We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A destination wedding MUST!”
Review of Hartwell House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hartwell House Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We took over the entire inn this past weekend for my best friend's wedding. I can't say enough about what an incredible stay we had; thanks to the exceptional service Charlene and Eric provide. They are simply wonderful people who embrace everything there is to love about New England!

Our suite was heavenly; and the whole property was well-maintained both in and outdoors. Our dining experience was also a delight - we loved the food, the warm inviting atmosphere and the friendly faces. Location was very convenient, also; as we were within walking distance of several shops, restaurants and entertainment. As guests of the wedding we had a great experience - but after witnessing the royal treatment given to our bride and groom I cannot wait to return for a romantic weekend with my husband! Thank You for everything :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jularie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for the kindness of your review! What a fun weekend that was! And we love being able to play such a major role in the destination weddings that bring friends and families together in Ogunquit!

Here at The Hartwell House Inn, we pride ourselves on creating the perfect atmosphere for a romantic Ogunquit getaway! New England is a romantic place, especially in the autumn - and we are always excited to share everything we love about Southern Maine with our guests!

Give us a call as soon as you're ready for that romantic weekend with your husband! Ogunquit is beautiful in the winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 420 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hartwell House Inn for a friend's wedding weekend and we had the best experience! The innkeepers Charlene and Eric truly care about your experience and make sure you have everything you need. The location of the inn is perfect; within walking distance to downtown Ogunquit and area restaurants and shops! They have beautiful grounds with the option to play lawn games like Horseshoes or Croquet, with plenty of areas to just relax and enjoy the beautiful gardens. I highly recommend the Hartwell House Inn! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benters5248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience - and for highlighting a few of the many amenities available to guests who choose the Hartwell House Inn as their lodging choice while visiting Ogunquit!

We hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I surprised my husband with a trip to the hartwell house to get out of the heat of september in Florida. We couldn't have been happier with our choice of the hartwell house. The location was perfect. Nestled right between Ogunquit and Perkins cove. It was within walking distance of everything but a little quieter than being right in the center of town.

Charlene and Eric truly made it an unforgettable experience with their attention to every detail. The food was amazing and the yard was a place that you could truly relax and enjoy many activities such as croquet, horseshoes or just the new pond after a busy day of sightseeing and shopping.

We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

We really enjoyed the "secret trip" you surprised your husband with - such a memorable story! And such a lucky guy!

Thanks for your very kind review - and for sharing the convenience of our location and many of he other facets of your enjoyable stay at The Hartwell House Inn.

Give us a call next time you need to escape the Florida heat! Ogunquit is beautiful in the winter :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Hartwell House for a girl's weekend! She had never stayed at a bed and breakfast and was in love with the personal touches everywhere. We had a beautiful room with more amenities than I can name and a delicious home-made breakfast on Sunday morning. We also loved being able to park our car and walk to everything in Ogunquit Center and Perkins Cove and the Marginal Way. Thanks so much, Charlene and Eric, and we will be back soon!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brook N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

One of our favorite scenarios, here at The Hartwell House, is when we get to introduce first-timers to the B&B experience! We love hearing about how the experience challenged many of their preconceived notions and exceeded their expectations.

Thanks for partnering with us to expose your daughter to the bed and breakfast experience at The Hartwell House Inn!

We're very happy to hear that you'll be back soon! Call anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at the Hartwell House. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast inn before, but thought that it would be a nice and different place to stay for our 25th wedding anniversay. We picked the Hartwell House based on all the terrific reviews we read on the Trip Advisor site. And, I must say all the reviews are "spot on". The inn and the grounds are breathtaking. We stayed in the Polly Reid Room which was decorated beautifully and so, so clean - as is the entire inn. The afternoon tea and the delicious breakfasts were fabulous (the iced cinnamon rolls are to die for - great job Charlene!). Our inn keepers, Charlene and Eric, are pure naturals for this type of job - they were extremely gracious and so attentive! They even greeted us with a chilled bottle of champagne to help us celebrate our 25th. You can tell right away that this more than a job to them - they truly enjoy what they are doing and it shows in every detail they put into the inn, the wonderful food they serve and the way they treat their guests. We will definitely be back to stay at the Hartwell House. Again, Charlene and Eric thanks for everything - we truly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The Polly Reid room is a great choice for a special occassion. It is warm and romantic and the deep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfiore3788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

What a beautiful review! Thanks for taking the time to write it!

We were excited to be able to help you celebrate such a significant wedding anniversary milestone - and it humbles us that you chose The Hartwell House Inn as the place to do it! We know these are big decisions, that our guests are looking for places to stay which will add to the magic of their meaningful observances - and we always fully embrace the opportunity to exceed their expectations!

Gad to hear that you will definitely be back again! We'll be waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had the best birthday celebration thanks to Charlene and Eric and the Hartwell House. They made us feel so welcome and even surprised us with a bottle of chilled champagne. The House and grounds are beautiful and the amenities are outstanding (wonderful afternoon tea, breakfast cooked to order, great location. Can't wait to return there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norrisbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

We're always excited when we get the opportunity to help our guests celebrate the special moments in their lives - Birthdays, Weddings, Engagements, Babymoons, Anniversaries - or even well-deserved spontaneous romantic getaways! To us, this is what The Hartwell House Inn is about! We specialize in helping our guests create Ogunquit memories meaningful enough to last a lifetime!

Looking forward to seeing you back at The Hartwell House Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Thank You; Charlene & Eric
We had a amazing time, very filling homemade breakfasts ( will keep you full for a whole day at the beach). Afternoon teas; again with homemade pastries cherry peanut coconut balls, cranberry and blueberry muffins, and cookies. Gluten free also with Iced tea.

A great centralized point to reach all of the attractions; Perkins Cove, Marginal Way, within a five min walk. A trolly stop right out in front $1.50 to get to the beach or downtown.

The room spotless and comfortable, the grounds beautiful, old NEW England hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: From what I could see; and talking to other visitors, all the room are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

We take great pride in providing a superior brand of "old NEW England hospitality" - the comfort of our guests always comes first at The Hartwell House Inn!

Thanks for pointing out the convenience of our location in Ogunquit - TripAdvisor members researching their future getaways appreciate details like this - and we are thrilled to be able to offer them the perfect location where they can just park their car and not need to touch it again for the duration of their Ogunquit visit!

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#15 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,050 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
589 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 26 in Ogunquit
536 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House Inn

Address: 312 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: $207 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartwell House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartwell House Inn invites you to enter a world of tranquility and classic elegance. Our air conditioned rooms, suites and studios are furnished with early American and English waxed pine antiques. Some rooms have decks, kitchenettes and/or separate sitting rooms...Ideal for weekly vacation rentals. All of our accommodations have flat-screen televisions. As part of making your stay an enjoyable experience, we serve a bountiful breakfast that is entirely homemade and prepared fresh daily, as is our afternoon tea and sweets. The Hartwell House is surrounded by an expansive acre of lawn with a lily pond framed with gardens. The Inn is only steps from the picturesque Perkins Cove harbor, the quaint village center and the Marginal Way, a winding footpath that traverses along the rocky edge of southern Maine's Atlantic coast. A beautiful 3-1/2 mile pristine white sandy beach is less than a mile away which is accessible by either walking or utilizing the trollies that stop near the Inn every 15 minutes. Our staff functions as a solid team and our goal is to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable experience. Our conference and function center offers conference rooms accommodating up to 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hartwell House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing