We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, in-wall disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Cliff House Motel
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, in-wall disappointment”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Ok, i'm a very modest person and so is my wife.

We found some stuff that made us.. Mmhh...

For being off season it is WAY too overpriced. We just booked a room because it was strongly suggested by our relatives, they spent a week there the past july and all of what they were talking about was this great place on the ocean. We thought that, maybe, it was really well worth what Sea Cliff is asking for a stay.. NOPE, not in our experience...

The rooms are way too little. We got the room #7, facing the parking lot and other buildings, the roof dips down brutally, so both me and my wife had to bend down, to avoid smasing our heads to the sealing and walk to reach the small tiny dresser next to the fridge. A little round table with 2 chairs, too little to share a meal was pratically impossible, we had to take turns to eat something. A lamp hanged on the sealing with a broken hook, all the walls are chipped. We found the coffee maker in the bathroom on a platic shelf by the toilet. The shower is in a tight box, the drain wasn't working at all, we had to wait 15 minutes apart to each take a shower, to avoid flooding the bathroom.
The tv is placed way up on the wall, but that's ok to us, we did not come to Maine to watch tv.
There's one painting on the wall and it does not hang properly, instead it is screwed with 2 holes on the frame to the wall.

The room though was getting cleaned everyday, with fresh bedding sheets and fresh clean bath towels. The pool area is pretty. Nice pool and amazing hot tub. Only bad thing about that: too many chemicals. Our eyes started to burn after 5 minutes we were in. My wife's bathing suit ended up bleached.

The building itself feels a little unstable. Everything shakes, all made in old wood, not very well mantained, the white paint flakes off pretty easily. You can definitely hear everyone walking by, up and down the stairs, showers, the flushing of the toilet and so on.

One of the amenities that was working for us was wireless internet. A pretty strong signal and we where able to check the email and our bank account pretty easily.

One scary thing that happened, we found that out talking with our neighbors right before we left: An old lady slipped in the bathroom after the inn personnel waxed the floor. They put no sign, nor give any warning whatsoever to their customers. It ended up that this lady was laying on the bed with two big bruises under her eyes and a broken nose for she smashed her face against the heater. Her daughter notified the owner and she got an attitude back. Plus, the hotel yelled at the daughter for she used the clean, freshly replaced, bath towels to help her mother stop the bleeding from the nose and clean the scars on her nose and face. She was supposed to go ask the personnel of the hotel (whenever available) for different towels to use for that purpose.

Well, me and my wife were thinking for just a moment: What if that happened to one of us, getting no help and nothing but an attitude and being yelled?

The last episode was just the cherry that topped the cake, the rest of the cake itself it's not worth a second bite.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank m-s3027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    54
    27
    10
    29
See reviews for
69
77
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Four of us stayed in a room with 2 queens and a kitchenette (2 burners, dorm size frig) for 3 nights. It was tight quarters. The motel was quite a hike to the pier where the kids wanted to be; parking lots downtown are $10. A couple of items turned up "missing" so make sure you keep an eye on your stuff. The motel's one redeeming feature is its nice hot tub.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mimi33837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennoxville
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Everything we needed for a quiet seaside experience in September. Clean, well serviced, well located. All the basic amenities in a kitchenette accommodation. TV picture quality could be better, but hey, you don't go to the beach to watch TV.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davemack67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dodekanisa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Be very careful when reserving Sea Cliff. The rooms are really really tiny, a family can barely fit in them. Their advertizing is false and the staircase leading up to some of the rooms is old and shaking. Not ideal for young children.

Would never go back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dodekanisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Old Orchard Beach hotels

Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2008

My boyfriend and I have celebrated our one year and two year anniversary at this hotel and were VERY happy there. The view of the ocean from the ocean view rooms is exquisite, the hot tub which is located outside is really relaxing and nice...in fact i went in it 3 times during my stay and it was in november. The staff is nice also. I would recommend this hotel to couples in particular. The hotel just has a nice calm feel to it.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jenn284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We stayed at Sea Cliff week of July 13th. Loved it. 1 min.walk to the beach. Great clean pool and hot tub. Quiet location. House cleaning ladies are nice and helpful. Lots of fresh clean towels, they clean /vacuum your room daily. No complaints. Only thing is that the carpet could be changed to hard wood. Would be less humid in the room and cleaner. 2 young kids, myself and husband loved our stay. Would go again.

  • Liked — So very close to the beach. Especially with young children. Great pool/hot tub.
  • Disliked — The carpet should be changed. With all the sand and water on your clothes, it gets too humid
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lcviau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear Lake
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

I didn't care much for Sea Cliff.

First the area in general... Old Orchard Beach really isn't one of those 'quaint tourist towns'. It's a packed resort area with many overpriced, dated, packed-together hotel/motels.

The Sea Cliff... The only reason this review is "OK" instead of "terrible", is due to the location on the ocean. There is a view from maybe a few rooms, but the majority of the rooms are in a building that overlooks the parking lot and other buildings.

We were in a room on the second floor. Going up the steps made me nervous, as nothing seemed very stable. The walkway at the top of the stairs, running along the building was tilting and seemed unsafe.

The rooms were extremely small. I was under the impression we'd booked a double, which turned out to be one bedroom (you could barely walk around the bed, the room was so small). The second bed was a crappy futon that doubled as your 'living room' furniture.

The TV was awful, small and terrible reception, WAY up high on the wall.

The kitchen table was way small for four people.

The bathroom was EXTREMELY small.

The front window faces out toward the walkway (the only window besides a miniscule one in the bedroom). Who wants to keep their window open for fresh air and sunshine when they have a view of the parking lot? Every Joe Blow that walks by can see into your room.

The whole place was just dated, small, dingy... Won't stay again...

  • Liked — Location by the ocean.
  • Disliked — Everything else...
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank winowiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#14 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
171 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#15 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
192 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
Echo Motel & Oceanfront Cottages
#2 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff House Motel

Property: Sea Cliff House Motel
Address: 2 Seacliff Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Cliff House Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Cliff House Motel is a beachfront property that has been under the same ownership for over 30 years. We have recently renovated the 3rd floor of our main house building and are proud to announce 2 new suites! (2012) We now have 3 luxury suites on our property. The Grand Suite, The Penthouse Suite and the Saco Bay Suite. Our property also has kitchenette units, jacuzzi rooms and of course ocean view rooms that will take your breath away. We are beachfront, offer a swimming pool and outdoor hot spa. Bring your hamburgers and hot dogs because the grills are located poolside for your convenience. All rooms have a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Free wifi and nationwide calling. The suites and kitchenettes are fully appointed. Just bring your clothing and food. NOTE: Only adults 18 & over can enter the hot tub spa ... no children are allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sea Cliff House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Cliff House Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Sea Cliff House And Motel
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing