We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RECENT STAY AT ROYAL ANCHOR”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Anchor Resort
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have been staying at the royal anchor for over 35 years the service has always been second to none the BUREAU family are very very guest orinated the rooms are spotless its the only place to stay in OOB they are now on the second generation of ownership and things have never been better or nicer at the ROYAL ANCHOR I hope next summer to bring my grandkids so we can have 3 generations that have stayed with the BUREAU family once again thanks for a wonderful stay

ROSS&SHELLEY ARSENAULT

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROSS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 188 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wonderful place to stay; very clean and comfortable. Friendly staff and a good location on the first floor for anyone with some some physical disabilities. Bathrooms are small, but manageable and the porch provides a second room in good weather. Watch out, we'll be back next Fall!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank vacations06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

By chance, a friend and I discovered Royal Anchor Resort, and I am already planning for next years stay!! It is obvious, how much the owners and staff take pride in the resort! We were lucky to find this gem by chance, and to get a room with great ocean views, amazing sunrises and sunsets. The rooms are immaculately clean. Continental breakfast, muffins cereal, fresh fruit, juice, just enough to get you ready for a walk on the beach. The location is great, far enough away from main center of Old Orchard beach, to have quiet, but close enough if you want to go down there. Also close to LL Bean outlet shop, and to Perkins Cove. Saco is a great town, 5 minutes away, with a Drive In Movie and great supermarket-Hannigans! Not to mention Ken's Seafood! Great place ! Each room has a Keurig cup coffee machine, and a refrigerator that kept food cold. The owners could not have been more helpful! Now in response to other reviews, yes the bathrooms are small, and yes you get a key instead of a key card-but if you are looking for a for a Hilton Garden Inn, so be it. I would rather have a small bathroom, and a key, and have my sunrises and sunsets over the water, and hear the ocean crashing on the shore as I go to sleep. I did go in low season, Sept 15 through 18th,but still got a sunburn walking the beach. And they have a beautiful pool, clean, open if you choose to swim. I wanted to give my review, but still wanted to keep this great place a secret! It has a very intimate feel, sometimes when you stay in a big hotel, no one talks to each other, here the guests, most people who go here every year, will converse, while still respecting your privacy. Amazing. Planning for next year! Can't wait to go back! And the price for the room was amazing! Two weeks later ,had to get a room in NH ,no ocean views, much more expensive! What else can I say?

Room Tip: If you call the resort, they will be honest about the room views to the ocean-but most with a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We love visiting the Royal Anchor. Just got back from our visit. This was our 4th year in a row.
The staff is so friendly and ready to assist you at any time. The rooms are very neat and clean as well as the pool and grounds. We enjoy a nice breakfast which is served each morning. It is located right on the beach so you can enjoy the ocean around the clock. We'll certainly be back again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAREN05257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Royal Anchor resort is a fabulous place to stay! Rooms as well as the grounds are immaculately kept, staff is friendly and accomodating and the ocean view can't be beat! Will definately visit again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Royal Anchor Resort offers a wonderful view of the ocean and an outdoor pool ocean side making your day at the beach a great experience. Located a moderate distance away from the downtown area making your stay at the far enough away from the amusements and crowds. Guarantees a good night sleep listening to the ocean waves and feeling the nice sea breezes. Lots of great restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna29727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really enjoyed our time at the Royal Anchor. Nice clean rooms, well decorated and just far enough from the center of town. Continental breakfast was enough to start your day and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Pool was very warm and clean. As our room was on the second floor we were able to leave our patio door open and listen to the surf sounds at night which was very nice. Beach was never crowded and was very clean.
As for previous reviews which mentioned bathroom size, the bathroom is adequate for those of average stature. If you are a larger individual you will likely feel crowded. The bathroom however was spotless and more than adequate for our purposes. The wall mounted liquid soaps and shampoo were a great idea and of nice quality.
The only thing I would note is that if you are internet dependent the wireless was a bit spotty, sometimes good, sometimes not so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaMS911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#34 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#8 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#2 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
244 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#22 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Anchor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Anchor Resort

Address: 203 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-3017
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $69 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Royal Anchor Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Royal Anchor
Royal Anchor Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing