We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Family Beach Trip”
Review of Crest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crest Motel
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for Family Beach Trip”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Spent 1 night at Crest Motel for a quick summer get away with 2 adults and 2 kids. Picked based on reviews from TripAdvisor, and so glad we did. We loved the "old school" beach vacation feel of the place, which reminded me of family trips I took with my parents when I was a kid. We arrived early for check in and were given our parking pass so we could park in the hotel lot and go to the beach before our room was ready. The beach was just steps away, so it was super convenient. The room was immaculately clean, with a great A/C unit and really nicely updated bathroom. The beds were a little hard for my taste, but the rest of my family slept well. We loved the pool and the little playground for the kids. And although we didn't use them, we thought the grills and picnic tables were a great touch! We also loved the quick walk to the pier...it was a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room, great view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kholbie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    41
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
121
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thetford Mines, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great time at Crest Motel! Family vacation 2 adults, 2 children. The service was very friendly. We needed an extra cot upon our arrival and it was brought to us right away. For an older motel the flooring was updated and I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms and bathroom. The heated pool was awesome! I saw them cleaning it every morning and the pool hours are 9 a.m. - 9 p.m. The hot tub is right next to the pool and kept clean. There are picnic tables right in the pool area and you can eat there if you want. The pool is covered and just outside that area are several loungers and tables. Around the pool there are high, coffee style chairs and tables with a view of the ocean. Fenced in BBQ area with kids play ground is also great. The pool area is very safe for little ones with very secure gates. In the lobby there is free coffee and popcorn, a nice little touch! We had a great time and would go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krys161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol Rhode Island, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Walking distance from downtown shops, restaurants. Beautiful beach. Indoor pool/jacuzzi just a few feet from our door. Large, clean room. Bathroom very up to date. Like new A/C in room.
Quiet, restfull place and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms facing indoor pool the best. Room 111 where we stayed was great! Just a few steps to indoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C2536IJdavidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

we have been there many times before just my husband and I and this time we were bringing family. so we had 5 adults and i child. the only room available was across the street on the top floor. It had 2 ful bed and a futon couch that pulled into 2 twins, sounds good so far.
they had a coffee pot, but no coffee. If we left dishes in the sink it was an extra $50 added onto our credit card. The wifi was TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! we even got 2 different codes and nothing worked!!
my grand daughter wanted to swim when the pool opened at 9am since we were checking out at 10. so we hurry down and the guy is STILL cleaning the pool! 3 kids were waiting for him to get done. the pool should have been cleaned and done before the opening time!
kids are in the hot tub without adult supervision which goes against the rules.
we checked in and only was told where our building was, nothing about where to park, what time check out was--nothing!
by the way, check in time is 1pm but check out time is 10am!!!!!!!!!!!! it should be like 11:30 at least!!!
I will never go back there. we paid well over $200 and they even charged our credit card weeks before we even got there. No plastic cups on the bathroom sink niether.
not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maclac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creoob, Owner at Crest Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations, our policies are clearly stated on our web site and brochures, since you had stayed with us before, I was under the impression check in and check out times were clear to you. We cannot be ready for check in if people do not check out! Though we do need the room at the checkout time, we do not have a problem with letting you keep the car parked a little longer and many guests head to the beach and pool after check out for an hour or two. We wish you had asked us and we would have been more than happy to let you stay as well. We do require the 1st nights stay to confirm your reservation, as most resort town motels do. I wish you had brought your concerns to me at the beginning of your stay, we might have been able to resolve most of your issues and given you a better time. We wish you smoother sailing on future vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The staff at the Crest Motel sets the standard for an excellent vacation. The owner Paul and his three sons are so friendly and attentive.
You get a great great location on the beach and near the Pier. Indoor pool for a break from the sun if needed. Hot tub, Wifi and of course free coffee and popcorn.
As a testimony to its reputation you will see the same people every year and become like family in no time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDipace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port aux Basques, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a four night stay at this place last week. Kids loved the pool and the location was great. It was just a nice short walk to the main hub of activity with loads of places to get a bite to eat and activities for kids. This cleanly seems to be a family centred pace to stay, if you are looking for a quiet motel, this is not the place to choose. This place certainly met all of our needs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Spent 2 nights, a little break in between touring colleges. Never been to OOB before, it was a fun little spot. We stayed in a Beach Garden unit across street from actual motel. Seemed like the hotel was full of repeat guest, it had the feel of a place families have been coming to for generations. Unit was comfortable, had small kitchenette, two full size beds and a trundle. Easy walk to beach, staff was helpful and nice. It was exactly what you would want in a small seaside property. We sat on porch in evening and watched all the folks walking to the amusement park and shops. I would go back for sure, too bad we live so far away!

Room Tip: I would say ito stay at Beach Garden unit, more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#10 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marvin Gardens Motel
Marvin Gardens Motel
#32 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#24 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest Motel

Property: Crest Motel
Address: 35 E Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Crest Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family oriented beachfront motel with indoor pool, children's playground, gas grills & picnic area. Walking distance to downtown attractions. 15 Minutes to Portland & Kennebunk attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Motel Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing