We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Good Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waves Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the end of June 2013. Our stay was pleasant enough, we arrived before check in and our room was not ready but the staff at the front desk gave us a parking pass so we could park in the lot and go to the beach till our room was ready. They took my cell number and called when the room was ready. We stayed in a divided room, second floor, in building F on the road side. It had a nice private balcony, with table and 2 chairs and a small view of the ocean. The room was a bit small, with 2 full size beds but we did manage to add a rolling cot to one sleeping area. The mattresses could stand to be replaced and we thought that adding some rooms with bunk beds would be a good idea for families, we wouldn't have needed to add a cot if we had bunks, but the cot was no charge. The room had a kitchenette with small fridge and a couple of electric burners and all the dishes and silverware needed, although we didn't use any. The bathroom was sufficient but small. You could barely close the door while standing in the bathroom. We wanted to suggest that they change the door to swing out or use pocket doors in the walls for these tight fitting areas if possible, it would greatly increase the ease of use of the bathroom doors. Overall our stay was fairly comfortable and the rooms were clean enough. The price was very good and the pool/hottub were very nice. The front desk clerks we saw were all very nice and friendly and helpful. We would stay here again when going to OOB.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my2boyzvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 337 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family has been going to Old Orchard Beach for years. This was our first time at the waves resort and we loved it . The staff was wonderful. We asked for a cot and extra towels .and we got them quickly. We stayed in the H bldg. And we loved the room the separated bed gave us more space and the kids got their own space. Room was very clean . Pool was great we are definately going back

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

STAFF STEALS FROM ROOMS.!! We checked out after 3 awful days and i had left my wallet behind,because we were in such a hurry to get out of there.. I called on route to my home a few hours away and they never got back to me. finally they did the next day.said they checked the room and it wasn't there. they said were not responsible for lost items. lost items? it wasn't lost it was left behind. after several calls to the police and finally talked to the manager they said that they would continue to look around. maybe the wallet was hidden in the maids cart or thrown in a bush nearby.sounds like this happens a lot.a week later after getting and paying for duplicate creditcards license social security, medical cards etc etc. they call and say they found it. on the railroad tracks. really? how did it make it's way back to the hotel??very fishy. to top it off i had to pay to have it fed ex to my home!!. nightmare!! not even willing to pay to have it sent to my home. The hotel is dirty, the property is run down, pool is slimy and the noise is awful at night.STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ladyjazzy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

This review is a pathetic attempt at blackmailing our business. At first we were not going to respond to these lies but unfortunately it appears as though this guest is using Trip Advisor in an inappropriate way. Lafayette Hotels, which owns Waves Oceanfront Resort, has not become New England’s largest hotel company by mistreating or stealing from our guests. Here are the facts:
1) The guest reported the wallet stolen from her room upon checkout. She spoke with our head housekeeper who has worked for us over ten years, whom she called a thief after the room had been inspected. Next, our Front Desk Manger called to get the details and he inspected the room as well.
2) The guest’s daughter-in-law called accusing us of stealing the wallet with a new set of circumstances surrounding the events leading up to the wallet’s disappearance.
3) The General Manager called guest and also inspected room and reviewed surveillance video as well as searched all employees that came in contact with that room, and called the Old Orchard Beach Police.
4) Four days later, the police had the wallet returned to them with all money and credit cards still inside wallet.
5) Upon further review of street surveillance video we discovered that guest had drove off with said wallet SITTING ON The HOOD OF THEIR CAR! The wallet was not stolen.
6) This review showed up after wallet was returned because the guest didn’t want to pay to have their own wallet sent back to them after their own carelessness lead to the wallets disappearance in the first place.
7) We contacted guest and requested that post be taken down, as we did NOT steal anything. At which point the guest said “Oh yes, that was my daughter-in-law; I will tell her to remove it” (The daughter-in-law was not the person we spoke with, as this was not her wallet, so of course we did not call her back when we were working on the situation. We did call the owner of the wallet back repeatedly.)
This all taken into account there are several other issues that are just as blatant lies as the one about the wallet. Our slimy pool is actually a one-year-old mineral pool and spa with, waterfalls, bubblers, sun deck, wading pool, and elevator, handicap accessible lift that cost us $450,000.00. We have security on 24 hours a day to insure noise is not and issue. We spend hundreds of thousands of dollars each winter improving our property. For example, we have just replaced the beds in the building this guest stayed in at the cost of $20,000.00. The cash that was in the wallet could not have helped with that invoice, and one of the managers stealing the wallet would have been pointless. This unfortunate attempt to tarnish our reputation is a prefect example how this forum can be misused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our first trip to Old Orchard Beach. I must say that I was not as thrilled with the crowd there (as compared to York or Ogunquit). However, this is a review of the hotel and not the town. The hotel is older, but well maintained with a huge staff always available to assist. We had a room with 2 double beds and a kitchenette with a view of the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable, but would have been a little cramped if it weren't for the balcony. The kitchenette was minimally equipped, but we were able to prepare all the food we ate there. Our biggest complaint was the other guests, primarily in the pool area. There were a few people who had the nerve to smoke in the pool -- not just on the deck but actually while in the water. I did ask management to address the issue - and they did - but the smokers returned day after day pretending not to know the rules. I asked at the front desk why they don't just put up "no smoking" signs and was told that the guests kept removing them. We loved the location on the water, but the pool was so great, that we spent more time there than on the beach! If I HAD to go back to OOB, I would stay at Waves. I just don't think that OOB will be a vacation destination for our family in the future - even if it is more affordable than other Maine beach towns.

Room Tip: We thought it was well worth it to pay a little more for an upstairs room with the vaulted ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garnacha11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your review. As a result of your experience we now have one of our associates on the pool deck enforcing our No Smoking rule as well as young children using the spa as a pool without parents and that all rules are followed so that all of our guests can be comfortable while enjoying our new Mineral pool and spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

well, I will tell you this was the best stay we have had in the last four years. The room was fabulous, the beds clean. we were facing the pool and i had my coffee looking at the beach. I found it refreshing that the housekeeper figure out that there were three in the room. and the next morning, there were towels for three people. I will definitely be staying and perhaps I'll be doing that without a softball tournament to wake up to.. the new pool is beautiful but I prefer the beach...

Room Tip: I didn't notice anything loud. Although, it took me a day to figure out the air conditioning. Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We love when the softball teams come to town as that is the sign that summer is coming! We hope you and your family would come back to visit us in the summer as I think the kids would have a wonderful time at the beach and in Old Orchard Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here recently as part of a group. Upon entering the room was a foul smell; could have been from the old filthy carpets, or the 1980s curtains, etc., not sure. Before turning in for the night I decided to check the bed to ensure there were no bugs as the room seemed ideal based on first impression. To my surprise sure enough, there were. I asked another mom (nurse) to look at them and she said “they are crabs, not bed bugs”. I called the office and they sent over a young gal who when shown was mortified. Aside from the great location, and nice pool, this place was dated, and dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wrch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

When speaking to any Hotel operator the word bugs is one we take seriously. We have a state of the art laundry facility. As well as our pest control policy goes above and beyond industry standards. We have brought in the leaders in the area to inspect and treat all of our rooms and the room in question was found to be clear on any type of bug. During the group event that was at our resort, there were hundreds of teenage sports teams staying with us, sand fleas to ladybugs can be tracked into the rooms from time to time. We did receive the complaint, moved the guest to a new room and discounted their stay by 50%. We could not confirm the type of bug that was found in the room nor can we confirm how it got there. We can confirm the room has been cleaned and is secured at this time. It is true that the rooms in building F have not been updated yet. The furnishings are not from the 80’s, but we understand how if a guest is unhappy with their stay emotions can get the best of them and inflammatory remarks that are less than accurate can be made. In our opinion our staff addressed the situation and compensated the guests for their inconvenience appropriately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Recently spent a few days here with my children, grandchildren and husband. We had two rooms, ours was E86 overlooking the ocean and my son and his family in the viking building room 150 across the street. We all loved it. Staff is so friendly here and go out of their way to help you. Pool and jacuzzi were a big hit with the entire family - warm and always clean. This was our first time in Old Orchard and we can not wait to come back next year and will be staying longer. Nothing better than waking up with the ocean view and hearing those waves crashing. Loved that we had the kitchen area which included everything we needed down to the silverware, for the times we did not want to eat out. Rooms were good size, location close enough to pier to walk. I would highly recommend this hotel to people. This will now be a yearly get away for our family

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryanneCLymanNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear guest thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Waking up to the sound of the ocean is very therapeutic, we hope that the memories you and your family made hear last a lifetime and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#19 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
200 reviews
1 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#14 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea View Inn
Sea View Inn
#26 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#20 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#13 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Oceanfront Resort

Address: 87 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2641
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $75 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waves Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waves Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Oceanfront Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Waves Oceanfront
Waves Oceanfront Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing