We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Location on Marginal Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Spent 3 nights on an ocean front room.
Views from the second floor deck and room were amazing.
Rooms very clean and comfortable.
Nice modern bathroom.
Grounds beautifully decorated for fall.
Great location for a quick weekend or week away.
Would return to this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tcimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2009

The location is excellent - "on the sea" it is... and close to the village as well. As for the rooms... we were in the building near the ocean - the walls and floors are so thin - you can hear everything your neighbors are saying! No kidding! The rooms are very small and the prices are high... however - this is the Maine coast. Overall, experience - great. Rates - overpriced for accommodations.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed here Columbus Day weekend from Thursday, Oct 8th thru Sunday, Oct 11th. We loved it! We had a king room on the "BEECH ROOMS" side with a shower. Perfect view of the beach and ocean. We walked in the room and it was nice and clean. Loved the bathroom too...very very clean. After reading negative reviews, we were PLEASANTLY SURPRISED! Nothing negative about our room or stay. the staff were very nice at check in and check out. Saturday night they had fireworks on the beach. We watch from our room and didnt have to go to the beach...PERFECT VIEW. We had breakfast one morning at the restaurant and it was very good. I had french toast with bacon and my husband had an omlete, homefries and toast and all were freshly made. They have free coffee and juice. Their grounds are really nice too..they decorated for the fall and they had a pumpkin contest. You have to guess the weight and you will win 2 free nites. We relaxed in the adirondack chairs looking over at the beach and ocean. What a view!!! I didnt want to leave when it was time. Short walk to shops. PERFECT LOCATION. We also ate at "AMORE BREAKFAST" which is very very good..and try the "OMLETE FACTORY"..excellent! We are planning on going back next year same time and maybe the summer as well. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND The Anchorage by the Sea. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

The staff at Anchorage by the Sea were extremely unhelpful and pretty rude. Even when I brought up the fact that our towels were damp when we arrived in the room, the manager at the hotel did not offer an apology.

One problem after another here.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikesands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed here toward the end of our trip through Maine, and it was definitely one of our favorites. The view was spectacular, and the rooms were well worth the $159.00 that we paid. I highly recommend this property, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bschiavoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We returned again to Ogunquit and enjoyed our stay at the Anchorage. You can't beat the location as it is right on the ocean, with great views, and easy access to the Marginal Way. If you are looking for upscale, look somewhere else. But if you want a nice, clean room with a great view, a short walk into town or Perkins Cove, and close to many shops and restaurants, this is a good choice. We always choose to stay on the ocean side rather than across the street.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candyman1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

After 16 years of visiting Ogunquit, we finally tried the Anchorage and we'll never stay anywhere else! We stayed in the Lightship rooms, across Shore Rd. from the main hotel, which were clean and well appointed, but a bit tight. However, the hotel property more than makes up for the size of the room. The outdoor pool area has two hot tubs, a children's pool/ fountain and a grill where you can get a decent selection of food, from seafood and pizza to salads and burgers. The indoor pool and hot tub are a great convenience, if mother nature doesn't cooperate. The location of the hotel along Marginal Way and on Shore Road, makes it an easy and enjoyable walk to either Perkins Cove or downtown Ogunquit, with quaint shops and restaurants at both destinations. The hotel is also convenient to both Lighthouse Beach or Main Beach. For all of our future trips to Ogunquit, we'll definitely stay at the Anchorage!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happymomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
251 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $137 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing