We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in one of the buildings across the street from the main inn. We had a king bed and a fireplace..the room was spotless and very well done!! The staff was friendly!! The resturant was awesome!! The staff there was also really nice and helpfull. i cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tunare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Tunare,

Thank you so much for such warm comments about our rooms and services. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful overall experience with us at the Anchorage. We truly value our friendly front desk staff and our fabulous housekeeping team that keep our rooms looking so clean! We are definitely very lucky to be working with such a great staff.

Thank you for your post and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Wishes and Happy Holidays!

Megan R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
There are newer reviews for The Anchorage By the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

We've been staying in Ogunquit for several years, as part of our annual Fall trek through the New England states. Due to unusual, last-minute circumstances, this year we had to travel at different week and therefore were unable to stay at our usual hotel/inn. We were fortunate enough to secure a reservation at "Anchorage By The Sea". Everything was wonderful from beginning to end, and the staff was great. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winterbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Winterbon,

Thank you for your pleasant review on Tripadvisor! We are glad you took the chance to stay with us, and are thrilled that you enjoyed your time here at the Anchorage. We truly enjoy seeing new faces around the Inn and look forward to your return.

Best wishes and happy holidays!

Megan R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We just arrived home from our long weekend in Maine at the Anchorage By the Sea in Ogunquit. The property is beautiful, well maintained, and immaculate. The view from our room was of the Ogunquit beach and was quite breathtaking. Unfortunately, the cars in the parking lot would sometimes block our view. The employees were polite, helpful, and very friendly. We especially liked the bartender, a former high school principal. We enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant on site twice. We have only two complaints. We could not lower the temperature in our room. We would wake up in the middle of the night and the thermastat would read 78 degrees, even after we had tried to set the temp to 68. Secondly, the towels were both thin and rough. A little fabric softener would have helped a lot. Our overall impression was that of a very pleasant resort. We would return, given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibraryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear LibraryLady,

Thank you for your kind review of our amenities and staff! We always love to hear about aspects of our hotel that our guests enjoy. We are also happy to hear that you met our friendly bartender, Bob. He is a wonderful part of the Anchorage family. We hope that you will return and enjoy the additions to our restaurant in the coming year.

We do apologize that you found the pool towels to be uncomfortable. We have since informed our housekeeping department of your concern, it is certainly something we will look into.

Thank you for your post, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes and Happy Holidays!

Megan R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We recently stayed at Anchorage in Ogunquit, Maine and were dissappointed. We specified that we required WiFi and ended up with a room with no WiFi. In addition, air conditioning shuts down if outside temp is 50 degrees or lower (so we found out), and our room temp rose to 80 degrees overnight - very uncomfortable for sleeping. The office suggested we leave our windows open, but we were on the ground floor and were uncomfortable doing that for security reasons. Our stay fell far short of expectation for this type of resort with such a lovely location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mitchell Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Mitchell Z,

We are sorry to receive your review. We apologize you were unhappy with your stay with us. We would like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage on your trip to Ogunquit. We appreciate your patronage.

All of our guests receive complimentary WiFi during their stay with us. During your stay, you called our front desk and explained you could not get on the WiFi network from your room. We immediately sent over our front desk manager to test the WiFi. He was able to get on the network in the room next to yours as well as right outside of your room. We also reset the network just to be sure. After all of this was done, you said everything was fine and it seemed like the problem had been fixed. We are confused why you are now saying you had a room with no WiFi when in fact, you did.

We apologize you had trouble with your AC unit. As far as the units are concerned they are completely controlled by the guest in each room. If you set the unit on heat at a certain temperature, it will maintain that setting only using the heat. If you set it to cool at a certain temperature, it will only use the AC to maintain that room setting. When put the unit on auto, it will fluctuate from heat to air conditioning depending on what temperature you set it at. In your case, it sounds like you had the unit set to auto which is why the heat was kicking on when your room temperature dropped.

Again, we apologize you were disappointed with your stay with us. We wish you nothing but the best on your future travels. Enjoy the rest of your fall and take care.

Best Regards,
The Anchorage Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were in Ogunquit, ME for Columbus week-end. We stayed 3 nights in The Anchorage By the Sea hotel and as usual we asked for a room in The Towers section of the hotel. The location is great as it is only few minutes away from downtown restaurants and boutiques, beach, and the fabulous Marginal Way. Staff is very welcoming and Carlito, our room attendant was always very pleasant and efficient. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable - although it is on the other side of the street we had an ocean view from our room. Beautiful newly renovated outdoor pool area, you will also find a great location in the back of the hotel to enjoy the beautiful ocean view. As per the restaurant of the hotel, we had breakfast there everyday - again the terrace restaurant offers a great view of the ocean and the price are fare. We certainly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a nice, quiet and welcoming stay in Ogunquit.

Room Tip: If you decide to go in the Towers section ask for the 3rd floor room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealDreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear MontrealDreamers,

Thank you for your warm comments about our property and amenities! We appreciate your feedback, and are always looking for ways to better your experience here at the Anchorage.

We will definitely pass along your compliments to Carlito. We are grateful to have such talented and friendly staff. We are also excited about our new pool area! It was certainly popular this past summer, and with our restaurant addition happening over the winter, we are hopeful for another fun summer in 2013!

Again, thank you for your post and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best wishes and Happy Holidays!

Megan R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our first time here. A friend recommended it. We staed in the Lighthouse building. It's across the street from the ocean, the room was nice, clean, and the bed was super comfortable. We paid $219.00 a night for Columbus weekend. This is the perfect spot to walk places. Just keep you car there. The Trolley was nice $1.50 pp cash. Runs till 8pm. The pool was clean and nice the hot tub was clean. They do have a restaurant on the site but it was a very expensive with a limited menu.
Overall, I would definatly stay here again and recommend this place to people!

Room Tip: The Lighthouse rooms and the Towers are across the street from the main hotel, they are less expensi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pugmum15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Vacationer1115,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our property and feedback about our menu! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our precious seaside town. We are currently in the midst of renovating our restaurant and updating our menu. We hope that it will provide a wider variety that appeals to more of our guests, and perhaps you can offer more comments upon your return to Ogunquit.

Again, thank you so much for your post, and we hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes and Happy Holidays!

Megan R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our second time here. Loved it. Park your car and leave it for the the duration. Walk to everything. Located right on Marginal Way, and just a few blocks to the Main Street. Located right on the ocean. Beautiful indoor and outdoor pool and hot tubs. Rooms were clean and ample. Staff was polite. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for room with ocean view. However they are hard to get.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xenatravels39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Xenatravels39,

Thank you so much for your review here on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback. I would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage on your trip to Ogunquit. We greatly appreciate your patronage.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your many kind compliments on our location, rooms, pools and staff. We always love receiving positive feedback from our guests. I am happy to hear you found you never needed your car once you arrived at the Anchorage. Our great location is certainly one of our property's many great features.

We truly hope to see you again soon. Please come back and visit us again. We would love to welcome you back! Have a wonderful fall and take care.

Best Wishes,
Christin R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,027 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#17 of 36 in Ogunquit
413 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $138 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing