We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great few days at the beach ~ our 5th year at the Edgewater” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Edgewater
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Flat Rock, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great few days at the beach ~ our 5th year at the Edgewater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

this was our 5th girls long weekend at the Edgewater. We were greeted by Jean like we were long lost friends. We were in rooms 1 and 2 which face the beach and are very quiet. There were 2 double beds in each room, a nice roomy bathroom (with a great shower!) and small refrigerator and microwave.
The beach is a 2 minute walk from the hotel and is a great beach for just sitting and soaking up the sun or for having a nice long walk. Every Thursday there are great fireworks at about 9:45 down on the beach. Take a blanket and bottle of wine and enjoy!
We love Joseph's next door as a place for an elegant dinner and the lobster rolls and other food at the Sunset Grill ,just beyond Josephs, is good too. The fat Belly Deli has WONDERFUL breakfasts. All of these places are within a short walk of the hotel. There is also fun shopping (touristy stuff) nearby as well.
The Edgewater is very clean, has a great decor and professional, friendly people that work there.
We are planning to go back next year as well ....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marci52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    53
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
83
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

We loved the location. Clean rooms and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brennan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

My boyfriend and I headed to Maine this past weekend and discovered The Edgewater in OOB. We both fell in love with our room and all of the motel's amenities. The decorating in our standard room - the only kind left on such short notice (we booked the morning of) - was so nice - freshly painted and charming. The shower was the most amazing either of us have ever experienced - hot water and the water pressure, you'd have to feel it to believe it! The pool out in front was so warm, that even on a relatively cool early summer day in Maine, it was wonderful. The beach is right there, you literally step out your door and your feet are in the sand. The motel is easy walking distance from everything. The staff was kind and attentive - they even had a wine bottle opener for us to borrow and treated us to a box of salt water taffy upon check-in. In general, we had a great weekend, and The Edgewater played a big part. We would recommend it to our best friends, and to you, fellow travelers.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lowtide09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgeville, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

We stayed two nights for $99.00 a night. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We stayed in room 23 which was clean and neat. The room made you feel like you were staying in a cottage. The view from the balcony was breathtaking. There was easy access to the beach from the parking lot. I would stay here again. It is close to the outlets for shopping (Kittery and Freeport).

  • Liked — The friendly staff and clean room.
  • Disliked — The height of the sink was for tall people.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

We chose the Edgewater because it was on the beach and it looked clean - not tired like some of the other motels in the area.

I requested an ocean view and was given a key to room 24 which although sideways on to the beach had a good view down the beach, it also had a small balcony at the back. Unfortunately, they had just cleaned the carpet and it was still wet. We went back to the office and were given the key to room 31 - this was the same (carpet wet). Back we went again and were given room 32 which had a dry carpet.

Room 32 was fronting onto the sundeck and further away from the beach and although it was ocean view it wasn't as good as room 24 so I was disappointed.

The room had a king bed plus sofa bed, large tv and a small kitchen area with fridge and microwave - there was no balcony to the back of this room which overlooked the carpark of the restaurant next door.
There is a swimming pool on site and shared path to the beach with the hotel next door. The public areas, car park and rooms were spotlessly clean and the staff all very friendly.

We found Old Orchard Beach ideal for nature reserves, touring Maine beaches and an easy commute to Portland for our afternoon flight home.

Light sleepers beware, there is a railway line very near and the trains hoot as they pass - even in the night.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Friendliness, Location
  • Disliked — Trains
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

My mom, myself, and a friend of mine booked "The Apartment" suite for a girls weekend getaway. We chose this suite because it had 2 bedrooms and 3 beds. I tried to sleep on the king size bed, one of the twin size beds, and even the futon couch. The beds were so hard, I couldn't get any rest on any of them. All three of us found the beds to be uncomfortable. The next morning we told the front desk person and she advised us that the beds were brand new.. but it appears to me that they have sacrificed quality for cost. I've slept in many hotels and those mattresses were by far the most uncomfortable I've ever come across. Also, the floors were covered in an unknown sticky substance and I never took off my shoes during our stay.

  • Liked — The bathroom was nice.. looked like a recent remodel
  • Disliked — Poor quality mattresses
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JBJBJuly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

We have just returned from the Edgewater in Old Orchard Beach , it was the second time at this place and we love it.the staff is realy nice always a smile in there face and they are very freindly and they make you feel very confortable.
The room are very beautiful and very clean ( see my pics). free coffee every morning,the pool is heated and very clean. It's close enough from dowtown but far enough from the noise.
Place to eat : Joseph by the Sea, Bill's Pizza , Clambake , Beach Bagel.
We will try it this winter and go see Old Orchard beach with snow,they are open year round and they have room with fire place.
Great place,Eric

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whisky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#14 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#23 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#30 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Property: The Edgewater
Address: 57 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edgewater 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgewater Motor Inn in Old Orchard Beach, Maine, sits on the sparkling Atlantic in the center of seven miles of gently sloping sand beach, central to all attractions.Our guests are pampered with distinctively appointed well-equipped rooms and a level of personalized attentive service that comes from three generations of inn keeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Edgewater Old Orchard Beach
Edgewater Hotel Old Orchard Beach
The Edgewater Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing