We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location!! Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waves Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location!! Location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was decent. About 10min walk to the main area. The hot tub and picnic area w/ grill is a nice touch. Great place for families to stay. The room was ok. The furniture is a bit outdated and the carpets are stained. There is a train that runs across the street. You definitely hear it! I was awoken every night by the blaring horns.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    101
    57
    25
    25
See reviews for
152
74
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was clean. The motel was close to everything. We appreciate our time at this place. We were in building F with private balcony. But the pool was too crowded. It was hard to find a chair durind the day but after 4 pm we finaly get one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmonie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

After A LOT of research into where we would be staying for our week long vacation, we decided on Waves due to it's amenities, proximity to everything and price. We were so pleasantly surprised after getting there. We booked online and it took maybe 2 minutes to check in. We got the only King bed Economy suite they have. This suite was wonderful for my boyfriend and I! Beautiful hardwood floors and nice little kitchenette with a microwave, coffee maker and fridge. The bed was comfy (surprisingly, I'm used to firm beds at motels!) The bathroom was very small, with a tiny shower. It's not like we spent much time in there anyway, so it didn't matter! Plenty of soap/shampoo/towels were provided throughout the week. There was an informational booklet in our room that helped us find things to do and restaurants to go to.
Being so close to the beach was amazing. Their pool is GORGEOUS! Their rule of "after 9pm, only adults allowed at the pool" is not really enforced, though:( Walking to everything and the "downtown" part of OOB wasn't too bad. It took about 5 minutes to walk to where all the shops were, as well as the pier.


PS. We were pretty darn close to the train tracks and COULD BARELY HEAR THE TRAIN!! I think I heard the train horn "honk" maybe like twice....


If we ever go back to OOB, we will certainly stay at The Waves again!

Room Tip: The economy rooms are nice believe it or not! A walk across the street to the beach is worth saving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is not a resort. It is an old, run down motel. No updates at all. The bathroom was clean, however, they need to replace the carpet in all these rooms. Musty smell throughout room. This seems to be common with all hotels in this area. This is a slight step up from going camping. The area needs a large chain hotel to come to area. Maybe that will force changes

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gotees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Old Orchard Beach hotels

oxford
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had read some reviews before we stayed here for three nights. I was very skeptical and not quite sure what to expect. We had originally only planned to stay for two days but elected to stay one more. The rooms were very clean and the staff very friendly. Our first two days we had a ground floor room, clean and convenient to beach and pool and large hot tub(which is a great place just to relax). On our last night we had a balcony room with a view of the beach, awesome. I would recommend staying here and will stay here again.Mrs R. Brown

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbydll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was great having you stay with us and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrington, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were allowed to park on the premises and go to the beach before our room was ready, and they called to notify us when it was. The rooms were clean and the staff was attentive throughout the day monitoring and keeping the property clean as well. This place is close to the beach, and the new pool/hot tub was very nice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Clint L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
When we get it right it makes it us very happy! Thank you for taking the time to review our property it is truly nice to hear you our hard work. The mineral pool and spa are a real crowd pleaser and we do try to get our guests to the beach as soon as possible. It is only hard when the guests show up before 10 Am and we have to find a place for them. After check out however we can usually take care of all of our incoming guests! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Compared to the other hotels in the area, it is a good one. Compared to what we're used to rent, it is old and unattractive....

Clean - nothing to say about that
Quiet
Close to the beach and to the Pier
Good service

We stayed in the G building - 121.

The only thing is the bath-shower. Very old and unattractive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#18 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#11 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#10 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#22 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#8 of 43 in Old Orchard Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Oceanfront Resort

Property: Waves Oceanfront Resort
Address: 87 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waves Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Waves Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Oceanfront Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Waves Oceanfront
Waves Oceanfront Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing