We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel in OOB with Perfect Location”
Review of The Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Edgewater
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I vacationed to Old Orchard for three nights with my husband and another couple at the Edgewater. From start to finish, it was a fantastic weekend. Check in was easy and quick. The room was perfectly clean and neatly decorated. I love that it had hardwood floors - perfect for a beachfront hotel. We stayed in room 7, which was right in front of the pool. It was a nice room, but did not have an ocean view. We booked in May, so most of the hotel was booked for July by that time. We didn't have a choice. I hope to return next time with my kids, and would like a second floor room on the end (I think it was room 20 and 21, but I am not sure.)

The location of this hotel was PERFECT. You are literally ON the beach and the walkway to the dunes is in the parking lot. It is also less than half a mile to the pier, so it is easy to get to the action if you are into that sort of thing. We went as an adult weekend, and frequented the downtown area bars and restaurants, but I would not hesitate to bring my kiddos here. It is close to everything, but far enough away that it is quiet at night and you are not surrounded by a bunch of partiers. We were very pleased.

The staff was extremely friendly. The rooms were very clean. Our room did not get cleaned the second day, but we had the privacy mark up a lot of the day for sleeping in and our friends taking a nap.

The pool is very small, but heated and so nice after boogie-boarding in that ice cold ocean. There is also a second floor deck with awning and chairs, which is really nice for chatting or reading while enjoying the ocean view and breeze. Parking is not great, but there was always a spot for us. Sometimes we had to direct the driver how to exit the tight spot while exiting, but that was the worse of it. What to do you expect?

Overall, our experience was EXCELLENT and I would only stay at the Edgewater should I return to OOB. The only downside is that there is a 3 night minimum in the summer. I understand it, but it is a bummer. We had so much fun in July that we wanted to return in August for one night with the kids. Unfortunately we don't have the money or time off for 3 nights. :(

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room on the end facing the ocean. I haven't been in those rooms, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, Owner at The Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thanks for your review of our property, Susan. We appreciate your observations and comments. I just wanted to pass along that we do occasionally accept reservations for less than 3 nights provided that they fit between existing reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 233 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have just returned from another weeks stay at the Edgewater and as always I only have positive things to say. From check in to check out everything is flawless. When you stay at the Edgewater time and time again you feel like part of the family. Pierre, John, Jean, Larry are all great people. They are always happy to help you and answer any questions you may have. Rooms are always clean. Parking is never issue which is a big plus at OOB. And since they are right on the beach it is great to be able to walk back and forth to your room. A+ place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hali3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, Owner at The Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our property and many thanks for your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed several days at this motel. Very nice, well kept facility with staff that treat you very well.
They have a pool and are located right on the beach. This is an exceptional place with New England charm.

Room Tip: The second floor offers ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdirondackTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thanks for your positive feedback. Our focus is always to improve. We'll pass on the good words to our gardener, Larry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've just returned from a weekend at The Edgewater and could not be happier with our experience. Everything from the spacious, beautifully decorated oceanfront room to the remarkably helpful and pleasant staff made this weekend better than we could have even hoped for. A special "thank you" to Pierre at the front desk. His warm, friendly demeanor was the icing on the cake for a fantastic weekend. We will be back!!

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123cjn456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I travel to Old Orchard Beach several times a year, summer and winter! When I go and it is not the peak season I always stay at the edgewater! First because it is open year round and because of the location and the cleanliness of the property! It is an awesome place to stay! The only reason why I do not go there in the summer it's because it is a bit expensive... But if you dont care about the price... go for it!! it worth every penny spent! The staff are very nice and helpful! I love this place!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justindesilets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We booked our reservation back on Jan 20 and we were told that we had the Ocean front suite with the kitchenette and fireplace. Upon our arrival we were informed that was not the case and told that that suite would not have been booked at the discounted rate we were given and was booked for the whole weekend. We were very disappointed and felt slighted because this was confirmed. That being said we took this as a communication break down at which point we would have thought there'd be some customer service effort made to try and make up for it. We were pretty much told "oh well"! We were taken back by this "could care less" attitude. Not even an attempt to "see what you could do" to make it right was made. Furthermore we were even more disappointed to see that the suite was empty our last night there and would have moved rooms and paid full price (it wasn't about the money for us) that was never presented as an option (money lost for them)!

We would HIGHLY suggest that if you make a reservation at this hotel you get a written email confirmation so there will be no misunderstandings.

We also sent an email to the hotel and have not received a reply as of yet!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, Owner at The Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for your recent communication about your stay at the Edgewater. We agree that a verbal communication can be recalled differently and that is why our policy is to always send that confirmation in writing. We try to always put our customers first, and we try to always make sure communication is clear. We are so sorry that you were disappointed. We have already had a front desk staff meeting to review this issue, and we do thank you for your communication with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We spent a couple wonderful nights at the Edgewater enjoying Old Orchard in the off-season. We were fortunate to have an oceanfront room, steps away from the expansive beach. Our room was so cozy and welcoming--beautiful decor seemingly luxurious with a beachy feel too. We loved having the fireplace on in the room while we lingered over the views from windows wrapping around two sides of the room. Didn't get to use the hot tub this time but will come back for that!

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms are definitely worth the upcharge, but all rooms have a lovely decor. Rooms cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre J, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thanks for those kind words. We are always trying to improve our property to make staying with us a memorable experience. I'm happy to hear you were so pleased with our efforts! Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
199 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#21 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#1 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
262 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Address: 57 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2645
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $74 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edgewater 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgewater Motor Inn in Old Orchard Beach, Maine, sits on the sparkling Atlantic in the center of seven miles of gently sloping sand beach, central to all attractions.Our guests are pampered with distinctively appointed well-equipped rooms and a level of personalized attentive service that comes from three generations of inn keeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Edgewater Old Orchard Beach
Edgewater Hotel Old Orchard Beach
The Edgewater Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing