We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2006

We stayed in the Towers section of the Anchorage. The rooms are average in size but have rather small bathrooms. It was quite convenient to have a frig in the room. It permitted us to have cold drinks and keep lunch meats, bread etc.

The beds are rather comfortable however if you require a rollaway bed then I do not recommend it. The mattresses are well used and could potentially be uncomfortable. We had brought an eggshell foam to add to the bed and it was not sufficient. We even added our beach towels to give the bed more lift.

The site is clean and the pool area is very well maintained.
We have had more friendly personnel in other resorts but we did not have to deal with them often. It is a shame when the pool fellow is more interested in reading his book than giving you pool towels .

Regardless, we enjoyed our stay at the Anchorage

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank cruzincanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
There are newer reviews for The Anchorage By the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2006

Are you kidding me? We vacationed in Ogunquit and stayed at Anchorage By The Sea. A beautiful view, no doubt. A rip off, no doubt. From the moment we arrived, it was clear that this was neither a cordial or friendly atmosphere. Our rooms were in need of updating. Worn out mattresses and a tiny bathroom with paper thin towels were unpleasant, but the treatment by staff and rudeness of the General Manager ruined our stay. We were there to relax and enjoy our stay but the management's goal appeared to see their main goal as creation and enforsement of restrictions. Charges for services unrendered were added to our bill and remain in dispute. It is a puzzle to me how they stay in business with such poor people skills and customer service. I definitely would not recommend this "resort".

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank bill&max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2006

We stayed at the Anchorage by the sea on a recommendation, and it was nice. A bit expensive, but the location is great, they have 2 nice pools, a good snack bar, and the property was surprisingly fresh, with little wear-and-tear.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank MarcK-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

We had a very bad situation happen when we were staying at this hotel. Nothing was done to correct it or to compensate us for it afterward. The manager, Mark Thompson, was unco-operative and really did not care about our complaint. I would never stay at this hotel again or reccommend it to anyone.
Nancy Brooks

Stayed: June 2006
8  Thank Mezalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

New Britain, Connecticut -- My wife and I booked four nights during the last week in June. This was our fifth year at Anchorage and have found it a pleasant experience each time. The grounds are immaculate. The cafe is convenient and reasonably priced and the cafe staff has always been friendly and courteous. The rooms are ordinary, but clean and comfortable. It is such a convenient location with so much within walking distance and you do pay for that convenience. We don't use the car unless we want to travel to surrounding towns. Being right on the ocean front affords a great view of the coastline and ocean. Access to the Marginal Way is right there at the beginning of this scenic walk to Perkins Cove. We enjoy the walk with its views and on some walks we stop at a convenient spot to sit, relax and maybe read for awhile. There are numerous fine restaurants within walking distance. Amore Breakfast is a few minutes from the hotel and is noted for great breakfasts. For fine dining, don't miss Gypsy Sweethearts on Shore Road heading toward the center - wonderful cuisine and desserts. All in all, it has been a relaxing and enjoyable visit to Anchorage and Ogunquit over the years which is why we keep going back.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ARPJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2006

I really enjoyed my time here. The hotel, although expensive, is in a great location. You can walk everywhere, which is key in this town where weekend travel is crazy. We stayed at the Cliff House last year. That was a nightmare traveling to and from Ogunquit.

If you are looking for a resort that caters to couples and you want something of a spa, this place is not for you. But this place is great if you want convenience and great views and don't mind spending some money.

The rooms are clean and the view of the ocean is amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank eobChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2006

We have stayed 3 times, each year with a significant increase in price with no improvements. The first year was fantastic. Since then the staff doesn't seem very friendly. Second year we got a moldy smelling room across the street after confirming that we had an ocean view prior to our arrival. It took most of the day to find us a room and we had to hang around to move our things. We did not get the ocean view room that was requested and confirmed one year earlier. It is hard to find anyone in the lobby to get a towel for the pool and you have to sigh for it. It's too bad because this place could be the premiere place in that area. It has a fantastic location. Staff was pretty unfriendly, as well. For $230./night one just expects a little more than what this place offers. We won't stay again until the reviews improve.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank vickietoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,027 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#17 of 36 in Ogunquit
412 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $138 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing