We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bouncers are Rude and Inappropriate”
Review of The Brunswick

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Brunswick
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The bouncer at the bar was extremely rude and inappropriate. I suppose he was on some type of power trip? Can't tell you why. There was only one good bartender that I encountered. She was nice and prompt. The others were slow and apathetic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Gwen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 28 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked a room at the Brunswick for a night. It was very pricey and not worth what we paid. The room was dingy and the air conditioner did not work well. The bathroom was also dingy and did not feel like it was the cleanest.. The t.v. Was an older model and wifi did not work. The room smelled funky. We had a view of the parking lot for $180.00 a night.. The keys were hard to turn in the lock. We did eat at their restaurant and the food was good but pricey. They also did not have an ice machine. Had to get ice from the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed at the Brunswick years ago when it used to be nice so I had no idea that the place had turned into a run down filthy rat hole.We stayed last year because we could not find another vacancy in August that was available and right on the beach . They charge top dollar luxury condo prices which if that is what you are going to get for the $$ you dont mind paying....BUT... this place was disgusting. It was filthy, smelly, ill equipped, hot and the staff was extremely rude and not helpful at all. The woman that was supposedly the Manager threatened to tow my car because we had parked where the bar customers park. I manage a multi million dollar corporation and this woman should not be hired as restroom attendant never mind the hotel Manager. I would suggest that you sleep on the beach or in your car before paying one penny for this hell hole. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Tina9997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our 3rd time staying at The Brunswick. This is a place we really have enjoyed because its right on the beach and we get the awesome view from the condo and also we really like the fact that they have bands playing all the time. It is NOT a place to stay if you want peace and quiet, if you have your doors open you will be listening to live bands like they are in your room all day till late at night, WE happen to like this. We Always get a 1 bedroom condo an the 3rd floor right above where the band plays, this time we got one to the right of the bar area. We didnt enjoy it as much this time because the balconies were all removed so you had to look through screens and couldn't sit outside. Overall though we still had a good time, the rooms very clean and comfortable and the hotel is very close to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bms1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My fiance and i finally got to go on a long awaited vacation. We wanted to stay at grand victorian but the minimum time you can stay is a week so the guy from the grand victorian suggested the Brunswick so i called and booked us from Thursday to Sunday. When we got there we got our room key and went and tried to get in our room (140) the motel room. Our keys sucked. They didn't work. It took us atleast 5-10 minutes each time to get in our room and a few times had to wait for maintenance. We had two young children with us and they cannot always wait to go to the bathroom. It was a pain in the butt. Second the rooms were unbelievable hot!! Every morning i woke up at the crack of dawn because i was sweating so bad. There were two fans in the room but there were not enough outlets to put the fans where we wanted. There is limited Wifi. No ride in room so you will spend an arm and a leg on food. Every night there is music playing until at least 1 in the morning. Every morning when we walked out to beach there were cigarette buts on the walk way. So bad we had to carry our kids. It reeked of smoke horrible and i am a big one on cigarette smoke. So gross. It is not kid friendly at all and was not worth our money. I would never recommend it to anyone especially with kids. Just in four days Thurs. to Sunday we spend over 1100 dollars.OUTRAGEOUS!!! Lets just put it this way the only thing that was good was the quick walk to the beach and the food. THAT'S IT!! Oh ya and the room was wicked outdated.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a very nice stay here, the views were awesome along with the food and the bands were perfect for the beach setting. Perfect location to the amuzement park and we look forward to the outside decks being done so you can enjoy the breeze and ocean view even better!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My family stayed at the Brunswick about 3 weeks ago with such high hopes. We usually stay at the Greand Victorain but booked too late & there were no vacancies. I would have preferred sleeping in our car to the Brunswick. Upon entering the "suite" the smell of moth balls almost made me vomit. It was stuffy, hot and extremely dated. We had 2 disgusting old dusty fans to cool us off, and 1 didn't work! On morning three we woke up to a loud obnoxious sound at 7 am, of course assuming it was just one of our children we went into the living room to say it was too early to start the day and we discovered it was a roofer just feet from our heads outside our window working on the restaurants roof downstairs. When my husband went to the front desk to discuss the matter, he was rudely blown off & told the manager would contact him. Still waiting on that call...

Room Tip: Bring your own AC& ear plugs
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#15 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#23 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#25 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#34 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Birches Inn
Atlantic Birches Inn
#2 of 25 in Old Orchard Beach
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine View Lodge
Pine View Lodge
#14 of 23 in Old Orchard Beach
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick

Address: 39 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2632
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Old Orchard Beach
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renting Direct Beachfront Condominiums located at the Brunswick Hotel in Old Orchard Beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Brunswick Hotel Old Orchard Beach
The Brunswick Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing