We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hartwell House is Heaven!”
Review of Hartwell House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hartwell House Inn
Ranked #4 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Not enough words to describe just how fantastic our stay at the Hartwell House was last week! Charlene and Eric are the finest hosts ever! Their attention to detail and exceeding the expectations of their guests are uncanny! They are wonderful InnKeepers and we really enjoyed their kindness.
We will continue to stay here when we’re in Ogunquit as it is a great place to stay. It is clean, easy on the eyes, delicious breakfasts, very relaxing beautiful Inn. It’s location to Perkins Cove and the Marginal Way is so close and easy to walk to great restaurants like “That Place” and Jackies Too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your Hartwell House experience with other TripAdvisor members!

Thanks for being our guests - and we look forward to seeing you on a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 425 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hartwell House Inn in Oguinquit, Maine is a beautifully located, picturesque bed and breakfast in a charming little beach town. I stayed there recently on a mini vatcation with my sister and found it comfortable and elegant. The inn keepers Eric and Charlene were very friendly and did their best to make you feel welcome. The breakfast was sumptuous with home-baked muffins, and the afternoon tea a refreshing break, although not quite the English-style tea that the house was presumably trying to provide. The same could be said of the decor and furnishings. They did not quite pull off the Victorian period the house was supposed to re-create. The grounds are beautiful, especially the back yard which was an oasis of peace and greenery. Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay, although they could do a little more research to ensure that the afternoon tea experience is a little more in line with what one comes to associate with that very pleasant ritual. Not a complaint, just a suggestion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thanks, indeed, for the 5 star review and additional thoughts that you've taken the time to share regarding your recent stay at The Hartwell House Inn. We appreciate it!

We are very happy to hear that you found our Inn "comfortable and elegant" and that you enjoyed the "oasis of peace and greenery" which are our grounds.

It is true, our Inn is furnished with early American and English waxed pine antiques, but the essence we are aiming for is one of Whimsical Elegance, rather than an exact period replica. We strive to manifest an atmosphere of romance and imagination that our guests will feel comfortable and relaxed within.

This same philosophy carries through into our afternoon tea service - a break in the day when we serve a wide variety of hot teas (and some iced tea, as seasonally appropriate), fresh baked cookies, plus a cracker and cheese selection (complete with some fresh fruit).

We have designed our afternoon tea experience in such a way that it allows us the flexibility to offer special events during the time frame, such as live performances in our backyard gardens and relaxing solo musicians on our delightful sun porch. We like to keep it fluid, social and approachable, allowing us a level of flexibility that rigid historic (or geographic) reenactment would not easily accommodate.

Thanks, again, for choosing The Hartwell House Inn during your visit to Ogunquit - and we hope to see you back again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Refered by friends who when to Hartwell House a couple of times and whom love the place , we just enjoyed as well the place for the 3 nights we were there and wished we had more time to stay longer. The room was super clean with very warm decoration with access to a balcony over the vast garden at the rear. Service was very war with always a sincere smile and helpful for any questions . Very good breakfast and good choices. Calm and no noise around. Very convenient for restaurants and next to Perkins Cove. Will certainly go back for our next visit in Maine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edouard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

It is always such a delight for us to hear that our guests have discovered the experience of exquisite relaxation at The Hartwell House Inn - to us, that means we've accomplished our mission :-)

We're also pleased to hear that your friends referred you to our romantic Ogunquit Inn - please thanks them, again, for us!!!

It was a sincere pleasure having you as our guests - and we look forward to seeing you at The Hartwell House Inn, again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I decided to go to Maine for the weekend and after looking at quite a few B&Bs, I chose the Hartwell House. I couldn't have picked a better place. We stayed in a the Victoria's Garden room, which was one of the smaller sized rooms, but it was pretty big, had it's own entrance from the outside and included it's own kitchen. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the sheets were the softest sheets I'd ever slept in. The house itself was very beautiful and had a very nice garden outside with chairs where we sat and had some wine in the evening. The room with the fireplace was also very nice for sitting and enjoying some wine. The innkeepers were very friendly and seemed to care a lot about making sure we were enjoying our stay. The breakfasts were delicious and included homemade muffins, eggs any style, omelettes, french toast, and pancakes with fresh juice. They also served afternoon tea with homemade pastries (which were delicious) and cheese & crackers. The inn was in a perfect location, about a 2 minute walk to Perkin's Cove as well as the entrance to Marginal Way and about a mile from the beach. It was a perfect weekend and I couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

As innkeepers, nothing delights us more than to see our guests making use of the common areas and backyard gardens at The Hartwell House Inn. Smiles on faces. Holding hands. Sipping wine as each season slowly advances towards the next. Mindfully relaxing -- and we always make an effort to give relaxing guests the freedom of their own space. Our goal is to consistently be accessible when our guests are looking for us - and to consistently be invisible when they're doing fine on their own.

Give us a call whenever you're ready for a return visit to The Hartwell House Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our room was beautiful and very comfortable; the breakfast was absolutely delicious (those blueberry muffins!); and the Innkeepers, Eric & Charlene Taubert, outstanding with their truly genuine hospitality, ready smiles in spite of being so busy and our late arrival, and their desire to be of help. We loved our stay here at the Hartwell House Inn and this talented, talented young couple and could not recommend both more highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thanks for sharing the review of your recent Hartwell House Inn experience with the TripAdvisor community. It was a sincere pleasure getting to know both of you during your recent visit to Ogunquit - hope to see you return to The Hartwell House Inn on your next trip Southern Maine - call us anytime and we'll be sure to have those blueberry muffins that you enjoyed so much ready and waiting for your arrival!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our recent stay at the Hartwell House was perfect.Room very clean,food yummy and the staff was awesome.Location was great we parked and didnt use our car for 2 days.we hope to return to the area and will defiantly stay at the Hartwell House

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suetrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

We appreciate your taking the time to write a review about the details of your recent stay at The Hartwell House Inn B&B.

We're always pleased to hear how much guests love our location (just one block from Perkins Cove and The Marginal Way) - and the fact that they can arrive at our property, park the car -- and not have to drive for the remainder of their Ogunquit getaway.

Looking forward to seeing you back at The Hartwell House Inn during your next visit to Ogunquit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough about the warm and genuine service from the Inn Keepers Charlene and Eric and their staff! We just returned from a weekend getaway for our first anniversary and stayed at the Hartwell House. The grounds were absolutely gorgeous and as I said the service was fantastic. We stayed in the Polly Reed Suite and the room is just as advertised with deep purple colors making it feel very opulent and romantic.
We were even treated to an afternoon wine and cheese with a lovely concert by Jackie DiMaggio in the garden area to top off our anniversary!

We had dinner the first night at Katie's in Ogonquit after receiving a recommendation from the staff and we weren't disappointed. On our anniversary we had dinner at Joshua's in wells. The food there is amazing! The atmosphere is very quiet but upbeat and the staff super friendly(but isn't everyone in Maine?). It is a must visit for us when we are in this area of Maine!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank born2explore10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for the Tripadvisor review of The Hartwell House Inn.

That was definitely a fun weekend with the Jackie Dimaggio performance - and wine/cheese reception, in our expansive backyard. We know that you have lots of options for lodging in Ogunquit and the surrounding areas - and that's precisely why we always make the extra effort to be certain our guests are having an amazing time on our property! Planning special events with entertainment for our guests is just one of the ways we say "Thank You" for choosing The Hartwell House Inn!

Hope to see you back sometime in the (very near) future :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,055 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,053 reviews
1.2 mi away
Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 26 in Ogunquit
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House Inn

Address: 312 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: $206 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartwell House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartwell House Inn invites you to enter a world of tranquility and classic elegance. Our air conditioned rooms, suites and studios are furnished with early American and English waxed pine antiques. Some rooms have decks, kitchenettes and/or separate sitting rooms...Ideal for weekly vacation rentals. All of our accommodations have flat-screen televisions. As part of making your stay an enjoyable experience, we serve a bountiful breakfast that is entirely homemade and prepared fresh daily, as is our afternoon tea and sweets. The Hartwell House is surrounded by an expansive acre of lawn with a lily pond framed with gardens. The Inn is only steps from the picturesque Perkins Cove harbor, the quaint village center and the Marginal Way, a winding footpath that traverses along the rocky edge of southern Maine's Atlantic coast. A beautiful 3-1/2 mile pristine white sandy beach is less than a mile away which is accessible by either walking or utilizing the trollies that stop near the Inn every 15 minutes. Our staff functions as a solid team and our goal is to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable experience. Our conference and function center offers conference rooms accommodating up to 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Hartwell House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing