We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth seeking out.”
Review of JJ's Eatery Too

JJ's Eatery Too
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
New England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Tucked into a corner and a bit hard to find if you don't know where to look, JJ's Eatery is worth the effort. Super friendly staff and great bartenders compliment the surprisingly good food. Don't miss the clam chowder, it is the perfect combination of the few simple ingredients that make a chowder delicious and authentically Maine. Everything coming out of the kitchen is consistant and better than one would expect from a little place next to the railroad tracks in OOB; a town know for french fries and fried dough. Open year round and the coziest place to get a drink and see some friendly faces in the middle of a snow storm. This is one of those reviews that I hesitate to write because I want to keep it to myself but they are doing a great job at JJ's and they deserve your business. Check them out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Echo226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    59
    23
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Its a happening place”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Not only is the food good and wholesome but the staff, entertainment and fellow patrons
are good too! If you are a stranger in town, like local flair, feeling blue, this is the place for you. On Tuesday nights Ray plays his guitar and adds lots of good cheer. J eannie,the owner, is overseeing everyone and welcoming you as you enter. She seems happy and very proud of her business and always looking for innovative ideas to spark ones interest. In the winter there are homestyle specials and the food is great for breakfast or lunch or dinner She even runs specials for happy hour. If you want some company in the evening try JJ's - there is always something going on - trivia night, cribbage night, singles night, great celebration for New Years (reasonably priced too!) I like to go for a walk along the beach and then stop for some warmth and friendly conversation. I love the hamburgers, sweet potato fries - the salmon and haddock are great as well. For us locals of Old Orchard- this is a wonderful place that is open all year! Thank you JJ's!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolCris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OOB
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome specials menu!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Their breakfast is amazing! If they ever have the pumpkin pancakes on special you should order them! And their eggs benedict comes out perfect every single time! We went last night for dinner and I got the shephards pie and squash and I thoroughly enjoyed every bite! The staff is wonderful and very friendly. You have to wait for your food sometimes, but it is always always worth it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank belocin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Where to go for breakfast in OOB on a Monday in November? Not many choices, so we opted to go to JJ's. We found the restaurant OK inside, but boy the server was excellent and the homemade breads and blueberry topping to be incredible. It was a quite time so we could talk and no one indicated they were looking for us to leave, just refilled coffee. As Arnold said "We will be back!"

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KennewickGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We asked the owner of our motel about where is good to eat. JJ's was not at the top of the list, but we walked right by it many times. So we thought we'd give it a go! It was great, we did have to seat yourselves, but who cares that mean "YOU" get to sit where "You" want. We ordered Potato Skins (yummy) to start. I had a lobster roll, my husband had haddock with rice and veggies and my kids had Fish and chips and grilled cheese. Let just say it was a clean plate club for us!! Our server was attentive, the place was clean and well lit. I am looking forward to going back next year. Don't let it's location fool you.Great food!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbjlemu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Eatery Too also viewed

 
Old Orchard Beach, ME
 
Old Orchard Beach, ME
Old Orchard Beach, ME
 

Been to JJ's Eatery Too? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing