We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Powder Horn Family Camping Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, NH
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Nickel and dimed to death. They charge for your own bikes to be brought in. Tried to over chrage me and when I asked for an explanation the girl got upset and didn't even say sorry. Very crowded sites.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wlhsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    85
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
279
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchendon, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Just returned from a week at Powder Horn Family Campground. While the campground is very clean and the 3 pools were great for the kids as it was extremely hot. We were disappointed with the rates. Apparently a family is two adults and no children. Upon check in felt like you were emptying your wallet. Extra fee for each of the 4 grand children, two dollars per bike, 1 dollar per day for your dog. Expected two of the children to be included. There are activities each day for the children, but be aware that the majority of them once again require additional $$. Beach is in walking distance, but used the trolley in the heat which was $1 each way per person. Sites are close together as well. Felt like in this economy they could have done better.

Room Tip: Rates are for two adults only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RBennett75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Normally we only stay in State/National parks so this is a huge step up in amenities and price for us. My mother has a seasonal trailer here.

First the good parts:
3 pools
very clean grounds and bathrooms; nice clean showers which seem brand new
lots of nice green well tended grass and newly planted trees
lots to do on the grounds
$1 trolley to beach, trolley runs every 1/2 hour and is easy to pick up
very nice staff

The bad parts:
You get what you pay for at $67 per night for a family of four
Pools were on the cold side and can get crowded
Some loud drunks broke into a fight at 2am
Horseshoe pits became party drinking area in the afternoon

Wish they would try to reduce excessive drinking at night and enforce the quiet hours better but mostly it was just a few rotten apples which made it hard to sleep. If they didn't allow the all day drinking they wouldn't have the late night loudness. But we were in the seasonal area so maybe the overnight area was better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerWithFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterport, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful camping adventure at the Powderhorn. We recently purchased a pop-up and decided to take it to the Powederhorn on it's maiden voyage. We spent three nights and four days and had a wonderful time.

The office staff is very friendly and helpful. The front gate security is top notch. The grounds are well kept and clean. Our site was clean and grassy with some nice shade from the trees. The campground was engenious and eco-friendly and reused old washing machine drums as the firebowl. It worked perfectly.

We enjoyed the use of electric hook up, cable and wi fi while hanging out in the camper. The bathrooms were fantastic!! There were many throughout the campground. They were very clean, had nice tile floors, free hot showers and even those paper toilet seat covers in every stall. (An amenity I particularly enjoyed.) There are also a number of laundry facilities thoughout the campground and a well stocked camp store. Staff were easy to find throughout the day as they regularly patrolled the grounds on golf carts.

The three pools were the favorite of our three kids. The kids pool was great for the little guy. It starts at 1ft. and gradually moves to three feet. I loved that he could still feel like he was swimming, but in a safely contained area. My daughter loved the 3 ft. pool. It is huge and allowed her to stand and jump, but also swim. My oldest loved the deep pool as he perfected his dive. All three kids enjoyed the kids spa. They always get cold while swimming at camp or hotel pools, but are never allowed in the hot tub. At the Powderhorn, there is a large heated spa that is not too hot for the kids. So, they could jump in and warm up when needed. They thought that was pretty neat.

Our family also enjoyed the big playground. There were a number of different choices for each age. We also had fun playing shuffleboard as a family and watched some of a horseshoe tournament.

Old Orchard beach is only minutes away. It is a beautiful sandy beach. Not the usual rocky shores of Maine. We had a blast splashing in the waves, making sand castles and hunting for seashells. The boardwalk has tons of shops and food. We found some excellent authentic Italian pizza at Roma's and enjoyed the ice cream at Dickinson's.

There is a trolley that shuttles people from the campground to the beach and back. It is a $1 per person, though. There are 5 of us and we were able to find parking for $5 for the day right at the beach.....so that made more sense.

At night, the campground was quiet and felt safe with the security. For a small fee, we had friends come join us for smore's around our fire and enjoyed a peaceful evening in the fresh air.

My only negative comment was about the mini golf course. It is only an ok course and is $4 a person. We felt it should have been complimentary....or at least half that price for people who are already paying to camp there. For a family of 5, that's $20 right there. We chose not to play, because it just wasn't worth the money. This was defiinitely a let down for the kids, but they understood. We redirected to the pool and that usually solved the problem.

My husband and I agreed, that this maiden voyage was only the beginning of many camping adventures at the Powderhorn. We truly enjoyed our stay......and really didn't want to leave. In fact, we paid for extended check-out on our last day which gave us until 6pm......now that was definitely worth the money.

I would highly recommend this campground.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TeriL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Orchard Beach
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford
1.4 mi away
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campground
Wild Acres RV Resort and Campgro...
#4 of 21 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wagon Wheel RV Resort and Campground
Wagon Wheel RV Resort and Campgr...
#8 of 21 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#31 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Saco/Old Orchard Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powder Horn Family Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powder Horn Family Camping Resort

Property: Powder Horn Family Camping Resort
Address: 48 Cascade Rd, P.O. Box 366, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-1524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For family vacations that will offer something for all ages, a trip to Powder Horn Family Camping Resort in Old Orchard Beach, Maine is a great choice. We are a full service Family Camping Resort just minutes from beautiful, seven mile, Old Orchard Beach. Our facilities can accommodate all your camping needs, from tenting to full-hookup 50AMP service camping. We cater to families and couples, always striving to create and maintain a family friendly atmosphere, in all aspects of our operation.We have four swimming pools, two hot tubs, and plenty of possibilities for activities and recreation, including: horseshoe pits, mini-golf, volleyball, and basketball. We have a full children's activities program, and events during the summer that are fun for the whole family! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Powder Horn Family Camping Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Powder Horn Family Camping Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing