We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The New Oceanic Inn
Reviewed August 29, 2013

we rented a room for a weekend getaway and when we went to check in we were told we did not have a room.
when an employee checked the books we then noticed our room was double booked. when we asked what happened the owner simply said he did not have a confirmation number that we booked a room with him but he remembers the conversation. upon showing him that he did give us a confirmation number and he billed our credit card he got very defensive and said he does not know us people all we were asking for was some help we just drove over 5 hours only to find that he rented the room to a couple who came in on Thursday night.
we did find a room in Scarborough for an additional $ 100.00 dollars per night .
I say stay away from this place .Oh I forgot to mention he did not want to refund our money
dis satisfied customer in Vermont

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank burt1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csdude66, Webmaster at The New Oceanic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear burt1013:

Thank you for taking the time and effort to post a review of The Oceanic Inn on Trip Advisor.

The Oceanic Inn makes every effort to ensure that all our guests enjoy a relaxing and pleasant stay with us. We are sorry to hear that your recent experience with us was otherwise.

Please contact The Oceanic Inn by email or phone and we will make every effort to address your concerns. Our email address is office@theoceanicinn.com and our phone number is (207) 934-1300. Please ask for the owner Armand if you call.

Once again, thank you for your review of our facility.

Sincerely,

James
Webmaster
The Oceanic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

needs updating beds are old , tv:s need flat screen so don't bang your head everytime want to go in drawers.
unfortunately because it old orchard people will always need rooms I would suggest staying outside say Wells accommodation is much superior and less money and 10 minutes drive away.



Room Tip: needs updating all of them pictures are making it look bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csdude66, Webmaster at The New Oceanic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guest:

The Oceanic Inn makes every effort to ensure that all our guests enjoy a relaxing and pleasant stay with us. Please contact the Oceanic Inn by phone or email and we will make every effort to address your concerns. Our phone number is (207) 934-1300. Please ask for the owner Armand.

Thank you for taking the time and effort to post a review of The Oceanic Inn on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

James
Webmaster
The Oceanic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was about the 4th summer I have come to the Oceanic for a beach weekend with my teen daughter. What brings us back is the friendly and superior customer service of the owner and staff of this hotel. Its location is incredible - just a few buildings back from the beach and right on the main drag in OOB. I accidentally left some belongings behind in my room and they quickly and cheerfully found them and made arrangements to ship them to my home.

They also made good on a few issues we had with our room after we made some VERY last minute reservations with them.

I can't say enough about this property. There may be fancier and bigger hotels in OOB but I'll take the Oceanic. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csdude66, Webmaster at The New Oceanic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Katbennett:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for The Oceanic Inn. We appreciate your efforts and look to meet or exceed your expectations the next time you stay with us!

May you have an enjoyable rest of your summer.

James
Webmaster, The Oceanic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and I made last minute plans to go to OOB and after calling all around we found one last opening here. I can's say enough about the owner/manager, Armand. He was extremely friendly and inviting. He allowed us to check in early around 12:30pm and even moved his Jeep to give us his parking spot! The location is ideal to the beach, pier and everything else. Once we parked, we didn't move the car once until we checked out. As for the room,we stayed in room #14. I could see and smell the ocean from our room.. We even slept with the balcony door open. Although the room was a little unorthodox, it was very clean and worked for us and the kids. The pub and cafe downstairs was pretty cool too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csdude66, Webmaster at The New Oceanic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Charlie H:

Thank you for taking the time and effort to post a review of The Oceanic Inn on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had a pleasant experience during your recent stay with us!

Guest reviews are important to us on our Trip Advisor listing. We appreciate your taking the time to post a review and look forward to meeting or exceeding your expectations the next time you stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your review of our facility.

Sincerely,

James
Webmaster
The Oceanic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful stay this week. The rooms are kept very clean and the Owner and his staff will get you anything you need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable! Reasonable prices for peak season, especially for the location. Just 5 minutes walking distance to the center and the beach Is just steps away from the Inn!! My family found our new summer vacation
spot!! P.s. Can't forget about the cafe and local pub downstairs.
Sincerely,
Kristen and Rich Gendron

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csdude66, Webmaster at The New Oceanic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Kristen and Rich:

Thank you for taking the time and effort to post a review of The Oceanic Inn on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had a pleasant experience during your recent stay with us!

Guest reviews are important to us on our Trip Advisor listing. We appreciate your taking the time to post a review and look forward to meeting or exceeding your expectations the next time you stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your review of our facility.

Sincerely,

James
Webmaster
The Oceanic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Nice place with good service. The owner there speaks English and French, he is a nice men very helpful and dedicated to his customers. We had room 14, very clean, smelled good, two rooms and one bathroom. I was very surprised by the shower ! We were at 30 sec walk from the beach and 3 minutes walk from play land and without all the noise ! It's Old Orchard Beach, so the see water is freezing. I would have enjoyed a pool but i was able to live without it ! I would definitely go there AGAIN. Even if the building is old, it is well maintained. So far, it's the best place i stayed in OOB !

Room Tip: 14 is good. WIFI signal was almost absent but Armand is going to add another access point :-) so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csdude66, Webmaster at The New Oceanic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear OIivier H:

Thank you for taking the time and effort to post a review of The Oceanic Inn on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had a pleasant experience during your recent stay with us!

Guest reviews are important to us on our Trip Advisor listing. We appreciate your taking the time to post a review and look forward to meeting or exceeding your expectations the next time you stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your review of our facility.

Sincerely,

James
Webmaster
The Oceanic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

this will be our 3rd year of spending a few days here. it's perfect! location, rooms are just what we need for the family. amusement park for the kids, clubs with bands and dancing for the adults. steps away from the beach and everyithing else. very clean and friendly folk here. Armand is great!!! theres a pub downstairs and a coffee shop....all that is needed for a great memorable vaca!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csdude66, Web Master at The New Oceanic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Kim S:

Thank you for taking the time and effort to post a review of The Oceanic Inn on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had a pleasant experience during your recent stay with us!

Guest reviews are important to us on our Trip Advisor listing. We appreciate your taking the time to post a review and look forward to meeting or exceeding your expectations the next time you stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your review of our facility.

Sincerely,

James
Webmaster
The Oceanic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Biarritz Motel Suites & Apartments
Biarritz Motel Suites & Apartmen...
#23 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#20 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#14 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#33 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#25 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
98 reviews
1 mi away
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campground
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campgro...
#4 of 23 in Old Orchard Beach
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Oceanic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Oceanic Inn

Address: 43 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2632 (Formerly The Oceanic Inn)
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $60 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanic Inn is owned and operated by Armand Vachon of Old Orchard Beach, Maine and has been in business for four decades. Most of our rooms have been recently updated with brand new beds, air conditioning, kitchenettes and more. The Oceanic Inn is located in the heart of downtown Old Orchard Beach approximately 40 yards to the beach with no streets to cross! In addition, Armand speaks fluent French for the benefit of our visitors from Canada and France. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The New Oceanic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Oceanic Inn Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing