We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrow show”
Review of The Brunswick

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Orchard Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Brunswick
Hartford, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrow show”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed at the Brunswick years ago when it used to be nice so I had no idea that the place had turned into a run down filthy rat hole.We stayed last year because we could not find another vacancy in August that was available and right on the beach . They charge top dollar luxury condo prices which if that is what you are going to get for the $$ you dont mind paying....BUT... this place was disgusting. It was filthy, smelly, ill equipped, hot and the staff was extremely rude and not helpful at all. The woman that was supposedly the Manager threatened to tow my car because we had parked where the bar customers park. I manage a multi million dollar corporation and this woman should not be hired as restroom attendant never mind the hotel Manager. I would suggest that you sleep on the beach or in your car before paying one penny for this hell hole. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tina9997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
9
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
windham, me
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our 3rd time staying at The Brunswick. This is a place we really have enjoyed because its right on the beach and we get the awesome view from the condo and also we really like the fact that they have bands playing all the time. It is NOT a place to stay if you want peace and quiet, if you have your doors open you will be listening to live bands like they are in your room all day till late at night, WE happen to like this. We Always get a 1 bedroom condo an the 3rd floor right above where the band plays, this time we got one to the right of the bar area. We didnt enjoy it as much this time because the balconies were all removed so you had to look through screens and couldn't sit outside. Overall though we still had a good time, the rooms very clean and comfortable and the hotel is very close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bms1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My fiance and i finally got to go on a long awaited vacation. We wanted to stay at grand victorian but the minimum time you can stay is a week so the guy from the grand victorian suggested the Brunswick so i called and booked us from Thursday to Sunday. When we got there we got our room key and went and tried to get in our room (140) the motel room. Our keys sucked. They didn't work. It took us atleast 5-10 minutes each time to get in our room and a few times had to wait for maintenance. We had two young children with us and they cannot always wait to go to the bathroom. It was a pain in the butt. Second the rooms were unbelievable hot!! Every morning i woke up at the crack of dawn because i was sweating so bad. There were two fans in the room but there were not enough outlets to put the fans where we wanted. There is limited Wifi. No ride in room so you will spend an arm and a leg on food. Every night there is music playing until at least 1 in the morning. Every morning when we walked out to beach there were cigarette buts on the walk way. So bad we had to carry our kids. It reeked of smoke horrible and i am a big one on cigarette smoke. So gross. It is not kid friendly at all and was not worth our money. I would never recommend it to anyone especially with kids. Just in four days Thurs. to Sunday we spend over 1100 dollars.OUTRAGEOUS!!! Lets just put it this way the only thing that was good was the quick walk to the beach and the food. THAT'S IT!! Oh ya and the room was wicked outdated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Old Orchard Beach hotels

Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a very nice stay here, the views were awesome along with the food and the bands were perfect for the beach setting. Perfect location to the amuzement park and we look forward to the outside decks being done so you can enjoy the breeze and ocean view even better!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My family stayed at the Brunswick about 3 weeks ago with such high hopes. We usually stay at the Greand Victorain but booked too late & there were no vacancies. I would have preferred sleeping in our car to the Brunswick. Upon entering the "suite" the smell of moth balls almost made me vomit. It was stuffy, hot and extremely dated. We had 2 disgusting old dusty fans to cool us off, and 1 didn't work! On morning three we woke up to a loud obnoxious sound at 7 am, of course assuming it was just one of our children we went into the living room to say it was too early to start the day and we discovered it was a roofer just feet from our heads outside our window working on the restaurants roof downstairs. When my husband went to the front desk to discuss the matter, he was rudely blown off & told the manager would contact him. Still waiting on that call...

Room Tip: Bring your own AC& ear plugs
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had booked 2 nights... Finally stayed just 1 Evening.
We were in #230. Very Clean! Very! But... for the price we pay
To stay at this Place, it's NOT worth it.
Great View on the Ocean - Good thing we had this, as this was a +.
Great Patio/Bar
But, when we come back to the room, there is no AC in room.
Room is Very Outdated! You'd think that they could have A/C & WIFI in 2012
in All Rooms!!!!
We needed to log on to PC for work purposes, and we could not log online!
(That is awful nowadays)... When we could not log on, we wanted to call at
front desk, but... there wasn't even a Phone in the Room!

I'm Sorry, but at 500$ for 2 nights, not worth it at all!
(Old Couch - Non comfy Chair)
Just a Double Size Bed.
Very Noisy Fridge. Coffee Maker in Room, but No Coffee to put in it!
No coffee at lobbie or anything either!
Plus staff was suppose to be in at 9am, but it was 10am, and still nobody at front office
the next morning when we definitely wanted to Leave!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swhlibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Brunswick Hotel for one night 05/29 - 05/30. I have been to many of the hotels in Old Orchard Beach and I found this place to be the best "bang for the bucks". We were in Room 230 which had an excellent view of the ocean (big sliding glass window where a deck used to be), large nicely furnished living room with super clear 52" TV, separate kitchen with all appliances, a nice bedroom with another TV, and a nice bathroom - all the things you need for a beach place. I would suggest rooms on the third level or above if you would like to be a little bit away from the lively indoor/outdoor bar/tavern. I found the whole experience excellent from the hotel to the bar. It was neat to watch a thunderstorm out in the ocean through the large gliding glass door while we cuddled on the sofa. The hotel staff was very friendly as well as the desk clerk Sandy who we really enjoyed talking to and accommendating. I highly recommend this place as my wife and I are planning another trip there at the end of August.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleSam0825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal Inn
Americas Best Value Mt. Royal In...
#36 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#5 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#12 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Copley LaReine Motel
The Copley LaReine Motel
#28 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ocean Suites
Atlantic Ocean Suites
#5 of 25 in Old Orchard Beach
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick

Property: The Brunswick
Address: 39 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2632
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Old Orchard Beach
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renting Direct Beachfront Condominiums located at the Brunswick Hotel in Old Orchard Beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Brunswick Hotel Old Orchard Beach
The Brunswick Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing