We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service, Outstanding Crab Rangoon's !”

Bua Thai Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Welcome to Bua Thai Restaurant, a family and friendly oriented restaurant where you can enjoy the authentic Thai cooking!
Monmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
134 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service, Outstanding Crab Rangoon's !”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Oh no I am becoming addicted Thai food. Really great fresh veggies and plenty of them. Cooked just right to snap with full taste and nutrition. I like a little spice and it was done right at my request so remember to let the waitstaff know your preference. I will be back the next time we go to OOB .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    39
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Old Orchard is well known as a beach-resort and camping tourist destination. In general its gastro-selections tend to cater to the seasonal crowd. Although I'm sure that Bua Thai attracts travelers, it's a welcomed spot for area residents. The owners travel back to Thailand for a month or so every winter, which certainly helps the authenticity of this place.

I've had both eat-in and take out and have never had an issue with the food. I particularly enjoy sitting on the deck with friends and family enjoying a great meal. The staff is friendly and attentive. Given that they have a tiny kitchen, I am always amazed that they consistently put out such great food.

If I was in the position of having to choose a final meal in this life, it would be a tough decision between a quality grill-fired ribeye, or the choo-chee duck from Bua Thai.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cascade0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
218 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Deeeelicious...”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great food from a very unassuming little place. Bua Thai is a great example of "don't judge a book by its cover." Their food is excellent, very fresh and well seasoned, with dishes for those that like all spice levels. Best part is...they deliver in Saco and OOB ($5 charge for orders under $50) for those nights when you don't feel like cooking or going out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nucenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Bua Thai was awesome”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I'm skeptical about Thai places but upon Trip Advisor's recommendations we decided to try it and it was soooo good!! Dumpling were small but very good!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GREAT LITTLE PLACE!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I just had to try this place after reading all the reviews. The food was very fresh. I liked the fact that it was not oily at all. The curry was hot and the coconut milk was very noticeable. I just wish I new more about Thai food because I think I would have made better choices. All in all good food, price and very clean little restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chicaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bua Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bua Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing