We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a place to sleep, it was great, but pricey!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchorage By the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Endicott, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For a place to sleep, it was great, but pricey!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The folks at the reservation desk made it easy for our family to reserve four rooms fairly close together on the "Port" side of the hotel. We appreciated the balcony as only one of the rooms was large enough to come close to accommodating us all for drinks before dinner, so we met up on the balcony most times prior to going out. We felt our room and, in particular, the bathroom were much too small to be truly comfortable.

The pool and hot tubs closed earlier than we would have liked, but security didn't mind when some of our kids were still in the hot tub quietly after hours, which was appreciated. We did not use the restaurant or bar (both closed too early for us), I can't comment on them.. overall, it was okay.. but not, for us, worth the high cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita4162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    299
    116
    40
    38
See reviews for
297
420
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is the best resort to stay in @ Ogunquit, it is right ON the Marginal way walkway and the views are breathtaking.They have lounger chairs spread out on their lawn facing the sea, which is great to lie down have a drink, read a book and relax in general.

The rooms are adequately spacious, 4 of us stayed in a room with 2 double beds and we were pretty comfortable- considering we were outside most of the time.

They have an indoor pool as well , which is a plus ! and they have some hot tubs - which are awesome.

The staff is friendly and helpful.

It is a short walk away from the beach and is flanked by restaurants.

We have stayed here twice already and would recommend it to everyone :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shets10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is our fifth time at the resort and each visit is nice and relaxing. We love it here but we have a small list of suggestions for the staff at anchorage by the sea. First could you raise the temp. In the indoor pool as with the two seater hot tub in the indoor area. Second could you put a microwave in the room. Third live entertainment would be fun. Fourth and final request is to not charge so much for the rooms during the spring/summer months. It's a wonderful all kept resort but these changes would make it more pleasurable. We love to visit the resort each year but it can get pricey. Understanding that it is beautiful with all the great things that need to be kept up maybe offer some package deal. Other than this we are grateful that we were able to book this year after year. My parents like that the bar had island oasis frozen drinks. The bar tender is good at his job and the conversations with him are never dull. Dining in their cafe can get expensive but great to have a cafe on site. Could upgrade the pillows they are to flat.

Room Tip: If you can book on the second floor by the ocean side. Great view we stayed in room 131 first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joecat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, ma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My family and I have visited the anchorage a few times, the location cant be beat, close proximity to town , restaurants, beach, perkins cove etc. We havent eaten at their restaurant, but frozen drinks were good. Had an oceanfront room which was nicely remodeled and decorated. Indoor and outdoor pool are great for the family and lots of fun to just hang out on their chairs and look at the beach. Were able to walk marginal way too. Overall lots of amenities, friendly staff, we are looking forward to staying again hopefully this summer.

Room Tip: get an oceanfront room if you can swing it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

My sister and best friend recently visited the Anchorage for a girls getaway. We had an incredible time!! We were all celebrating our birthday, and the trip was beyond perfection! Everything was amazing! We enjoyed the beautiful views, the fantastic room, the friendly staff and the fantastic pool and lawn area overlooking the ocean! I cannot say enough about the Anchorage, a gem for sure and I cannot wait to return!! Wish we could make it again this summer!!

Room Tip: Second floor has better views of ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peanutboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We just returned from an overnight at the Anchorage. Our room was in the starboard section "beach" view. The actual room view was exactly as the website showed it, beautiful. Our room was just remodeled with new bathroom that had a classy beach look, new carpeting, totally new bed and stylish bedding, flat screen tv and cozy lighting. We were very pleased.
The grounds are glorious and perfectly manicured.
There is a restaurant on site that was very convenient and the view is really nice with the lawn and ocean view.
We hope to return before the end of the season.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Ruth N,

Thank you so much for your review here on TripAdvisor! We always love hearing positive feedback from our guests. I would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage By the Sea during your trip to Ogunquit. We greatly appreciate your patronage.

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about our newly renovated rooms. It is wonderful to hear our guests are happy with them.

We would love to welcome you back before the end of the season. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Until then enjoy the rest of the Spring and take care.

Warm Wishes,
Christin R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Anchorage By the Sea was more than I expected. The views are fantastic! The recently renovated rooms in the Starboard building are beautiful. The employees (everyone from pool attendants, restaurant servers, bartenders, desk help and maid service were extremely friendly. This location is within walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Best of all the Marginal Way was right in front of the Hotel and was a beautiful walk to Perkins Cove. I will return again!

Room Tip: My room was on the 1st floor. Try to get one on the 2nd floor for better views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Michelle L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor! We greatly appreciate all of your positive feedback. I would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your trip to Ogunquit. We greatly appreciate your feedback.

It sounds like you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Your comments are exactly the feedback we love to hear! Thank you for all of your kind words about our property. I am happy to hear we provided you with such a great experience.

Again, thank you for your review. We truly hope we get to see you again on a future trip to Ogunquit. Enjoy the rest of your Spring and take care!

Kind Wishes,
Christin R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Property: The Anchorage By the Sea
Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing