We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must have”
Review of Pier French Fries

Pier French Fries
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must have”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I spent alot of time in Old Orchard beach with my family when I was small and to this very day It's the first and # 1 thing I do is get a large a large box, lots of napkins, ketchup is a must, and we all dig in..then we get more! Best french fries on this planet.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CathyW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    91
    26
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, PEI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What makes a good french fry?”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

What makes a good french fry? I wish I knew because this place didn't tase like anything special. The reviews I read made it sound like these fries were unlike anything else. They tasted like a normal french fry to me. Would I get them again, yah sure. The facility was cool. Staff were not as friendly as most along the strip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank peinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, ME
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ocean side prize”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A classic french fry that kids and adults alike crave during the all too brief season that this stand is open. They always get it just right!

Helpful?
Thank wkhend10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best fries ever”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Pier French Fries has been in business 80 years. Best french fries in the USA. It's a Maine institution. We bring our own bottle of malt vinegar because gourmet fries deserve the best vinegar. If you are addicted to french fries, ask for a "Frequent Fryer Member" card; every tenth box of fries is free.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BillJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traditionally Smelly”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

All visitors come to Old Orchard Beach for the fries. The odorful fries smell through out the town and even through out the Grand Vic Fancy Hotel. One must be caeful whenwaling along the brick walkway for there is always a coating ofnice greaseeverywhere.. It adds to the tradition for all the overweight fry lovers. There re many wooden and wrought iron benches bordering the sidewalk so one can devour their treat sitting down. I am not such a fan and would love to see some healthy snacks which would give one the right to choose.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolCris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier French Fries also viewed

 
Old Orchard Beach, ME
 

Been to Pier French Fries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing