We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Anchorage By the Sea
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Colonial Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terrace by the Sea(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Admiral's Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariner Resort(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marginal Way House(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juniper Hill Inn(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadowmere Resort(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Milestone(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$65
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gorges Grant Hotel(Ogunquit)(Great Value!)
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,073)
Filter reviews
1,073 results
Traveler rating
538
329
124
43
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
538
329
124
43
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf pointlightship buildingmarginal wayperkins coveocean viewindoor pooladirondack chairsoff seasonogunquit beachgrounds are beautifulthe main hotelhot tubeasy accessperfect locationshops and restaurantswalking pathpark your car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 1,073 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We just returned from 2 nights at the hotel. Wish we had booked 4 nights. It was super relaxing to be at the beach early in the season when it wasn't really crowded. We loved the hotel's location and setting. We enjoyed the grounds, the pool area, the grassy glade to relax on that overlooks the ocean and Marginal Way. Try the Melon Madness drink at the bar. It was delicious. We booked an oceanfront room. The view was nice.The room, itself, was ok; but seemed overpriced. For the cost, something was missing. It was clean and nice, but felt like something was missing. Suggestion: Put a coffee pot and free coffee in each room. One of us had to dress each morning to go to the lobby to get our coffees. Also, we needed a bedside table for each person's side of the bed. There was only one between the two queen beds. Maybe had we been able to book the King, we would have both had a night table. Also, a terry robe would have been nice for $300.+/ per night. I loved the location. Might stay there again, but probably wouldn't pay extra for the full ocean view room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Marla,

Thank you for giving us your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We would also like to thank you for staying with us during your trip to Ogunquit.

Thank you for your kind comments about our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your two night stay with us.

We appreciate your recommendations about our rooms. These are certainly things we could look into. Our Starboard rooms were recently renovated and we have been getting a lot of great feedback from our guests.

We hope you have a great summer. Please come back and visit us again.

Kind Regards,

The Anchorage Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I went to the Anchorage by the Sea, a month or so ago, we had such a great time that we decided to go on another last minute night away. I called night before, and booked room for the next day which was a Sunday.

We got to hotel early around 10:00 ish, living an hour or less away is a plus. We wore our swim suits up, and after giving our name to front desk headed to the pool on a beautiful hot Sunday morning in June.

Took a walk along the Marginal Way, absolutely beautiful. Then back to hotel for drinks.

The hotel was once again spotless, pool area clean, and grounds just beautiful.
I almost hate to say what a wonderful place this is, hopefully crowds stay away.
Perfect location, all the amenities you could want .
Indoor and outdoor pools, jacuzzi's, restaurant, and bar all centrally located in the heart of Ogunquit .
Hopefully next time we get to spend more than just one night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheri18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Sheri18,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during you recent trip to Ogunquit.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us . Spring is always a wonderful time to visit us as the weather is normally nice and town is still quiet. Thank you for all of your kind comments about our grounds, cleanliness and amenities.

Please come back and visit with us again soon. We would love to welcome you back on a future trip. Enjoy your summer and take care.

Warm Wishes,

The Anchorage Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We enjoyed another May vacation at the beautiful Anchorage Resort, Ogunquit's own "little piece of heaven". As always, we received a warm and friendly welcome upon arrival. Our room had been redecorated in relaxing pastel colors. We spent our vacation enjoying the Anchorage's oceanfront location and its panoramic views. It was wonderful watching other happy visitors strolling along Marginal Way while we lounged on the lawn chairs. Of course, this Resort's grounds are meticulously maintained and ever changing with the seasons. No need for a car. Amenities include swimming pools, hot tubs, sauna, restaurant and more. Shops and a variety of other restaurants are a very short walk away. We look forward to returning to this beautiful place by the sea in the months ahead. Thank you, Anchorage Staff, for another wonderful vacation! Tobiasmax

Room Tip: We enjoyed both the Towers and Portside. Both are great.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Toby M,

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear you found a "little piece of heaven" at the Anchorage. What a wonderful compliment to receive from a guest! We would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your trip to Ogunquit. We greatly appreciate your patronage.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us this past May. Spring is a wonderful time to visit Ogunquit as the weather is improving yet town is still quiet. Thank you for sharing all of your wonderful compliments about our resort. We appreciate all of your kind feedback.

Thank you so much for your review. We hope to see you again on a future trip to Ogunquit. We would love to welcome you back! Hope you're having a wonderful summer! Take care.

Warm Wishes,

The Anchorage Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We came for a girls' weekend and stayed for just two nights. The staff were nice, the rooms were clean and we did have a nice beach/ocean view. Nothing to complain about but also nothing special. Loved the chairs on the property overlooking the beach. It was also walking distance to both Perkins Cove and the center of town. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vagnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Vagnier,

Thank you for sharing your comments here on TripAdvisor. We would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your recent trip to Ogunquit. We are happy we were able to accommodate you for your girls weekend.

Thank you for your compliments about our friendly staff and nice rooms. We appreciate your positive feedback.

We hope to see you on a future trip to Ogunquit. Have a nice summer.

Best Regards,

The Anchorage Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights in one of the cottages during a family vacation. The experience was memorable because of the location and proximity to the beach but the hotel wasn't exactly a "resort". However, the rooms were clean even though they were small and the service was great. The cottages are across the road from the main resort so I would say if I ever went back a room overlooking the water would make for a nicer experience.

Room Tip: Spring for an ocean view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Physio_KB,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your trip to Ogunquit.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We would definitely recommend trying one of ocean side rooms if you decide to visit us again. Those rooms are more centrally located and may provide you with more of the "resort" experience. We are certainly considered a resort with our many amenities. Thank you so much for your comments on our friendly staff and clean rooms.

Again, thank you for all of your feedback. We hope you visit us again on a future trip to Ogunquit. We would be happy to welcome you back. Enjoy your summer and take care!

Kind Regards,

The Anchorage Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews