We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeeee Hawww”
Review of Hoss and Mary's Grub Shack - CLOSED

Hoss and Mary's Grub Shack
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Burger and Sandwich Joint on a Beautiful little Marina on Stock Island. See our Facebook page for more details. Thank you!
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yeeee Hawww”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are in OOB for a weekend getaway. It's snowing like crazy and the town is kinda sleepy. We decided to go into this place because we have heard great things about it, but never went in. Are we ever happy we trudged threw the snow to go in! The vibe was most def upbeat. Only a few people in there but the smells were outstanding, the music was cool, the decor was funky, and Mary was great fun to talk with. The menu has some of the most interesting things on it. It's not you run of the mill beach food by any means. Every thing even sounds good! I had the 'pepe burger', my with chicken quesadilla. It was so good we were grinning and mmmming like no tomorrow. If you ANYWHERE near Hoss and Mary's you most def have to hit it! I can tell you this..... We'll be back at least one more time before we leave!! Kudos to Hoss and Mary!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Squiggy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    29
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique and Delicious!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I dined here this past Columbus Day weekend with four girlfriends out for a girls weekend in the Old Port. We stayed in OOB for a change of pace and the price was right. Hoss and Mary's has surely earned their #1 spot here on TripAdvisor. Unique menu items like nowhere I've dined before. Had to chuckle as my sister ordered the Hypocrite (veggie burger with bacon)! I loved my Flaming Mobster with the spicy buffalo sauce topped with fried lobster. Very quick, very friendly, and so yummy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C. Metro Area
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Since this place was right next door, we had carry out from here twice. Best hot dogs and chili ever! The fried lobster roll was also delicious. It's fast food, done old style, cooked with love! SO good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kittehgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“A "must try" in OOB”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The others have pretty much said it all. Stopped for lunch on our way to Ogunquit and were so glad we did. We couldn't stop talking about the place. Incredible menu--not sure who thought up all of the options (and there are many) but someone has a creative mind that's in tune with a lot of taste buds. OK, so most of it is not low calorie or cholesterol free. It tastes good! The biggest problem here is figuring out what to order because so many things sound great. We opted for the fried lobster roll--lots of lobster, lightly floured and fried and the double dragon--a combo of pastrami, steak, onions, coleslaw, nacho cheese sauce and russian dressing. Large portions of good food served with a smile. Can't wait to get back. From the number of people there "out of season" you can tell they have a huge flock of admirers. If they haven't been on the Food Channel yet, they will be.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onthebacknine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Live for Poutine!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Poutine at Hoss and Mary's was so good, we had to come twice during our 3 day stay at Old Orchard Beach. Located just off the beach and only a block South of the Pier, Hoss and Mary's is convenient and the comfort food is excellent. Three of us split the poutine (huge serving) and really enjoyed our burgers and sandwiches for lunch. Creative great tasting food, efficient service as well!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoss and Mary's Grub Shack also viewed

 
Old Orchard Beach, ME
Old Orchard Beach, ME
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing