We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have made a repeat customer out of me!”
Review of The Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, RI
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“They have made a repeat customer out of me!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

What strikes me about The Edgewater is how they made my husband and me feel like we were regulars to the hotel despite the fact that it was our first visit. They were so sweet and we loved that they acknowledged our anniversary when we arrived. From my first phone call to the establishment, I knew the proprietors cared about their customers. The woman who took my reservation was friendly and professional that I knew I had made the right choice before I even checked in.
The room itself was lovely. We had an Ocean Front room with a gas fireplace and a huge jacuzzi tub with a separate shower. The room was clean and the decor approriately beach themed. I felt like I was in my own private beach cottage!
Now, one thing to keep in mind is that this is an older property and though it is obvious that they keep up with maintance and renovations, it is not without its flaws. Some cracks in the grout lines around the tub and some fluxtuations in the power availability at 5pm (when eveyone is coming in from the beach and using electricity at the same time) does exist. These imperfections really didn't detract from our stay or make it any less romantic, I just think that when searching for a hotel it is nice to know all the facts so you know exactly what you are getting.
The Edgewater will now be our go to place when staying in Old Orchard as it is in walking distance from the pier and steps away from the ocean. We never had the need to use our car once we checked in.
The Ocean was surprisingly warm in Old Orchard for Maine standards, but if it is still too cold for you, The Edgewater has a nice sized pool. Some have complained about it size, I think they are really referring to the area allocated to the lounge chairs, as the pool itself was larger than some I have seen in many chain hotels. But if you want to lay out, the beach is huge and literally right at the hotel's doorstep.
If you are looking for a quaint inn in Old Orchard Beach with plenty of amenities and proximity to the ocean and the pier, then look no further than The Edgewater.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are pricey but worth it for a romantic getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeekendGetawayJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    57
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
90
67
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The room was immaculate and gorgeous! Very clean! We stayed in the ocean view room with fireplace and hot tub both were great! The staff was beyond friendly and very helpful if we needed towels or directions to different towns! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladyluckypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, ME
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stay at the Edgewater when we decide for a quick getaway. We have stayed in ocean side rooms and ocean view rooms. The rooms are so clean and the staff is so friendly. The stay in the ocean view was awesome with a jacuzzi tub, fireplace and a beautiful view. We have stayed there a couple of times this winter and last and to be on the beach in the winter is amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t54bruschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millis, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our family of five stayed at 3 different hotels (due to availability) during our vacation in August 2012. The Edgewater was by far the best out of the 3. Our room had two queen beds, a living room with a futon, and a kitchenette. The room was clean and spacious and had hardwood floors. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and plan to return next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in two different rooms during our stay. The first was an ocean view room on the second floor. It was nice and we enjoyed being able to hear the ocean at night. The shower was also very nice, with great water pressure for a motel. After the first night we moved to the ocean front room which was so lovely that words cannot describe. A beautiful view of the ocean on two sides of our room. 5 windows that open so that you can appreciate the ocean breeze and a fireplace in case the ocean breeze gets the room too chilly. We slept with the windows open every night and never felt anything but safe. The Edgewater is very well maintained, many of the other motels appear tired after years at the oceanfront but not the edgewater. It is very fresh, newly painted and looks the same as it did in the sixties. We enjoyed what felt like a step back in time with new amenities like the whirlpool tub and gas fireplace. We would stay here again but would have to have an oceanfront room. After staying in one of those anything else would be a let down.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmgibson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We kicked off our trip to Maine and New Hampshire with a three night stay at the Edgewater Motel and it got the holiday off to a perfect start. Our room was huge, with a microwave, fridge, massive television and best of all a real jaccuzzi bath. It was spotlessly clean and the view of the ocean was just fabulous. despite it being damp and chilly throughout our stay we slept with a window open just to hear the sea - amazing.
Although there is no breakfast provided there is a very good restaurant next door which does a great breakfast - Joseph's By The Sea. You can also get coffee in the reception office from about 7.30am onwards which is an added bonus.
Best advice? Splash out and get an ocen view room with a balcony - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McPidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had to look for a place to stay at the last minute. I chose the Edgewater only by its appearance as we drove by it late in the evening. It looked warm and friendly. The lobby was extremely clean. I booked 3 nights. My room was fresh, clean, with a blue & white color palette. I loved it. It was Maine at its best. The path to the ocean was outside my door, The Edgewater has a great deck overlooking the ocean with rocking chairs to truly enjoy yourself and the ocean view. Employees were detailed and anxious to see I was comfortable and had what I needed. I recommend while you experience Maine with your family, friends, or just by yourself...stay at the Edgewater.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JchKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
436 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#2 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#22 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
Normandie Oceanfront Motor Inn
#3 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Property: The Edgewater
Address: 57 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Edgewater 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgewater Motor Inn in Old Orchard Beach, Maine, sits on the sparkling Atlantic in the center of seven miles of gently sloping sand beach, central to all attractions.Our guests are pampered with distinctively appointed well-equipped rooms and a level of personalized attentive service that comes from three generations of inn keeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Edgewater Old Orchard Beach
Edgewater Hotel Old Orchard Beach
The Edgewater Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing