We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spotless, cozy and efficient!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spotless, cozy and efficient!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

3 nights as a couple September 11 - 13. Motel room #1. Just off the East Grand Road and far enough away from the Pier, but not too far. Could see the ocean from the rear windows. Looked like it was just remodeled. New carpet and furniture (2 full size beds, 2 dressers, large mirror, table and chairs, flat screen TVs), a safe, new shower, bathroom flooring and wallboard, new windows. Incredibly clean - if you have ever been to Switzerland - it was that clean! Cute lay out of the kitchenette complete with a counter and 2 stools, 2 burner cooktop, MV, mini frig, 12 cup coffee pot, sink and every kind of cookware, dishes, and utensils necessary. Provided dish soap and a few coffee filters. Very tiny, charming bathroom (which is probably typical of these vintage motels) with the worlds smallest sink. Shower with lots of hot water with a lot of water pressure that is controllable. They even managed to squeeze in a wall mounted hair dryer. The thru the wall A/C did it's job and did provide some white noise - very much like home! There were 2 plastic chairs and a small table on the porch entry just outside the motel room door. Close to everything. Convenient parking just outside your door. Wish we could have stayed longer. We knew that Old Orchard Beach was close to train tracks and we heard the Amtrak Downeaster as well as other trains go by several times a day. Did not matter in the big scheme of things. Pool was available right next door at the Echo. Wifi reception was good either from the Echo or Moontide. We slept in the room that did not share a wall with another couple as we could hear TV noise - not loud and obnoxious, just audible and expected in an older motel. We spread out into the second bedroom and kept the one room neat. Although we used the drop leaf dining table for breakfast, I think I would have preferred to have a couple of comfortable stuffed chairs and just eat at the counter. In the evening, there was nowhere to go to relax and read a book, other than lay on the beds or sit at the table. Out on the beach, just to the right as you enter the sand, there is a grill - I think it is called the Seaside Grill. They serve up breakfast and lunch, snacks, and they are a source for miscellaneous needs. Nice to have something that close. We were there late in the season and there was not much going on in OOB, but we found enough to enjoy the town!

Room Tip: I think the motel room space was fine for a couple and perhaps 1 - 2 very small kids, but a couple w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamandJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    31
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
107
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Repentigny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We've stayed 6 nights at the Moontide Motel and our stay was perfect. We were welcomed like we have never been welcomed before in OOB, the room was very clean, the beds were comfortable, nice flat tv and very quiet at night. A few steps away from the beach and a few minutes from the pier so the perfect situation. We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I recently stayed for a four day weekend at the Moontide Motel in Old Orchard Beach. My mom and I wanted to do a fun trip to Maine and this was the absolute perfect place for us to stay. I actually found Moontide here on Tripadvisor and felt very comfortable booking my stay based on all the positive reviews. The motel room was perfect for my mom and I. It's obvious that the building has been there for a few decades but everything was spotless. We stayed in room #1 and could actually see the waves from our bathroom window. We felt we didn't lose anything at all by not being technically "beach front", we were still incredibly close to the beach. We loved our trip so much we actually regretted so many trips away from town up to Portland and down to Kennebunkport. We will definitely be back and plan to spend even more time at the motel and on the beach. Thanks Donna and Jim!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khines927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I booked this place several months in advance because of the price. While the price was excellent, the hospitality is second to none. Our room is quaint with all the necessities we need. There's a very nice flat screen tv (that we never turned on), stovetop, microwave, counter, double bed, and AC. Each room is assigned two chairs and a table out front that we used to hold our seashells and wet beach attire. One morning we awoke to our beachwear missing but realized a note had been placed on our door from the owner that they had taken our wet clothing/towels and dried it for us. When the owner brought it back, he said he knew it was supposed to be nice the next couple days and wanted our stuf to be dry for the beach.

Honestly, every place is only as good as you make it. If you spend any amount of time in your room at OOB, you're missing out on some of the most beautiful sights you'll ever see.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4P1G2H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We've stayed in many motels/hotels in many places and this is by far, the cleanest place to stay! The new renovations are amazing and only add to the already convenient location of this little gem of a place. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Many options to choose from- an overnight is easy in the standard room (comes with a refrigerator an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

The appartments are not located directly on the beach but they are close by. They are clean and well maintained. We rented appt #4 which has two nice bedrooms (queen & double), a small kitchen, a living room (with futon) and a large veranda.It is equiped with fridge,stove and three tvs. The large veranda (well ventilated and sunny) provided a very confortable added living space.
Highly recommanded.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Spent one week there with 2 kids ages 7 and 3. They had an absolute blast. So much to do in the area. Swimming at the motel. The beach is just steps away. Arcades, rides, and delicious food all within walking distance. Moontide is a beautiful motel with many upgrades. We felt very safe and comfortable there. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mindystubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#5 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#9 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments

Property: Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments
Address: 10 Traynor St, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2918
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one room sleeping units with 2 double beds,fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, flat screen TVs and bathroom with shower. Also, have 2 room kitchenettes with separate bedrooms in motel and cabins with outside fenced in patios. One and 2 bedroom full sized apartments are available as well. Other amenities include a/c, in room phones, free WiFi BBQ area and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Moontide Motel, Cabins and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moontide Motel, Cabins And Apartments Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing