We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway 1 block from the sea, Marginal Way, & Perkins Cove in Ogunquit”
Review of Hartwell House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hartwell House Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went to the Ogunquit Chamber of Commerce & The Harwell House Inn was recommended by a lovely lady as a romantic getaway. As soon as we entered the inn & saw the smiling & friendly faces of the Inn keepers Charlene & Eric we knew we had made the right choice for our 25th Anniversary getaway to Ogunquit. We had our choice of rooms & decided on Lady Hamilton's Garden or as the inn keepers called it, "The Cape Cod Room." The room is furnished in white wicker furniture & even had a bonus kitchen to use, even though we didn't need it. The room also has it's own entrance. There are only 8 rooms at the main inn along with another 8 rooms across the street, so you feel like you are in someone's home.
The afternoon tea was another bonus, you could have hot tea or iced tea. It was a chance to meet other guests & enjoy the yummy chocolate cookies Charlene had made along with grapes crackers & cheese. We enjoyed our afternoon tea out in their lovely gardens. For breakfast we had our choice of Apple Pie Waffles, Omelet or eggs prepared how we wanted it, along with juice & coffee along with yummy homemade peach muffins that Charlene made & she even shared her recipe for them. I have since made the peach muffins at home & my family loves them.
Both inn keepers are awesome cooks. The Apple Pie Waffles were also tasty.
The inn is 1 block from Perkins Cove which has restaurants & shops and the start of Marginal Way ( a wonderful cliff walk along the ocean),
The innkeepers were very generous & even surprised us with a bottle of champagne for our Anniversary!!
You can park your car & just walk to everything. A AWESOME stay at the Harwell House Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel5bugEuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your TripAdvisor review (and photos) for our romantic Ogunquit bed and breakfast! We're excited to hear that the Ogunquit Chamber of Commerce sent you our way - with so many stellar lodging options available in Ogunquit, it's great to know that they are helping to spread the word about The Hartwell House!

We take a lot of pride in helping our guests celebrate the special milestones in their lives in ways they'll never forget - whether it's an anniversary (as in your case), a birthday, a personal celebration -- or even a well-deserved spontaneous romantic getaway!

We also appreciate that you have singled out the quality of our breakfast offerings and our incredible location just one block from Perkins Cove and the Marginal Way!

Hope to see you back at The Hartwell House Inn again, sometime in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 426 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I just spent two days at Hartwell House. My sister and her husband also stayed. We have been having a sisters vacation in Maine for about the past 5 years and always start it with a stay at Hartwell House. This year was the best stay largely due to the new managers. They could not have been more accommodating and have made some positive changes. They even had beach towels for our use. The location is perfect for exploring Ogunquit without needing your car. Close to the Marginal Way, Perkins Cove, shops, and restaurants. We can't wait return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krkupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thanks for your TripAdvisor review of the Hartwell House. We enjoyed having you as our guest - and we're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the time you spent at our Inn! Looking forward to your return to our Ogunquit B&B some time in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellent service, friendly staff. Both Eric and Charlene are friendly, nice and very accommodating.
The breakfast was delicious. Location unsurpassed, close enough to downtown Ogunquit, but quiet and close to Perkins Cove. What you encounter is even better than advertised in the website. Certainly going back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vas81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your Hartwell House experience with the TripAdvisor community. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The title sums up our 2 day stay at this fantastic inn run by Charlene and Eric, an extremely gracious,hospitable, and well-organized young couple. Despite the fact that my partner and I were in Ogunquit when the village was scorched by 90 degree temps and unusually high humidity, we had a marvelously relaxing time, thanks to the fact that we stayed at the Hartwell House..

We spent a lot of time in the spacious, beautiful (and beautifully air-conditioned!) covered porch/breakfast/common room, either partaking of the yummy breakfasts, lingering over afternoon tea (iced tea and coffee were served for the hot weather) highlighted by Charlene's special baked treats -- peanut butter chocolate squares to DIE for! --, or absorbed in a good book or magazine.

We booked the Polly Reed room, which was impeccably decorated, generously furnished (jacuzzi and walk-in shower included!) and (the point bears repeating, because it was infernally hot in Ogunquit!) wonderfully air-conditioned. Because of the temps, we couldn't take advantage of the nice balcony that overlooked the lovely, sizable garden on the properly, but we hope to do it next time.

What makes this place really special is that Charlene, Eric, and their staff have mastered the art of hospitality. Even BOOKING the room was an enjoyable experience, because I phoned about the rooms and ended up having a lovely conversation with Charlene. Service-with-a-smile prevails here. The smiles were genuine; these people truly seem to get a kick from guaranteeing that their guests are having a blissful stay! And the service was, well, perfect -- solicitous, but not obtrusive. While seated in the comfy common/breakfast room(see above), my partner said to me, "You feel so cared for here, don't you?" Yup, we certainly felt cared for.

Do treat yourself to a stay here, and be refreshed and looked after.

Thank you so very much for your hospitality, Charlene, Eric, and the staff of the Hartwell House! (And a special thank you to Michaela for her lemonade iced-teas, which were exactly what the doctor ordered on 2 hot Ogunquit afternoons!). We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Polly Reed room has a very nice jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeregrineNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric T, General Manager at Hartwell House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Such a pleasure to have had you as our guests at The Hartwell House Inn...and thank you for the kind words about your visit!

We always appreciate when someone takes the time to share their experience at our Inn for the benefit of future guests.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We just completed one of our most memorable 4th of July celebrations. From the moment we pulled into the parking lot we were treated like royalty by the innkeepers, Eric, Charlene and their staff. Their friendly, warm and accommodating manner made us feel comfortable and at home. Our room was immaculate, the grounds were beautiful, and the breakfasts were delicious. We love the location of the Hartwell House because we could walk to do everything we wanted to do. We did not move our car for 4 days! We had such a great experience, that before we left, we booked another getaway weekend later this summer for ourselves and we also booked a room for our friends. Can't wait to get back for our next visit. Every inn should have innkeepers like Eric and Charlene. They are the best! Rich & Di

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This past weekend, my wife and I made a last minute trip up to Maine and found the Hartwell House Inn to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. While taking the tour with both Eric and Charlene gave us a very hearfelt and generous surprise which made my wife emotional (in a happy way) and the both of us very greatful. The breakfast was superb and the Inn was extremely clean and in a perfect location. We cannot wait to find another weekend and go back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the executive suite and it was phenominal!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielSiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Beautiful Ogunquit, made more beautiful by Hartwell Inn. It's a charming, old-classy on the main road of Ogunquit. The innkeepers are uber-efficient, sincerely concerned about your every need, so very warm and friendly. Also, Charlene dons the loveliest casual dresses. Her husband is equally charming and affable. The breakfast menu is simple but elegantly prepared, in decent portions and served by gracious staff.

Hartwell Inn is a short walking distance from cozy Perkins Cove where one can stroll and visit every nook and cranny of quaint little stores stocked with the finest in clothing, casual wear, souvenirs, Christmassy items. Then there is the Marginal Way which is a must for everyone (even me, with my bad right leg). The local theater is so like Broadway, but intimate and so enjoyable.

Room Tip: The suites in Hartwell Inn, are your biggest surprise. No picture can do justice to how cozy, comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evelyn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,069 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
720 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 26 in Ogunquit
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House Inn

Address: 312 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: $195 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartwell House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartwell House Inn invites you to enter a world of tranquility and classic elegance. Our air conditioned rooms, suites and studios are furnished with early American and English waxed pine antiques. Some rooms have decks, kitchenettes and/or separate sitting rooms...Ideal for weekly vacation rentals. All of our accommodations have flat-screen televisions. As part of making your stay an enjoyable experience, we serve a bountiful breakfast that is entirely homemade and prepared fresh daily, as is our afternoon tea and sweets. The Hartwell House is surrounded by an expansive acre of lawn with a lily pond framed with gardens. The Inn is only steps from the picturesque Perkins Cove harbor, the quaint village center and the Marginal Way, a winding footpath that traverses along the rocky edge of southern Maine's Atlantic coast. A beautiful 3-1/2 mile pristine white sandy beach is less than a mile away which is accessible by either walking or utilizing the trollies that stop near the Inn every 15 minutes. Our staff functions as a solid team and our goal is to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable experience. Our conference and function center offers conference rooms accommodating up to 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hartwell House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing