We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So happy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waves Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Reviewed August 8, 2008

A sigh of relief. That is what I breathed the second I saw our room. I honestly had anxiety about it. I booked the room months ago, and only had last years reviews to go by. Most of those were positive. Then three days before we leave I read all these negative posts about how dirty it is. Well, I start freakin' and prepared for the absolute worst. Thankfully I got myself all worked up for nothing. Our room was wonderful. Nothing fancy but it was clean and nice. I was more than satisfied with it. We stayed in building D and had a great view of the ocean (from the deck). The room had a king size bed, a refrigerator, a stove and toaster. Everything we needed and more. And let me say it again....it was clean. I am a borderline freak with things not being dirty...and I was 100% comfortable with our room. To make matters even better we were wicked close to the beach. Parking was great and the staff extremelyly helpful. I called for more pillows, and minutes later we had pillows. I called for a good Italian place that delivereded, and they gave me choices. I could not have been happier with our stay there. We would certainly stay in the Waves again

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merritt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Waves Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 330 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2008

This place is such a dive the only reason we even spent one night there is beceause we just drove 12 hours.
I found it on the internet and it looked like a great place on the beach. It in fact is not on the beach. Our room was disgusting. It was so small. It had this "great feature" of the bathroom between the two beds to give parents privacy but in fact it made it feel like you were sleeping in a closet. The carpet and furnishings were so old and gross. The bathroom was from the 1970's. I can't understand why some people have said they like this place. On a star scale its not even in on the radar. How can they charge $200 a night when we found a king jaquizzi suite in Kennebunkport for the same money.
New to Maine....beware waves.
We prepaid for a whole week. The only good thing to say is they gave us our money back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lobsterlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Two days ago I looked at almost every motel in Old Orchard on the Chamber website, looking for a moderate-low price and location. On Thursday around 6PM we drove through town (never been here) past all the motels. From the "website", I picked Waves as the number one choice, "IF" it looked nice and safe, and was very pleasantly surprised that it was much better in every way than any of the others. I had picked- beautifully maintained and tastefully decorated. We live in Rockland, ME and we will be back again in the "off" season- mid June or September. Love it here! In the future we will reserve now that we see how nice it is here. We were lucky to get a room without a reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mustapich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Positive: ----Well i went to Old Orchard Maine with my family and we stayed here but we did not make reservations over the phone because we were only staying for one night and they do not allow that unless it is a walk in so we just went up and walked in. Then as soon as we paid for our rooms they were ready. and i think that this was around 11:00- 12:00 in the morning. It is located near the beach. you just have to walk across a small parking lot and through the sand path and you are on the beach. That part was Great. We were on the first floor of i think building D. The A/C worked great and the kitchentte was nice. the beds were a little hard but you don't notice after a long day at the beach. It had a deck witha screen door. The screen door has some tears in it but no bugs could get through and actually there were no bugs there or at the beach.
Negative:--- The toilet is extremely loud when you flush it and it echos through the kitchen sink. Then when i was showering i went to close the sliding glass panels and it completely broke off right into my hand. so i was holding the panels up while showering,which is not fun. but i just set it up on the track it is supposed to be in and made sure no one tried to move it. While the shower was on it would make a very loud screeching noise which i did not like because i felt like i was waking everyone up in Old Orchard. Then in the night there was a propane smell which i did not like. The room was alright i guess but i would not go back. I have seen much worse that this place.....the location is really nice though. It is a little overpiced.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jayvin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Caution - This place is a dump! I can't believe anyone on this website gave it a good rating! I booked this spot based on their website photos, the rates, and the fact that they call themselves a "resort" (term used loosely, obviously). Be aware - the photos on the website do not depict what you walk into. The room was dark, small, old, and the carpet was absolutely filthy. I wouldn't have been able to sleep at night. Take a photo from their website and add 50 years of use to it, then imagine what the room is like. We are out $176 (loss of one night - their policy) because I refused to stay there with my two daughters when I saw the place. I got far better quality at a Howard Johnson in Portland for $138 a night!! Just because you don't stay on the beach doesn't mean you can't visit the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Girlsroadtrip08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Don't stay here if you want a clean and modern room. The carpets were filthy and disgusting. The rooms are not well maintained and old. Bedding was stained and dirty not to mention uncomfortable. I read reviews on trip advisor and saw many positive and couldn't believe how bad it was. Don't stay here!!! The hotel needs to update each room. Not worth the money....

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mnmbyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We stayed at this motel over a weekend in October. We were driving through Maine. Not prime time for this area but a lot was still open. The Waves was open with off season rates. Clean rooms. Decent, clean bathroom (important to us). Ours had a view of the water and sand dune. We had an excellent dinner a block away at Joseph's and visited the Seashore Trolley Museum in Kennebunkport. Excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank retired4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#19 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#21 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
445 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#17 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
194 reviews
1.3 mi away
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
Friendship Oceanfront Suites
#9 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Oceanfront Resort

Address: 87 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2641
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $75 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waves Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Waves Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Oceanfront Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Waves Oceanfront
Waves Oceanfront Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing