We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Anchorage By the Sea
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2007

We visited the Anchorage during the week in mid-October and although the town was quiet, the Anchorage was still decked out in extensive Holloween decorations and very tastefully done gardens and displays. The hotel/motel is exceptional in the investment its made in its clubhouse-like front desk/pool building. Because it was off season, there was no shortage of maintenance personnel busily working on painting and details. It was all very impressive. The location, of course is very, desirable on the marginal way and in the middle of town. So while the town was very quiet with few people around, the hotel and its staff were very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our relaxing stay very much.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
There are newer reviews for The Anchorage By the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

942 - 948 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2007

We have stayed at the Anchorage for the past three years. The grounds are beautiful, two pools, three jacuzzi's, wading pool, as well as the spectacular views. The first two years the rooms were nothing special, but this year there were definite signs of improvement. To start the small bathrooms were expanded, that is the sinks were moved into the bathroom, with new shower heads, toilets, and granite countertops on the sinks. The rooms gained new televisions, new dressers, tables and brown wicker chairs. The beds also seemed more comfortable than before. In my opinion, the hotel has finally lived up to its reputation. It's magnificent grounds are now complemented with great rooms. Definitely recommend this room, and am going back next Columbus Day weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Monte276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

This is the fourth year in a row we have stayed at the Anchorage. I love it. Our room was clean and recently " redone". The views are spectacular. Admittedly, the walls are a little thin and it is a bit noisy but if you are having a good time this really is a very small annoyance. We are going again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Suzyd090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Please beware if you stay at the Anchorage by the Sea-Towers. This is a section across the street with no view of the ocean. We were upset that there was no view, but knew that since it was the infamous "Anchorage by the Sea," we would have a great room. WRONG!!! I've stayed in better rooms at a Motel 6!!! The room smelled like a basement. The TV was circa 1990 and very small. The carpet had spots. And wouldn't you think that after having your clothes in luggage, you'd need an iron. Not at the ABTS Towers....no ironing board or iron.

I'm sure the regular part of the hotel by the ocean is beautiful and we would have loved to have been moved there or originally booked there, but neither were done.

Stayed: September 2007
6  Thank jhart88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

The Anchorage by the Sea is quite simply a phenomenal hotel!!!
I had the privelege of staying there this past week and it was a true pleasure.

The room was comfortable, close to the coast (in the "shore" section), and superbly clean. The cafe, which is counter service for breakfast and lunch with table service for dinner, was delightful. We had fresh baked muffins and great coffee for breakfast. There are two pools, one indoor one out, a wading pool that looks like a pair of spectacles with a sprinkler fountain on one side and two jacuzzis.

The staff was professional, knowledgeable, curteous and warm. They recommended MC's at Perkins Cove for dinner and I was not disappointed. If you go try the Calamari it is top notch.

The Anchorage is directly on the Marginal Way conveniently located between the village center and Perkins Cove. I could not have asked for a better locale!!!

Several of the other guests had visited the local playhouse, which was featuring "Hairspray". I unfortunately did not have time to see it, but the consensus was that it was as good as any production on Broadway. Incidentally, the Ogunquit Playhouse is celebrating its 75th season.

All in all it was a superb trip to an idyllic village staying at a phenomenal hotel; I highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OneWellTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

This hotel understands customer service and how to serve the group motorcoach market. Professionalism and hospitality from arrival to departure...beautiful location, excellent accommodations, great swimming pools and efficient luggage handling. Bravo...I can't wait to bring another group to the Anchorage.

Sharon Koning
President
Koning DayTours, Inc
Rochester, NY

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tourwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

This is definitely a family friendly place, which means it is overrun with kids...fine, but if you're just a couple it is a little too much, as they're everywhere, yelling, taking over the pool, etc.,
The walls must be made out of cardboard...this is the noisiest room I've been in in a long time. Footsteps, plumbing, voices, TV...you hear everything, so either bring sleeping pills or prepare to get 5-6 hours of sleep if you're a light sleeper.
The place itself is very nice, but could use a restaurant....no big deal tho cause there are so many to choose from just down the road. I liked the free wireless internet and the full bar in the pool area.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gtrplyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,030 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#17 of 36 in Ogunquit
415 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $138 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
The Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing