. Paul & Leslie accomodate when ever possible. It was our lucky find and 22 years later we are still going back. Started with my husband and I and our three children. It took off as a family spot which included spousesand grandkids. The grandkids start as soon as school lets out in June going on line looking at the Echo website calling out which room it theirs. The housekeepers do such a great job....curtains on the windows are crisp clean and everything is immaculate. Until we were able to get into the Echo (they had a waiting list) we stayed at other locations....none holds a candle to Echo. Our grandson became ill on one of our stays.....Paul offered to drive us to the nearest hospital....that was in the middle of the night. It is comforting to know people care about you. You won't find a better place to stay in Old Orchard Beach than the Echo for all that they offer for the money you pay. Try it yourself and you will be so happy you did and will be writing your own review. I could go on and on, but I think you get it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuscana25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have been to the Echo Motel with my friends and their twin daughters for the past 11 years and have had no complaints with the owners or housekeeping staff, they are wonderful people. The rooms are kept clean and have been updated and improved over the years. One year, when I returned from the Echo, I discovered I did not have my watch. I called the Motel to see if I had left it there, and housekeeping had turned the watch into the owner. The owner shipped it to me at no cost. Being a senior citizen, the short walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants, by the Pier, and not having the noise of the amusement area close by is a real plus. I am looking forward to returning next year!!!

Room Tip: Kichenette rooms are spacious enough for 3 adults and two children--drawer and closet space is adequ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
#3 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#12 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beau Rivage Motel
Beau Rivage Motel
#20 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages

Property: Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Address: 8 Traynor St, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2918
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Echo Motel & Cottages are centrally located and within walking distance to the pier. The Oceanfront Cottages are large with wraparound decks that offer incredible views of the beach and bay. Other cottages within feet of the ocean are also available. Clean and comfortable motel units with or without kitchenettes are located 50 feet from the ocean with no streets to cross. All accommodations are reasonably priced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Echo Motel And Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Hotel Oceanfront
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing