We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place was dirty outside and the people In the office were not catering to your needs at all it felt like you were asking fo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carolina Resort Motel
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The place was dirty outside and the people In the office were not catering to your needs at all it felt like you were asking fo”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

For what I paid per night- I received cold showers and all I got was I'm sorry. The Internet didn't work. The pool was yellowish. I ask for clean towels never received them. The surrounding around the pool was messy dirty towels left around the pool.
I felt that other hotels or motels got to use the pool. The people in the office were not friendly at all. I would say I felt like I was bothering them when I was the one paying for things and not receiving it. It was like I was bothering them when I was the one without hot water! I must say the young girl that came in and vacuum my room actually nice. But that was about it. Sad but everyone around me felt the same too. Parking was horrible too must I say I had a room right on the water and I never had a parking
were my room was never mind that when I called to speak to the manager it was the one on the phone that wasn't even showing any care that I had kids and we had to park on another street away from the room! The room
was clean ( well I thought!)
The trash from the bathroom was but not the kitchen trash was taking! Really. Then the rugs were not vacuum and the beds were not made. Horrible service and dirty!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    7
    6
    12
See reviews for
18
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for the fourth of july we had the best room there and the priciest. The first couple of nights we didnt have any hot water nor did the other rooms. Also the parking there well thats a whole other story.. If your paying for the most expensive room there then your parking should be right next to the room instead of parking next to a bar and having to walk to your room. I will never be back nor will i tell my friends and family to go there. Oh , one more thing the manager was rude and didnt help out at all. I will be staying next door though. Its called the Beach House. Thats where i will be staying from now on.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdaries75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have been staying here almost every year for the past decade and after my stay last week, I can say that it was my best stay to date. They made a change in Management this year and boy does it show! Room was clean as ever; fresh paint, new carpets and other updated amenities added to the great location and view. Also, the new staff were friendly, helpful, and down to earth. Even though this is not a modern motel by any means, it is a clean, comfortable and welcoming place to stay on your vacation.

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms have the best views for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here many times over the last 13 years. This place definitely could use updating..but ...location location location! That's why we keep going back there. The private deck rooms are the best.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oobfanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've been to the carolina before, years ago. so when i found myself back up in gods country,i decided to stay there. after reading all the reviews, i wondered if there are two carolina resort motels in o.o.b? because the one i stayed at on roussin st was awesome!!! Huge ocean front private deck overlooking the beautiful pool and the ocean!! not to mention the live music right there. Parking seems to be under control. Come back from dinner and my parking spot was still there!! I dont know what caused the bad reviews? i guess some people are unhappy no mater what you do for them!! anyway had a great time, already have reservation for next year.

Room Tip: the front rooms are upgraded with new furniture,flat panel tv and modern kitichenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

After reading some of the poor reviews for this motel I felt I needed to share my experiences. My family and I began going to the Carolina from the year it opened and, to this day, I continue to go there every Labour Day for a week's stay. The beachfront rooms are literally steps from the beach and the view from almost all of the rooms is outstanding. While it maybe true that, for a time, the rooms were a bit outdated, the rooms are now being remodelled and are very clean and comfortable. The staff have always been extremely friendly and make us feel welcome. There is a fully equipped kitchenette in each room which saves a fortune in restaurant costs. After labour day the rates are half price and I am allowed to bring my dog - which, trust me, not many places allow. I don't think you could ask for anything more. I love going to OOB and wouldn't stay anywhere but the Carolina.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

dirty,nasty, No where near luxurious like it says on the web site,place imo is a death trap for 171.00 a night absolutely horrible not even a dam vending machine in the hotel I will never stay at this dump of a motel ever again Remodel or something at 171/night your are ripping people of bad you should be ashamed of the crap hole you call a motel it would not surprise me if i got bedbugs from there p.s. its like every other review money back to stay there & pay me extra to stay there Please be warned this place is A crud hole

Room Tip: Don't stay there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stagger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Old Orchard Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#35 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#29 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Drift Motel
Sea Drift Motel
#12 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#10 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Resort Motel

Property: Carolina Resort Motel
Address: 1 Roussin Street, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Carolina Resort Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Vacationing With Breathtaking Views... The Carolina Resort Motel is where friends and family come to make memories that last a lifetime. After a long day of activity or relaxing at the beach, splash around in our heated pool or enjoy a cookout in our courtyard. In addition to comfort and genuine hospitality, the Carolina offers dining and entertainment right next door at Pirates Patio and Galley, with shopping and amusements of the Old Orchard Beach Pier only a short walk away. Offering oceanfront and ocean view rooms just a step away from the Atlantic Ocean, the Carolina Resort Motel aims to meet the needs of those seeking family vacation time, a romantic getaway, or a place to rest during business travel. We have recently updated/renovated many of our rooms and all include kitchen facilities, cable TV, and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Carolina Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Motel Old Orchard Beach
Carolina Resort Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing