We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect-comfy and pampered!”
Review of Hartwell House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hartwell House Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabeth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect-comfy and pampered!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Hartwell House B & B was the perfect stay for a perfect visit. The Perkins Cove/Ogunquit area of Southern Maine is enticing, romantic and beautiful. Our stay left nothing to be desired.
Prime location between the cove and it's shops and restaurants, and the town of Ogunquit with it's sandy beach. The walk along Marginal Way's shoreline takes you from glorious rocky shores to
sun tan sand. It was our BRIGADUNE.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDF527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
"Glorious rocky shores to sun tan sand" along the Marginal Way in Ogunquit. Charlene and I never tire of walking through this charming town! You should see it today - with the sun shining and all of the spring leaves and flowers blooming! Stunning!

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about The Hartwell House Inn - and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit through Ogunquit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    19
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
289
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We just visited the Hartwell House Inn for the second time, and it continues to be one of the best get-away experiences I've had. The property is relaxing, immaculately kept, and has two of the best inn-keepers that an establishment could possibly have. Charlene and Eric make you feel like you never left your own living room. They are beyond friendly, accommodating, and when you leave you will feel like they instantly became your best friends. From Eric's freshly cooked 4 course dinner, or the daily cooked to order breakfast, to the daily tea time baked goods Charlene makes...you will absolutely need to take a walk on the beautiful Marginal Way (which is a quick walk away). Cannot wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for all of the kindness in taking a few moments to share your Hartwell House Inn experience with the Tripadvisor community!

We love when our new guests enjoy their Hartwell House getaways so much that they quickly become repeat guests!

And we absolutely agree about the 'necessity' of walking the Marginal Way while visiting Ogunquit. Charlene and I walk the path just about every evening - and in all seasons - and it's never the same twice, but always breathtaking!

Looking forward to seeing you back at The Hartwell House Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is everything that you could hope to experience in a bed and breakfast. The rates are reasonable, the rooms are a comfortable size the breakfasts are amazing!! The innkeepers are very friendly-it feels like you are visiting relatives that you really like. Treat yourself!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhtraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent experiences at The Hartwell House Inn - and we're very happy to see mention of our "wonderful breakfasts" in the headline of your review!

Charlene and I always work to take full advantage of seasonal and local ingredients in creating our breakfast menus (which change daily) - and when the quality of our breakfasts are weighed along with the the ideal location of The Hartwell House Inn (right near Perkins Cove and The Marginal Way Cliff Walk), the comfort and decor of our rooms, and everything the Ogunquit has to offer - it all works together to create vacation and getaway experiences not soon to be forgotten.


We look forward to seeing both of you back again sometime in the very near future!!! Call us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at the Hartwell House celebrating our 49th anniversary - what a wonderful experience! The inn itself is beautiful, elegant and in a great location - walking distance to so many Ogunquit attractions - the Marginal Way, Perkins Cove and the shops and great restaurants in town. But the best part was our hosts, Charlene and Eric. From the moment we arrived, Charlene was so welcoming and kind and gracious and Eric made our checking in and getting settled so smooth. They were kind enough to provide us with champagne and snacks for our anniversary celebration and shared great stories about the inn and local places. The breakfasts made by Eric were so very creative and absolutely yummy - it was like dining in an elegant hotel, only much more fun and relaxed! Being there was like staying with family and we will definitely be going back (sooner than later). Thank you, Charlene and Eric, for an excellent visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank denise22765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
One of the great things about being an Innkeeper, is the gift of being able to bring joy and memories into the lives of our guests who have chosen our property as the home base from which to celebrate their special moments and milestones - and a 49th Anniversary is certainly cause to celebrate!!!

Thank you for the kind words, and making a point to emphasize that our Breakfasts are like "dining in an elegant hotel, only much more fun and relaxed". As B&B travelers, ourselves - Charlene and I put in lots of effort create the experience we always hope to find on our excursions - and attention to detail during relaxed (but exquisite) breakfasts, always made with a nod towards local and seasonal ingredients, is something that we take personal pride in - and a major factor adding to the value proposition of a Hartwell House Inn stay.

Can't wait to see you two back again on your next visit through Ogunquit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was our first visit to the Hartwell House and hope to enjoy many more. What a fantastic experience. I picked this bed and breakfast because of the ideal location, Valentine’s weekend package and great reviews on Tripadvisor. Right from the moment my wife and I checked-in and was greeted by Charlene I knew we picked the right place. The innkeepers are amazing, they keep ever guest happy and satisfied. My wife has Celiac (gluten allergy), they accommodated everything from the tea time snacks, cook to-order breakfast (it is not often my wife gets good freshly made gluten free waffles) and the Valentine 4 course dinner. This was a great place for a weekend getaway. Our deluxe room was very comfortable and had enough room to spread out. The location is prefect with plenty of restaurants and Marginal Way in walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cucch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We're very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the exclusive Valentine's Dinner Getaway we put together - and thrilled to have you mention, for the benefit of those planning their trips on Tripadvisor, our ideal location on Shore Road near Perkins Cove!

We are always willing an able to work with guests who have dietary restrictions - and it warms us to hear that your wife enjoyed the cuisine accommodations we made to help her enjoy her breakfasts and Valentine's lobster dinner!

We enjoyed getting to know both of you - and look forward to visiting with you again during a future stay at our property! Call us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We always enjoy an excellent stay and this weekend was no exception. The room was fantastic and the food was five star all weekend, from the breakfasts to Valentine dinner. The innkeepers are gracious, considerate, and anticipate the needs of guests every step of the way - we look forward to seeing them every time. We love the setting, which adds extra ambiance since it's just a short walk to the beach. We've visited a few times over the past year and can't wait to return - with friends next time!

Room Tip: Loved them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We really enjoyed have you two as our guests for The Hartwell House Inn Valentines Weekend Dinner Getaway - what a memorable weekend. Excellent conversation, a warm inn near the Maine coast, lots of Ogunquit lobster...

Can't wait to see you two back on property (and meet some of your friends!!!)

Thanks, again, for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

What are the chances of finding a perfect inn in a perfect coastal town? Well, we feel like we won the lottery on this one! The Hartwell House in Ogunquit, Maine is the winning ticket.

We visited last September and found the Hartwell House located on a "Norman Rockwell" street. It is an easy walk to Perkins Cove and Marginal Way (one of our favorite walks along the coast, reminding us of Rockport's Garden Path and Newport's Cliff Walk.). The innkeepers, Charlene and Eric, were friendly, knowledgeable, and willing to track down the answer to any question. (They do all this without hovering or inserting themselves into your stay...a great talent.)

My husband and I have visited Ogunquit three other times, but never had as charming and special an experience. We loved the inn's location. We loved the romantic room with all its windows, small but convenient kitchen, and its own entryway. The back yard is peaceful; the front yard a people watchers' haven.

One of our favorite moments and favorite photos is the two of us eating fresh and inexpensive lobster on the outdoor patio. We "caught" it ourselves....by walking right next door to the sweet little lobster take-out place. We didn't take it far at all.....just a dozen steps across the lawn to the H.H. Inn.

Charlene and Eric helped make our anniversary trip a lovely one, and were thoughtful in giving us a cold bottle of champagne to celebrate. Our next will be #24. We'll be back, if not in 2014, then soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking a few moments to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor review of The Hartwell House Inn. "What are the chances of finding a perfect inn in a perfect coastal town?" This made us so happy to hear. Charlene and I feel the same way about our "Norman Rockwell street" - so beautiful during any season of the year!

We enjoyed playing a role in helping you celebrate your anniversary in a memorable way, and we look froward to your return! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House Inn

Property: Hartwell House Inn
Address: 312 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartwell House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartwell House Inn invites you to enter a world of tranquility and classic elegance. Our air conditioned rooms, suites and studios are furnished with early American and English waxed pine antiques. Some rooms have decks, kitchenettes and/or separate sitting rooms...Ideal for weekly vacation rentals. All of our accommodations have flat-screen televisions. As part of making your stay an enjoyable experience, we serve a bountiful breakfast that is entirely homemade and prepared fresh daily, as is our afternoon tea and sweets. The Hartwell House is surrounded by an expansive acre of lawn with a lily pond framed with gardens. The Inn is only steps from the picturesque Perkins Cove harbor, the quaint village center and the Marginal Way, a winding footpath that traverses along the rocky edge of southern Maine's Atlantic coast. A beautiful 3-1/2 mile pristine white sandy beach is less than a mile away which is accessible by either walking or utilizing the trollies that stop near the Inn every 15 minutes. Our staff functions as a solid team and our goal is to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable experience. Our conference and function center offers conference rooms accommodating up to 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hartwell House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing