We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fireworks”
Review of Old Orchard Beach

Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fireworks”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The one thing I enjoyed about OOB is that you are able to enjoy the water during the day and all the festivities in the area and then at night time when it starts getting warm, they have fireworks every thursday night from 9-93:0pm and the city puts on a little show its pretty cool.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rs_929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    353
    124
    38
    31
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oakland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great family atmosphere and lots to do. Great food all the way from fast food to 5 star. Only down side is there is very limited parking close to the beach and the town charges you to park in the city parking lot.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank USNRetcwo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location Location BEACH!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Old Orchard Beach will transport you back in time.

The trains still run, decor is wonderfully outdated,
simple and charmingly rustic.

Don't expect big city, modern Hotel flashiness.
Think more — small town, simple, historic and charming.
I love it.

I enjoy the Hilton when I'm in the city...
but, Old Orchard Beach has a whole different character and style.
Once you embrace the theme, you'll love that it is consistently used everywhere.

MUST SEE:
• The Pier
• Huoyt's Restaurant
• Pine Point Beach, fishing pier & rock jetty

Drive south to see:
• York Beach (Goldenrod Kisses, stick bowling arcade & York Zoo)
• MAINE DINER ( "Remember the Maine!" ) = order Lobster Pie :-b
• Marginal Way ( bring your camera = scenic seashore trail,
foot[draw]bridge, fishing port & local shoppes ).

Drive north to see
• Portland ( a unique restaurant in a permanently docked ship )
• Freeport ( home of LL Bean shopping complex )

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wblais1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“One of Maine's most nostalgic beaches!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I've worked and lived in Maine for a short time. I also visited many coastal towns in Maine. Each of them has their own disctinct characteristics but there's something about Old Orchard that sets it apart from the others. When I first arrived here a few years ago it was love at first sight. So inspired was I by the majestic scenery that I quickly started writing a haunting story which is soon to be published.
Old Orchard Beach is the kind of place that appeals to all kinds of people because it has a little bit of everything; an amusement park, a pier, a wide sandy beach, a variety of lodging options,and great restaurants.
Someday I'd love to own a bed and breakfast here. This is the kind of summer place that everyone should experience at least once.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank adrianna24sings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Buxton, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Your average beach”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

It's a nice beach ,but it's a hot tourist spot, so it gets extremely crowded during the summer season. If you like your space, then I would suggest less known, local spots. There are also lots of shops along the pier and main drag so you won't be bored. If you visit OOB, make sure to try a deep fried oreo- they're delicious :)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Orchard Beach also viewed

 
Old Orchard Beach, ME
 

Been to Old Orchard Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing