We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once Again”
Review of Hartwell House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hartwell House Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Once Again”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We recently returned from our stay at the Hartwell House. Once again, we were truly amazed at the wonderful experience. Not only are the rooms everything you could ask for, but the food is amazing. The innkeepers, Charlene and Eric, go above and beyond to be sure everyone is comfortable, well fed, and having a wonderful relaxing time. Hartwell House is always on our list of "Must Stay Again" places. Thank you to both of them and the wonderful staff that makes our stay like being at home with the benefits of being treated like royalty!!

Room Tip: Any room you stay in is beautiful but we prefer House II which is across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitz644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
"Hartwell House is always on our list of "Must Stay Again" places" -- reading this portion of your review makes us very happy. We always enjoy when you two visit The Hartwell House, and have welcomed the opportunity of getting to know you as more than just guests...making new friends is one of the great joys we have as innkeepers! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    20
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
294
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have spent several September weekends at this lovely property. Charlene and Eric, the new inn keepers, sincerely love what they do, and it shows. The attention to exquisite detail was evident, and they make it look so easy. I threw my self a 60th celebration and invited my sisters. Upon arrival, we enjoyed a glass of wine while admiring artist Mary Byron's art work in the beautiful back lawn with a lovely lily pond pool and waterfall. Our room was elegant and I felt like a queen. Eric's blueberry pancakes were absolutely amazing, and I predict that they will become legendary!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnneKBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for your review! It instantly brought back memories of that incredible weekend! We love planning little extras and unexpected special events for our guests - and on this particular weekend, we arranged to have acclaimed artist, Mary Byrom, painting, meeting and greeting during a wine and cheese reception in our beautiful backyard!

And if you liked our Blueberry Sunday pancakes, you'd really enjoy our latest seasonal creation - The Great Pumpkin Pancakes - check out our Facebook page to see some images!

Looking forward to seeing you again during your next trip through Ogunquit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Having had a tough first half of the year, we and some friends of ours, decided to have a brief get-away to Ogunquit, Me. TripAdvisor has become my "bible" of sorts, for get-aways. I have had very good luck planning trips through the advice of other travelers. Not once have I been steered wrong. The Hartwell House was all and more than the TripAdvisor ratings/comments. The grounds were beautiful...what a setting for a special occassion! We enjoyed the festive decor for the fall and the tasteful and beautiful antiques that were throughout the house. Our rooms were beautifully decorated, as well, and very clean. The location was perfect for us...about half-way between everything....the village and the Marginal Way. The innkeepers were friendly and extremely welcoming..we were given mimosas to celebrate one of our birthdays and just the mention of how good the cookies were, gave us a parting gift of a baggie full of cookies for our ride back home. We felt like we had made some new friends. We will not hesitate to return or to tell our friends about our wonderful get-away at the Hartwell House.

Room Tip: We had the York room, which was in the front of the house. It was a very spacious room with a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We appreciate all of the kind words you shared regarding your visit to The Hartwell House Inn! We pride ourselves on creating a true celebration of the seasons with our decorations and breakfast/tea selections! And we absolutely cherish the opportunity to heighten the celebration of special moments for our guests - birthdays, anniversaries, significant milestones! We look forward to your next visit to The Hartwell House Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hartwell House for a friend's wedding. Upon arrival, the staff was very professional and friendly. The innkeepers, Charlene and Eric went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and having a good time. Each room was amazingly decorated with antiques and vintage items and kept very clean. The breakfast was delicious and fast service. The hotel is walking distant to many shops and the ocean. A must stay if visiting southern Maine!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Hartwell House Inn!

We had a fun time with you and everyone else who was visiting for the wedding!

Hope to see you return to The Hartwell House Inn during your next trip to Ogunquit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My Husband and I just got married on Saturday in Ogunquit and we booked the inn for ourselves and our wedding guests. From the time we reached out to Charlene and Erick to book the inn until the time we checked out, it was a PERFECT experience. The guests couldn't get over how beautiful their rooms were. Each one had its own personality and charm. The honeymoon suite was unbelievable! A huge jacuzzi tub, dressing room, romantic bedroom, outdoor patio, huge living room and a large kitchen.
The location is ideal- 3 minute walk to Perkin's Cove and a 7 minute walk to Ogunquit Center. The backyard of the inn is a hidden gem! Right along the Josias River, there are large shady tress, places to sit with a glass of wine and gardens to wander in. Not to mention the sitting rooms throughout the inn are so comfortable and cozy, whether it's relaxing on the sun porch or cozying up to the fire place, the Hartwell House has it all!
Charlene and Eric are so friendly and their attention to detail ensuring their guests leave feeling like family. Breakfast was incredible- Something out of a magazine! Fresh flowers on the table and homemade cookies at tea time. Honestly, I have never felt so taken care of at an Inn before. It turned out to be one of the best parts of our wedding weekend and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mekah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
" I have never felt so taken care of at an Inn before. It turned out to be one of the best parts of our wedding weekend and we can't wait to go back! "

Reading this part of your incredibly warm review makes us very happy. As innkeepers at The Hartwell House Inn, this is the level of guest experience that we aim to create!

We had so much fun getting to know you two - and your family and friends - and we were excited to serve as the home base for your romantic Ogunquit destination wedding!

We love the idea that your experience at The Hartwell House Inn will forever remain an important part of the memories of one of the most meaningful days of your life!

We enjoyed serving you your first breakfast as husband and wife - and we are looking forward to seeing you back on the property again as soon as you get a chance to return!

Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightwaters, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hartwell House for a friend's wedding. This was my first ever stay at a Bed and Breakfast, anywhere! I have to admit, I was a little apprehensive of what to expect … I always had the feeling that it would be uncomfortable, but I was very wrong. The Innkeepers, Charlene and Eric were outstanding. They were so welcoming and made our stay a delight. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of our suite (we stayed in the James Monroe room and it was stunning!) We were there for 3 nights, which means we were able to partake in 3 delicious breakfasts. I’d like to consider myself a foodie and the breakfast was outstanding … plenty of choices and just the right amount, I never left hungry! Can’t wait to plan my next trip to the Hartwell House! Thank you Charlene and Eric!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBrownyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Any time we have the opportunity to expose a first time B&B guest to the experience - we LOVE it! Many people have preconceived notions about what to expect during a bed and breakfast stay (overbearing innkeepers, too close for comfort with the other guests, shared washrooms) - and one stay at The Hartwell House Inn is usually all it takes to win them over as B&B aficionados for life. We always give our guests the privacy and space they are seeking - we make ourselves easy to find when we're needed, and we stay in the background when we're not. All of our rooms are filled with antiques, decorations and other flourishes you would be unlikely to find in a regular hotel chain. Plus all of our rooms have flat screen televisions and private washrooms. And the breakfasts!!! As you saw yourself, the full breakfasts we serve at The Hartwell House Inn truly set us apart from most of our competitors - multiple choices every morning, an emphasis on fresh, local and seasonal ingredients, and plenty of room/seating to have a quiet and romantic breakfast on our sun-porch at a table alone with your loved one!

Thanks so much for being our guest at The Hartwell House Inn - and for sharing your review here on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We took over the entire inn this past weekend for my best friend's wedding. I can't say enough about what an incredible stay we had; thanks to the exceptional service Charlene and Eric provide. They are simply wonderful people who embrace everything there is to love about New England!

Our suite was heavenly; and the whole property was well-maintained both in and outdoors. Our dining experience was also a delight - we loved the food, the warm inviting atmosphere and the friendly faces. Location was very convenient, also; as we were within walking distance of several shops, restaurants and entertainment. As guests of the wedding we had a great experience - but after witnessing the royal treatment given to our bride and groom I cannot wait to return for a romantic weekend with my husband! Thank You for everything :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jularie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for the kindness of your review! What a fun weekend that was! And we love being able to play such a major role in the destination weddings that bring friends and families together in Ogunquit!

Here at The Hartwell House Inn, we pride ourselves on creating the perfect atmosphere for a romantic Ogunquit getaway! New England is a romantic place, especially in the autumn - and we are always excited to share everything we love about Southern Maine with our guests!

Give us a call as soon as you're ready for that romantic weekend with your husband! Ogunquit is beautiful in the winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
1.3 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
545 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,025 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
445 reviews
1.0 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House Inn

Property: Hartwell House Inn
Address: 312 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartwell House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartwell House Inn invites you to enter a world of tranquility and classic elegance. Our air conditioned rooms, suites and studios are furnished with early American and English waxed pine antiques. Some rooms have decks, kitchenettes and/or separate sitting rooms...Ideal for weekly vacation rentals. All of our accommodations have flat-screen televisions. As part of making your stay an enjoyable experience, we serve a bountiful breakfast that is entirely homemade and prepared fresh daily, as is our afternoon tea and sweets. The Hartwell House is surrounded by an expansive acre of lawn with a lily pond framed with gardens. The Inn is only steps from the picturesque Perkins Cove harbor, the quaint village center and the Marginal Way, a winding footpath that traverses along the rocky edge of southern Maine's Atlantic coast. A beautiful 3-1/2 mile pristine white sandy beach is less than a mile away which is accessible by either walking or utilizing the trollies that stop near the Inn every 15 minutes. Our staff functions as a solid team and our goal is to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable experience. Our conference and function center offers conference rooms accommodating up to 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hartwell House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing