We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We have been visiting Maine for more than 20 years each time we stay some where different. We have stayed in a lot of nice hotels and motels, Bed and Breakfasts.
The Anchorage by the Sea is the top of the line for a beach side resort we have stayed at.
Rooms were impecable, views and accessability great. food and service was top of the line. Over all we were very pleased with our stay..

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mained
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
There are newer reviews for The Anchorage By the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2010

Beautifully located right on the ocean and accessible to the Marginal Way, Anchorage sits right up from the heart of downtown where you can walk to every shop and eatery in town. Most rooms have ocean views, though the rooms on the ocean are older than the ones across the street without a view. Most of the newer rooms have fireplaces and LCD tvs. I've stayed on both sides of the street and enjoyed either. You really can't go wrong at this hotel. The pools and hot tubs are wonderful as is the staff.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank kmitchelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We stayed for two nights at a great off-season rate. The rooms were newly renovated with beautiful new bathrooms since our last stay. Ate in the Cafe and was ver pleased with the food and the price. Met both the manager and the owner walking around the grounds and both were very pleasant to talk with. CAN'T WAIT O GO BACK!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sww5691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

NOTHING about this place justifies the price. It is a glorified (and maybe only in its own mind) motel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joshintown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

The hotel is right alongside the Marginal Way, has beautiful views out over the water, and is within easy walking distance of the shops and restaurants. Other members of our group used the indoor pool and the outdoor hot tub, and thought they were great. Most of our party had rooms with really good sea views. My mother in law had a bit of difficulty with the step up to the front door of her room, which was quite high. But later we saw that another room had a wooden ramp, so presumably this is available to borrow during your stay, if you are not as agile as you used to be. The wireless internet didn't work in our room, the signal was too weak. We had a very nice meal in the restaurant. I had a good time and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Spent 3 nights on an ocean front room.
Views from the second floor deck and room were amazing.
Rooms very clean and comfortable.
Nice modern bathroom.
Grounds beautifully decorated for fall.
Great location for a quick weekend or week away.
Would return to this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tcimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

The location is excellent - "on the sea" it is... and close to the village as well. As for the rooms... we were in the building near the ocean - the walls and floors are so thin - you can hear everything your neighbors are saying! No kidding! The rooms are very small and the prices are high... however - this is the Maine coast. Overall, experience - great. Rates - overpriced for accommodations.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,027 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#17 of 36 in Ogunquit
412 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $138 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing