We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights the first week of October. It was wonderful. A lovely room facing the sea. I needed accessibility and they installed a ramp into the room, put a reserved handicapped parking sign right outside the door and made the bathroom accessible enough for me.
I have never stayed anywhere before that had so many staff members visible and busy and helpful. The grounds were immaculate and the fall decorating delightful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grasshopper53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    310
    116
    41
    39
See reviews for
307
435
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Dighton, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Anchorage By the Sea is a wonderful place to stay in Ogunquit. We last visited in November which is off season and the whole area is much quieter with many restaurants and stores closed for the season. During the summer Anchorage By the Sea is the ideal location. You are in walking distance to Ogunquit Beach, the village area of Ogunquit, many restaurants, and the beautiful Marginal Way. This can be important as area traffic is heavy. The rooms at Anchorage By The Sea are average hotel sized rooms, but have been recently renovated and during our stay have always been spotless. You can tell by the entire property that cleanliness and proper maintenance are a priority. During the warmer weather there is nothing better than sitting in one of the adirondack chairs and enjoying the ocean view. Marginal Way is a walkway along the shoreline which that goes between Ogunquit and Perkins Cove which has little shops and restaurants. Along the way, there are numerous benches to stop and enjoy the view. I have recommended Anchorage By the Sea to family and friends and they are always equally happy.

Room Tip: The rooms at the ocean end of the buildings are more expensive as expected. We prefer the second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you don't mind poor sound proofing, guests partying below you on the porch til all hours, slamming doors in adjacent rooms vibrating the walls, lack of amenities such as in room coffee, being told there is a continental breakfast when there wasn't, and asking for a room with an ocean view and getting one that only has a side view of the ocean, then this is for you. And you too can pay $200/night off season. Not our idea of a great place but it was busy off season with people from NY, CT, RI, and NJ so it must be doing things right that we don't appreciate I guess.

Room Tip: second floor for sure- but there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhDRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at the Anchorage by the Sea over a weekend and would like to say that everything was amazing! Especially the night front desk lady Barbara. We so enjoyed your wealth of knowledge and winning personality!! Can't wait to stay again!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lysnoir187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I recently got married here. Such a beautiful place. I had 30 plus people staying here in my party and it was so nice to meet up for breakfast, drinks, etc. All of my party enjoyed their rooms and the hotel grounds.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I'm always concerned about booking a hotel that is ranked in the 30's on TripAdvisor, especially when the town probably doesn't even have 30 hotels in it, but Anchorage by the Sea was a really pleasant surprise. This was our second Halloween in Ogunquit. We stayed at a different property last year and could not get a room there this year. We remembered seeing Anchorage and it looks beautiful so we thought we would give it a try. We were in the upstairs studio king room which was absolutely beautiful. The room, because it is located on the front corner of the building, has 180 degree views of the ocean. The bathroom was huge with a jetted tub, separate shower, towel warmers and very clean.

The room itself was also very large. King bed, sitting area, work space, wet bar, nice sized closet. The room exceeded our expectations. It was very clean, too. We would suggest that you add luggage racks and coffee makers to every room. It is way too cold in Ogunquit to have to go outside for that first cup of coffee. And if you have a wet bar area, why not have a microwave too?

I found the staff to be helpful and attentive. When we needed towels, they brought towels. The room was cleaned. When we saw people in the hallways and main building they were always pleasant.

The property is right on the Marginal Way, which is one of the best things about Ogunquit, and is also steps off of Shore Road where all the fun happens.

No complaints about this property. They should be rated in the top ten of what is available in Ogunquit! We have already booked again for next year!

Room Tip: The website has a helpful interactive room map. Look at it to make sure you get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgpatlantatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went 2 weeks before Christmas last year. Prices were reasonable. The location is second to none! 5 minute walk to the "Front Porch Restaurant" where you can get some great food. You are next to the Marginal Way which is an ocean view walkway. Pure Maine. Unbelievable Beautiful. Great time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing