We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay Price a Bit on the high side No Discounts”
Review of The Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay Price a Bit on the high side No Discounts”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Price for a week was ok its during the Summer Tourist season so rates on all OOB Hotels go up.
No AARP or AAA member Discounts which is a minus.
They should offer some discounts but then I feel any Hotel should do this .
Its good customer relations.
The rooms are clean ,but they do not change the bedding each day.
The other thing about the beds no bedding covers are on the bed just a sheet then the blankets.
The wifi was not very good here .You have to move around to get a better connection alot.
The outdoor pool is nice ,missing is a Jacuzzi.I suggest they add one near the pool area .

Room Tip: Try always to get a room at the back end of the hotel 2nd floor looks out to ocean beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamburger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    57
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
90
69
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Old Orchard Beach is a tourist mecca--particularly if you have young or teenage children. If you want quiet & romantic, go somewhere else or visit here off-season. The Edgewater is one of many motor inns that line Grand Avenue. Although their website mentions ocean-front or ocean-view rooms, based on the way the building is laid out, these are few and far between. We did manage to get a beach view by exiting our "ocean-view" room and sitting on the 2nd floor deck where we could see grassy dunes, a bit of sand, a bit of ocean. Rooms on the 1st floor would mostly have parking lot views. The parking lot was very full, and adjacent to another lot used by the motor inn next door. Many of the guests had draped towels all over the railings & chairs, and lined the walkways with various beach accessories, typical in a beach environment, so be prepared for this.

That being said, we were pleased with our room. The room was a good size for 2 or 3 guests. The decor is simple, with a beach-cottage feel, and very clean--not easy to do with guests tracking in beach sand. We had a king-size bed, a smaller "sofa" which was a foam pad and could be used as another bed. There was a microwave and small fridge by the bathroom sink area. The shower/tub & toilet were in a small room adjacent to the the sink area and very clean, with adequate water pressure. There were a TV and a hair dryer available. Each room had 2 deck chairs right outside the door. Coffee is available daily in the lobby. Since I'm a tea drinker, they provided china mugs to heat water in the microwave--I provided my own tea. They have a recycle bin in each room. One nice touch was a box of Salt Water Taffy that came with Jeanne's card attached.

The Edgewater is walking distance to "Palace Playland" and a pier which attracts LOTS of people. It fronts on a 7-mile stretch of sand good for walking, sunning, sand castle building. It is about a 30 minute drive to Portland for sightseeing, and close to RT 9 or RT 1 for heading to more southern beaches. Some of the guests we talked to have been coming back to the Edgewater year after year. Good family environment.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the ocean, and away from West Grand, are quieter. Rooms on ground floor mostly have...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle bins in each room. Easy to park car and walk around town. Light fixtures all had dimmer switches. Although air conditioner was available, rooms have a ceiling fan which we used instead.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for four nights over this last Fourth of July!! We were very happy with the rooms really clean and bright!! The staff was very friendly and accomdating to all of our needs! We met some really great people, enjoyed wonderful firework displays (2) nights. I would recommend this fun filled beach front motel to anyone looking for a really fun and clean vacation spot! Thank u for a really fun filled vacation ! Looking forward to another visit soon,,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are looking to be in Old Orchard Beach, the Edgewater is a good place to stay. The rooms are clean and spacious. I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. However, it is a hotel and there's lots of noise around. You are on a main road, there's lots of people as well.

Room Tip: Beach views are the best and furthest away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent Memorial weekend and the weather was terrible this year rainy and cold; what made this trip memorible was the kindness of front desk staff. Jeanne who greeted us on arrival made sure we where happy with all our requests and informed us where we find great seafood in town; just a few walking step to a great restaurant (Joseph's). The rooms are clean well maintained and the cleaning personel were friendly and cleaned the rooms by mid-morning if you choose too.
We enjoyed a drink/coffee on a huge covered big deck with plenty of chairs and tables.
The pool heated by sun panels was sublime very confortable and well heated. Parking was
well organized by zones. This hotel is right on the beach in a great location ; we cannot wait to return to Old Orchard and will return here to the Edgewater. Alain Dumais

Green Features: Sun Panel used to heat the pool is eco friendly and worked well the water was warm and very confortable
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Start your vacation with a smile from Jean at the front desk and you already know everything will be just perfect. Amazing staff, amazing location. Rooms are beautiful and functional. By far the best hotel in its price range for OOB. For rooms that have a lesser view of the ocean there is a nice big deck. Showers actually have water pressure so it doesn't take 30 minutes to rinse shampoo out of your hair. Absolutely loved our stay at this perfect little paradise. Can't wait to book for next summer!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We just spent a few days at The Edgewater. As usual, it was awesome! Personnel is courteous. Rooms are quite clean. A must if you go to OOB! Furthermore, there is a fine restaurant right next door (Joseph's).
Un remarquable petit motel très bien tenu, très propre avec un personnel souriant et avenant. Si vous descendez à OOB, n'ayez aucune hésitation à séjourner au Edgewater.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chablis140701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#22 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
441 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campground
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campgro...
#4 of 23 in Old Orchard Beach
184 reviews
0.9 mi away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#2 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#20 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Property: The Edgewater
Address: 57 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edgewater 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgewater Motor Inn in Old Orchard Beach, Maine, sits on the sparkling Atlantic in the center of seven miles of gently sloping sand beach, central to all attractions.Our guests are pampered with distinctively appointed well-equipped rooms and a level of personalized attentive service that comes from three generations of inn keeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Edgewater Old Orchard Beach
Edgewater Hotel Old Orchard Beach
The Edgewater Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing