We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your average beach”
Review of Old Orchard Beach

Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
West Buxton, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Your average beach”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

It's a nice beach ,but it's a hot tourist spot, so it gets extremely crowded during the summer season. If you like your space, then I would suggest less known, local spots. There are also lots of shops along the pier and main drag so you won't be bored. If you visit OOB, make sure to try a deep fried oreo- they're delicious :)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    325
    115
    36
    30
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to vacation”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We just went to Old Orchard Beach this past summer and stayed at the Grand Victorian. We loved every minute of it and we strongly suggest OOB if anyone is looking for a nice place to visit in Maine.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best beach in the world”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I moved to Old Orchard because of this beach. It is 7 miles of white sand from Camp Ellis to Pine Point. The beach is horseshoe shaped so it seems to have some natura lprotection. If you like to hunt for sand dollars, clam shells, heart shaped rocks then check the tides (best to walk at low tide) and have some good luck hunting! I have even discovered some sea glass. In the winter the seagulls appreciate some stale bread; and the dogs have fun eyeing the gulls. I love walking my dog along the beach (please take a baggie for pick up) - I can even let him off the leash (he is well trained). I feel like this is my own beach; it is so uplifting to see the expanse of toe wiggling sand, with the water and white waves laping the shor and reflecting the colors in the sky: pink,blue, shades of gray sky at sunset or sunrise, islands off in the horizon - I took a picture and all my friends thought I was in the Carribean some where! I love my beach!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolCris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madawaska, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Fun things to do fun night clubs and great entertainment but the beach was very dirty when we went don't know if they clean it later in the season or don't clean it at all but way too dirty to enjoy

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sanbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I love the food! dont like the train in the center of town, its load. park looks fun. beach bagel has awesome food!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nolan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Orchard Beach also viewed

 
Old Orchard Beach, ME
 

Been to Old Orchard Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing