We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”
Review of Hartwell House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hartwell House Inn
Ranked #4 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have been going to this inn for 5 years. Great place, very good location. Quiet and close to stores, restaurants, Perkins Cove. New innkeepers just began. Very friendly and professional. Breakfast always good.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 426 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent this past Memorial Day weekend at the Hartwell House and enjoyed our time there very much. The Inn was lovely, the room was clean and spacious and the breakfast was delicious! The grounds were beautiful, even though the rain kept us from relaxing on our deck. Charlene was very accommodating. The location is perfect for walking to the shops, Marginal Way and Perkins Cove. We would definitely return!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cnrideout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent this past weekend at the Hartwell House. The inn is beautiful, quiet, clean, comfortable and breakfast was delicious! Only a short 4 minute walk to Perkins Cove and the Marginal Way, the location is wonderful! The garden in the back is also beautiful!

What really made our stay outstanding was the incredible hospitality of the Innkeepers Charlene and Eric. They were truly some of the nicest people I have ever met. Initially we had selected a room in the annex building across the street. Unfortunately, there was an issue with the hot water but as soon as I let Charlene know about it, she immediately moved us into a new beautiful and extremely comfortable room in the main house. You can tell that these two really care about their guests and will clearly go the extra mile to make sure that you are comfortable and happy.

Overall, our stay was wonderful and I would absolutely recommend staying at the Hartwell House on your next trip to Ogunquit, we will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessG317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have stayed in numerous B&bs but this was our fitst stay at The Hartwell House and we wll definitely return . Room was very clean and nicely furnished, but what will guarantee our return are the innkeelers, Charlene and Eric were very friendly, helpful and very pleasant. They really made us feel at home. Breakfasts were excellent and used top quality ingredients and locally sourced. This may have been our first stay at this inn but surely not our last.

Room Tip: not all rooms have tvs so be sure to inquire if you want a room with TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 22trebor43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I spent Mother's Day weekend at the Hartwell House in Ogunquit, We would highly recommend this inn. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and very clean. Even though the weather was rainy, the view of the back gardens is enchanting, lush gardens with sounds of birds. The omelet breakfast was incredible and the nice touches of flowers and a Happy Mother's Day note from Charlene and Eric the innkeepers, made it extra special. If you are looking for a place that has that something extra try the Hartwell House you wont be disappointed!
Mary and Ed N.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are very peaceful with beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Hartwell House Inn has been our Ogunquit destination for over 15 years. With Charlene and Eric, the new on-site innkeepers, the inn is sure to have another terrific season. We enjoyed a brief visit last week with friends from Quebec, and the farewell breakfast wtih Charlene's amazing Swedish bread French toast (really!) was a highlight.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank george_harlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent another fall weekend this year at the Hartwell Inn and were not disappointed. We rented three rooms across the street at their annex - loved it. It's a newer building, with rooms that are actually larger than at the main inn, but with the same charm. The gourmet breakfast again options were spectacular. We love the location of this property and it’s unanimous; we all can't wait to get back there next year!
P.S. Didn't see any hint of ghosts either. :)

Room Tip: Try the annex accross the street from the main inn. Larger rooms with TV's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,054 reviews
1.2 mi away
Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House Inn

Address: 312 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: $206 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartwell House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartwell House Inn invites you to enter a world of tranquility and classic elegance. Our air conditioned rooms, suites and studios are furnished with early American and English waxed pine antiques. Some rooms have decks, kitchenettes and/or separate sitting rooms...Ideal for weekly vacation rentals. All of our accommodations have flat-screen televisions. As part of making your stay an enjoyable experience, we serve a bountiful breakfast that is entirely homemade and prepared fresh daily, as is our afternoon tea and sweets. The Hartwell House is surrounded by an expansive acre of lawn with a lily pond framed with gardens. The Inn is only steps from the picturesque Perkins Cove harbor, the quaint village center and the Marginal Way, a winding footpath that traverses along the rocky edge of southern Maine's Atlantic coast. A beautiful 3-1/2 mile pristine white sandy beach is less than a mile away which is accessible by either walking or utilizing the trollies that stop near the Inn every 15 minutes. Our staff functions as a solid team and our goal is to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable experience. Our conference and function center offers conference rooms accommodating up to 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hartwell House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing