We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views - mediocre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views - mediocre hotel”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

It's hard to imagine better views, but the rooms in this resort are nothing better than mediocre. At its hefty price, you would expect a lot more. We stayed port side. The double room was small, dark and seemed more like a motel than a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaGiraffina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    314
    122
    42
    39
See reviews for
316
438
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

It's hard to beat this location, it's right by the water with a fantastic view. It also has a big heated pool and jacuzzi. I stayed in one of the single cottages and they're not very nice, they look like a motel from the 80's, at best. The t.v. was really old, the room was very small, and the carpet needed replacing. It's also noisy in those cottages, and you will inevitably been waken up around 9 am when they empty the dumpster. Also, the older, balding guy at the front desk was pretty rude to my friends, even though he made a mistake, and never apologized. The two ladies are very nice and helpful, so avoid the old grumpy man when checking in. If you don't plan to stay in the room, this place is hard to beat with it's location. One other note, there's no ATM on site, so you have to go down the street.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2009

The room was decent enough but we were a little disappointed that we didn't have a deck of some sort. The room was large enough - however the fridge was in a weird spot and we had to silverware or wine glasses which would have been nice. The fireplace was lovely, except having it on a switch rather than a timer would have been nice. We had to keep resetting the darn thing. Overall it was nice, clean, and a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogtgrl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

If you're traveling to Ogunquit, the Anchorage is in a wonderful location! Just outside the crowded downtown area, the Anchorage has indoor and outdoor pools, tons of lawn chairs facing the ocean, and a great little snack bar that also serves drinks. You can get to the Marginal Way (the pretty walking path that goes along the ocean to Perkin's Cove) right from the Anchorage property. Try to stay in the main buildings (not the Towers) to get a view of the ocean from your front balcony. It's about 5 minutes into town for all the restaurants and shops, and less than 10 minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fenway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

I was real impressed with the place. I splurged on this 2 night stay to celebrate my mom's 60th birthday. We stayed in the Towers (building across the street) and were loved the room. It was clean, new and very quiet. The location of the hotel is ideal. You can walk to the town center and enjoy a morning coffee. The shops and restaurants around the place were great. Each morning we walked along the Marginal Way path and took in the rocky coast. The pool was fun and the weather perfect. I might head back there with my husband and kids. We love places were we can walk to dinner and explore the surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisadgogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leominster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2009

The best part of the Anchorage is definetly the location. The views of the ocean are beautiful. Our room which was located across the street at The Towers was extremely small for four people, the two double beds were more like twin beds and very uncomfortable, it was really for two people and for $259.00 a night not including anything you would think it would be a little bigger. Also, I found dead beetles in my towels and brought them down to the front desk, they never brought any more towels back up. My other disappointment was, the people at the front desk I thought were extremely unfriendly and not very helpful. The other incident we had was at the pool, my son had $4.00 and went and got a smoothie and told me it was $5.00 and that he gave the bartender his money because the bartender said this was for the other $1.00 which would be charged to my room, but when we checked out, the bartender charged us $5.00, so he actually kept the $4.00 as a tip, which I think was horrible and they shouldn't have children charging anything to the room. When I explained this to the night supervisor she just stared at me and nodded. Not a great experience, I just found the people to be very rude.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shesha40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Ogunquit is truly a great vacation spot and it is shown to be when many of the nearby hotels on the famous Shore Road are occupied completely. The town does have a good selection of hotels including the Anchorage by the Sea which is the resort i stayed at, the Meadowmere, Beachmere Inn and Sporhawk.Also on shore road are several shops that are popular to 11 o clock at night. People walk on the sidewalks and the town just seems to be very calm and peaceful. Now the beaches are another story. They are one of the cleanest beaches in the world and it shows with clear atlantic water even though it is colder than what an average person is used to. Still the beach is very enjoyable with the sand bars showing at the mouth of the ogunquit river at low tide. It is fun to walk 500 ft out into the atlantic.This town includes Perkins Cove which is the mainsite for Ogunquits best resturants.Sightseeing is really big in the town and it doesnt dissapoint with all the cruises and trolleys going in and around the town.Ogunquit was good for me and very enjoyable and should be good to anyone who vacations here.

Helpful?
Thank jbear8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
346 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#16 of 36 in Ogunquit
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing