We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem, found in Ogunquit, Maine”
Review of Hartwell House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hartwell House Inn
Ranked #4 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I needed locate someplace to celebrate our 22nd anniversary, and we decided on going to Ogunquit!!!
have never stayed at a B&B, until this visit at the Hartwell House. I have worked in Full service hotels for over 20 years., and can say I have never stayed in a more comfortable full service hotel....this B&B would holdup to any 4-5 star, our visit was UNBELIEVABLE. The room itself had great furnishings, and was very clean and quiet. The Inn was immaculate. The garden backyard offered you quiet time if you wanted, we opted for all of the local offerings, all of which were in walking distance. There was tea and snacks waiting for us, after our afternoon exploration of Ogunquit and Perkins Cove. Breakfast was served to order, not your pre-made offerings. we had a great time, the staff was always available, there was ample free parking and most of all we had a great time.We will find a way to get back to the Hartwell House for sure. Thank you for giving us a memorable and wonderful 22nd anniversary!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the York room, it was all it is described. Very clean, comfortable, with great furnishi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 425 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I planned a quick weekend trip to Maine a few weeks before we actually went. Once we went to book a hotel we found out that Maine is the vacation location and had a lot of trouble finding a hotel or bed and breakfast that was affordable, available, and would allow a two night only stay. Hartwell House came to the rescue!!! I called them to make the reservation and they were extremely sweet and helpful! My parents came with us and we each stayed in one of the studio rooms. The rooms were very quaint, clean, and comfortable, and it was very nice to have a little kitchenette to use. The bathroom was clean but could use a little updating. The location is perfect, you are only a few blocks from Perkins Cove (where there are a variety of little shops and restaurants) and Marginal Way (a 1.5 mile pathway along the rocky shore). The beach is about 2 miles away, but you can walk to it from Marginal Way. Our room was very quiet and looked out into the grassy yard. The breakfast was superb and the staff was very warm and welcoming. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NyCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at the Hartwell House in the Martin Van Buren Suite after we were upgraded due to an air conditioner malfunction in our original room (which was the Harriet Beecher Stowe). Dannette was quick and gracious in upgrading us in the middle of a staggering heat wave. Her no-nonsense fix it and make it better now attitude was terrific. Much appreciated! This proved to be the excellent beginning of our short but delightful stay. Staff, facilities and food were first rate across the board. If you stay be sure to take advantage of the excellent breakfast (the omelets are particularly delicious). Two thumbs up all the way around, we will be back and although not given to writing reviews on line we felt it was necessary on this particular occasion. The Hall's

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveler46105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

All I can say is WOW!! From check in to check out we were simply amazed! It was a home away from home! A beautifully decorated Inn with such ambiance! We assumed the rooms would be standard but when we went on a tour I was amazed at the different feel of each room...my husband was tickled that they were all named after famous people. How unique!!!
I have to mention breakfast, it was AMAZING!t The Hartwell House has the best breakfast I have had in a very long time. Love mixed with home style is a great combo!
A special thank you goes out to Dannette and Carrie for all you do and how special you made us feel! I look forward to our next getaway as it will certainly be with you!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giants21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Just returned from a weekend stay at this lovely Inn! The staff really made you feel at home. The night we were there they had a psychic reader who was a lot of fun. The Inn was very clean and you can't beat the location. The breakfast was fantastic too. If your looking for a place in Ogunquit then look no where else, the Hartwell House is the place to be! Again thank you to the staff, you were so nice!!! We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRRSOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We stayed one night on a recent trip through Maine and are sold on the Hartwell House. We received a gracious welcome and were escorted to the Winslow Homer room - a large room overlooking a beautiful garden. The comfortable bed was hard to get out of after a solid night's sleep. I'm glad we did however, because the cooked to order breakfast was sumptuous. The property has a very authentic feel, with wide-planked floors, several sitting rooms, a fireplace, etc. Top this off with a location a short stroll from Perkins Cove and you've got the ideal place to stay in Ogunquit. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HouTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We've made the Hartwell House Inn our Maine home away from home for over eleven years. Whether it's a brief Summer vacation, or a few days away during the Autumn foliage season, or a night or two in mid-Winter, we love Ogunquit and the Hartwell House. Great property and great staff.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george_harlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,055 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,053 reviews
1.2 mi away
Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 26 in Ogunquit
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwell House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwell House Inn

Address: 312 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: $206 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartwell House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartwell House Inn invites you to enter a world of tranquility and classic elegance. Our air conditioned rooms, suites and studios are furnished with early American and English waxed pine antiques. Some rooms have decks, kitchenettes and/or separate sitting rooms...Ideal for weekly vacation rentals. All of our accommodations have flat-screen televisions. As part of making your stay an enjoyable experience, we serve a bountiful breakfast that is entirely homemade and prepared fresh daily, as is our afternoon tea and sweets. The Hartwell House is surrounded by an expansive acre of lawn with a lily pond framed with gardens. The Inn is only steps from the picturesque Perkins Cove harbor, the quaint village center and the Marginal Way, a winding footpath that traverses along the rocky edge of southern Maine's Atlantic coast. A beautiful 3-1/2 mile pristine white sandy beach is less than a mile away which is accessible by either walking or utilizing the trollies that stop near the Inn every 15 minutes. Our staff functions as a solid team and our goal is to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable experience. Our conference and function center offers conference rooms accommodating up to 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hartwell House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwell House Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing