We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, room not as expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed 1 night and that was enough. Quite pricy for the time of year, last Friday in September. Room very dated, had to squeeze by the television to get to the bed. Mold on the tiles in the bathroom, rusted shower bar, I understand this is ocean front so yes it is hard to maintain, however there was no blow dryer, shampoo, conditioner. No coffee maker, room did have a small fridge and microwave. Shopping bag from the previous person left on the floor by the second bed. Cobwebs on the ceiling. Had the feeling the room needed a little more attention.
The view was great nice oceanfront. But for the price definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseeker33_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thankyou for your review.Sorry that we did not meet you expectation. I pesonally went to the room .There is not a mold spot of any sort in the shower.the shower bar is made of chrome and does not rust.Our rooms are not outdated.We are not a Chain but a very well kept up family runned hotel. Some of our rooms are smaller than others we possibly could of upgraded if you would of asked. Everyone has a budget to go by.Coffee is served at our cafe or in the office in the am.Sorry I try to satisfy all my guest but some can not. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 571 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We truly enjoyed out stay at Normandie,. Kind and accommodating staff, excellent amenities, we enjoyed the pool, swimming in the Ocean. It was a great beach for walking right in front. The room was very comfortable and perfect with a kitchenette. The visitors were all nice and we made many new friends there. Steps from the beach, we woke up early for gorgeous sunrises on Old Orchard Beach. All conveniences, sites and restaurants were so close by we had not a wasted moment. I love the beach and the Maine Coast and I was able to fully immerse myself into this experience we will not forget. Hope to go back there soon. A very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Glald you had a great time. Thanks for the great pics. Come again . We do have great customers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was our first visit to OOB and we originally planned on staying for 3 nights. We did some research on the internet and picked this hotel based on other people's recommendations and not much else. After 1 night at the Normandie we immediately added a night to our stay. Unfortunately we had a commitment at home the next week, or we would have stayed another week. The room we had faced the beach and we were so close you could almost touch the water at high tide. We came after Labor Day and had 4 days of beautiful hot sunny weather. The hotel is quiet and well maintained. The room was clean and comfortable and everything worked well. Mike and his staff were friendly and very accomodating. We will definitely be returning to the Normandie for at least a week next year. John P

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

September 12 to 15 /2012

This was our first time to visit Old Orchard. We did not have reservations in advance , we decided to take our chances, the worst case was that we would have to sleep in our car. When we arrived in Old Orchard I noticed a Laundry Mat so I stopped and asked the young lady working there: ( if you were having your parents come to visit and had no room at your house, were would you send them.) Without hesitation she said ( THE NORMANDIE ). She also stated that the owner (MIKE) was billingual, she must have noticed I had a bit of a French accent. We, being in our 60s also appreciated him giving us a senior discount. The beach was maybe 50 feet from our door step. At low tide the width of the beach is almost the lenth of a football field. We both enjoy walking, so it was fantastic to be able to walk one hour in each direction and never coming to the end of the beach. Even the short distance to the Mid-Way only took 10 minutes, the choice of restaurants was basically unlimited. There were a few of them that closed after Labour Day for the season, but in the most part 99% of them were open. We even had a bonus last week because the was an Antique Car Show on, that started on Friday the 14th, made us feel young again when we seen the 1964 1/2 Mustang which so happened to be our first car. The people are friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed our short stay greatly. Thanks to Mike and his staff for giving us the opportunity of having a wonderfull short vacation. We will definately be back. Keep a look out for the Sand Dollars.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have the most beautiful sun rises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frosty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have vacationed here a few times over the years and have always had a great experience. It is a terrific place for children, with sand and water so close to the room! Mike is very friendly and accommodating. We look forward to more stays here when schedules permit.

Room Tip: The kitchenettes are perfect for families traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have stayed at the Normandie several times over the past 10 years. They have definitely been investing money into the facilities. We enjoy ourselves very much here. Mike takes care of his guests and any issues that you may have arise. Everything is clean, neat and really can't ask for more. We look forward to staying here again in the fu

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is our 5th year to Old Orchard Beach and another wonderful Labor Day weekend at the Normandie. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the sand and surf seconds from our door, kids love the beach and heated pool and it's nice to have parking for our vehicle close to room. Thanks and see you next year Mike!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, clean and seconds from the sand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#34 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#3 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#21 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
0 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#1 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn

Address: 1 York Street, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $60 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Normandie,we would to think we create memories.If you are looking to make an impression.Ask us about our motel rooms with or without kitchens even Jacuzzi Rooms. Condo Apartments,Townhouses and Beach House that have 2-3-4 Bedrooms.New for 2014 BBQ area with Gas grills.Weather your looking to bring the family or just a romantic getaway to the Beach.Then stay with The Bouffard Family At the Normandie. Open Year Round ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Normandie Oceanfront Hotel
Normandie Oceanfront Motel
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing