We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well mainatined”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waves Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
manchester nh
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Clean and well mainatined”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was my second stay here, the rooms and grounds are very clean. The rooms were very clean. I would like to see bigger towels but I think most motel/hotels are using the newer smaller towels. I loved the pool. It was sparkling clean.

Room Tip: If you want to save some money, take a room not overlooking the Ocean. if you dont mind paying more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sctredsoxone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your review! We do work night and day at maintaining and improving our property. The new mineral pool and spa have been a big hit. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    107
    61
    25
    28
See reviews for
170
76
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ct
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Waves is a good place to stay at Old Orchard Beach. The rooms could use some refurbishing - decor is dated and old, mattresses and pillows could stand to be replaced - but it's clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The best thing is the beach, which is right outside your door. The hotel is also walking distance to The Pier and to several good restaurants.

Room Tip: Building F is good - it's close to the beach and a short walk to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dathorpe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband Mark Skelley and I, Vickie, stayed there for 3 nights and days and it was excellent. Clean and quiet at night. Courteous maid service as well and also the staff were very nice. The price was good as well. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: The only thing is for the rooms that have a door connecting them to the next room, even with the doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your review! We appreciate it when guests notice our hard work. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, MA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect when we checked the family into Waves but I came away very satisfied. Here's why. Waves is at the tail end of the big hotels at OOB, so it's close to the action but far enough so that it's quiet at night. With several buildings you can get pretty much whatever you're looking for. We had a two room unit w/ the kitchenette and bathroom in the middle, with a private balcony overlooking the beach. The room, and the entire grounds actually = spotless. Not so much as a loose hinge or squeaky door knob. Clean clean clean. Comfortable beds. Friendly staff all around. New pool area. Grills, laundry (coin-op) and ice machine on the property. Security during July 4th fireworks was superb -- tight but they let folks have fun as long as they were being responsible. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star is that, like all the other places at OOB, the hotel is old. Our room was small. And the furniture beside the bed and TVs was pretty dated. But overall, that doesn't matter. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: check out the website -- rooms vary a LOT
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikey013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your kind words. We actually had a large shipment of 42 inch flat screen tvs delivered just after you left. Come back next year and I think you will love the the new Flat screen TVs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We went at the Waves for a hockey tournament. Kids and families had a blast at the beach and pool. The moon rises are spectacular and can walk to the Old Orchard pier. The personnel is dedicated to the needs of the clients and very well trained. It shows that the Waves management looked into the details in terms of services, including a security squad which patrol the site all night every 15 minutes !
Our friend A/C broke and they had it completely changed in few minutes, wow...

The hotel got old, but our room was clean and we used the mini kitchen for our breakfast and lunch everyday, which is a big plus. The coffee / breakfast restaurant served the worst breakfast I had, place for improvement there !

Overall, we enjoy our stay at the Waves and its great location, but if you are the 5 stars type exclusively, maybe not be a place for you as all the motels seam to be in the same range.

Room Tip: Block H is beside the railway. Trains are transiting all night. Take another block if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarioAndJian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We do work hard at training our staff to ensure that they are properly trained. We learn something new and try to improve constantly. We recognize our limitations and try to exceed them. The family that owns this property is dedicated to improving the property. They do not take any money for themselves but instead reinvest that money into improvements and staff. Please come back again next time your are in town we know you will love the changes you will find.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We come every year and the level of service and the cleanliness of the rooms is also different from year to yr. This year we stayed in an old room, with a slow working air conditioner. The room was adequate for the purpose. The bathroom left much to be desired. there was a popsicle stick in the lamp in the bathroom with what i believe was dead bugs.. i tried not to look. The bed was clean and the room was tidy. The worse part was the parking, you are definitely designated to areas related to the building you stay, there was just not enough parking for the area we stayed and i have a small car. We managed because we all knew each other. There was however, a fantastic view of the ocean and was quiet enough to sleep.. We only are there to get the girls to early morning games in Scarborough. we will stay again. for the money we paid a week before seasonal prices start. hopefully we can get a better room next yr.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are not sure which building you stayed in but we do want all of our guests to be comfortable in there room when they are here. Many times the best rooms are reserved very fast so make your reservations early. Also please remember if anything in our room is out of please or not to your liking, please let us know so we can address the issues immediately. This is why we are here, to make your stay comfortable. We would rather you leave happy than feel as though your concerns where not important to us. They are very important. As guests of our hotel, we will work to make your stay as nice as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is not plush. What it does have is wonderful, wonderful customer service. They go out of their way. After I checked in at the hotel I went to move my van and low and behold the battery was dead. The service man went out of his way to scrub the acid off my battery and jump it. Very nice. Also, all the others that we stayed with (hotel was packed with softball guests) had a great visit! We barbecued in the center of all the hotels with 4 large grills. The pool is brand new and beautiful. We sat out on the little balcony outside our room at night with a glass of wine while the kids rested for the events of the next day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top ocean view rooms. Although the ocean was a blocked by a little building you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimBarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Old Orchard Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Colonial Motel
Old Colonial Motel
#22 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
187 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alouette Beach Resort
Alouette Beach Resort
#18 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
441 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Walk Hotel
Ocean Walk Hotel
#11 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Cliff House Motel
Sea Cliff House Motel
#20 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#4 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crest Motel
Crest Motel
#7 of 44 in Old Orchard Beach
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Oceanfront Resort

Property: Waves Oceanfront Resort
Address: 87 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2641
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waves Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Waves Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Oceanfront Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Waves Oceanfront
Waves Oceanfront Resort Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing