We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Fun”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gull Motel, Inn and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2007

I made a last-minute decision to take a half-week vacation to Old Orchard Beach. The Gull Inn was one of the only places available to accommodate us, but it worked out well. Room was comfortable and quiet, AC worked fine. The Bulgarian couple managing the Inn for the owners were as nice and helpful as could be, and I spent some nice time chatting with them.

The Inn is literally steps from the beach and couldn't be more convenient. They do offer a hose to wash sand, etc. off of your feet and legs, and if you don't feel like actually going to the beach you can hang out in their yard and listen to the surf. The Inn also has a large porch where you can sit and do whatever. You can even see the weekly Thursday night fireworks from the yard without going on the beach.

The "free breakfast" wasn't a whole lot, but I did appreciate having coffee and danishes available, even if the pastries were pre-wrapped.

The only drawback was that they wouldn't take a credit card deposit when I called to make my reservation. They insisted that I send a check to hold my reservation, which I did... but proving that Murphy was an optimist, the check was lost in the mail. I only found out about this when I called to confirm my reservation, as they said they would call me when they got the check - found out they were about to cancel my reservation since they never got my check and also never called me about it.

Good thing I called before booking my plane tickets! I found the reservation policy weird and unwiedly in this era of 24/7 credit cards. I don't see why they couldn't spend a few bucks to get a merchant account so avoid this problem in the future.

I suppose your mileage will vary, but I had an enjoyable time and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sakartvelo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 70 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2007

Nice view from the "side", which was fine. Why do they call themselves a Bed & Breakfast if they're only serving packaged muffins & bagels, coffee & oj? Do yourself a favor, bring your own towels & toilet paper...the towels are as thin AND as rough as the toilet paper. As a matter of fact, bring your own everything....they're not into letting you borrow things, such as wine/bottle opener. It seems to be an inconvenience if you ask!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lomlkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2005

Just came back from the Gull Inn in OOB Maine. Upon arrival I was very disappoined with ocean view room. Very small, stuffy room, 12 inch TV on vanity table so you couldn't actually watch it unless you were sitting in a chair in front of the bathroom door! Air conditioner noisy and made tiny room like an ice box. Leave the window open and you swelter. No in between. You could see some of the ocean (sideview) IF you were standing up or lying in bed facing east! I asked to be relocated. Shown one other room..even worse location behind..where they set up for the free breakfast and guests sitting on front porch would be right outside your window! The small double bed had a lousy mattress and my back ached all the time which never happens to me. The young kids minding the Inn for the owners were very sweet but had little control over making guests happy. The front porch is nice but does not make up for everything else in my opinion. Furniture not at all comfy. It's a nice old house, and as close to the beach as you can get, and the place is immaculate. However, I would never stay there again. Also lots of noise..activity from the three adjacent GULL cottages/courtyards on East side of Inn also owned by the innkeepers.

8  Thank PTVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank letrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
Thank Maikazach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank Alain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retraite62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Waves Oceanfront Resort
Waves Oceanfront Resort
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Orchard Beach Inn
Old Orchard Beach Inn
#1 of 25 in Old Orchard Beach
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#22 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Birches Inn
Atlantic Birches Inn
#2 of 25 in Old Orchard Beach
103 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
454 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandpiper Beachfront Motel
Sandpiper Beachfront Motel
#5 of 25 in Old Orchard Beach
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gull Motel, Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gull Motel, Inn and Cottages

Address: 89 West Grand Avenue, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2640
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gull Motel, Inn, Cottages and Apartments offer four affordable and unique places to stay in Old Orchard Beach, Maine. Our Inn and Cottages are located directly on the beach and our Motel and Apartments are steps (75 yards) from Maine’s Best Beach! Please read on to see which lodging option works best for you, our Motel, our Bed and Breakfast Inn, a Beachfront Cottage or a spacious Apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gull Motel, Inn And Cottages Hotel Old Orchard Beach
The Gull Motel, Inn And Cottages Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing