We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Prego

Caffe Prego
Ranked #12 of 97 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The atmosphere was incredible. Loved the outdoor seating. Pizza was really special. And the live jazz music in the background made it perfect to celebrate our weeding anniversary. We will be back for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    186
    61
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Juno Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good meal and dessert and kids welcome.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a great meal at Caffe Prego in June. Our son was welcomed with basket of toys which he loved and entertained well. The staff was very accommodating and the pizza was delicious. We (2 adults and 1 child) shared one pizza and had room for dessert & coffee. This was a great find and worth every penny. Can't believe I am saying this but - it was a nice change from lobster which was of course our staple in Maine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank guavabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Owner at Caffe Prego, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Caffe Prego, and for taking the time to write a nice review on Trip Advisor. Caffe Prego was started as the result of many trips to Italy, where family always comes first. That is why families of any size are always welcome at the caffe, and also why children are our most special guests; we firmly believe that happy kids make happy parents. We hope that you can join us again at the Caffe during your next visit to Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gets better every time we go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have been going there since it opened and this eatery keeps getting better every time we go to Ogunquit. The quality, choices and service are are outstanding. This establishment is worth every penny and it won't cost you that many pennies.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JJE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Owner at Caffe Prego, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank your for your excellent review on Trip Advisor, prompted by your many trips to Caffe Prego since we opened our doors in 2006. As we have grown, every year we've added something to help the caffe improve, including an expanded patio, a state of the art awning system, outdoor heaters, as well as an expanded menu and stone-fired pizza. But thru the many changes, we have maintained the charming atmosphere and excellence service that has helped set Caffe Prego apart from the typical tourist destinations one might find in southern Maine. We hope you keep coming back for years to come and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good pastries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Delicious scones, croissants, danish pastries and very, very good coffee. Clean and inviting interior, friendly staff. Highly recommend!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff P, Owner at Caffe Prego, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Caffe Prego, and for taking the time to write a brief but stellar review on Trip Advisor. Our culinary team makes baked goods fresh daily, and the coffee you enjoyed is shipped directly to us from Italy, all part of our effort to make the Caffe as authentic an Italian experience as possible. We hope you can visit us again during your next visit to New England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An ok place to go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Food was average. Nothing spectacular but not bad. Had two guys playing music. They were very good. The service people were very nice. I want to say the food was great, but I have to say it was ok.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bob3868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason L, Public Relations Manager at Caffe Prego, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and admittedly speaking, we are not sure how to respond since you provide no details about the food you ordered. As you can see from the many reviews, our clientele have come to appreciate the family recipes we use at Caffe Prego. Our signature pizza has been voted the “Best in York County” and have are carefully prepared with fresh ingredients and then baked in our Brick Oven. The gelato is home made with 26 flavors offered every single day and the popular salad of the day is made with fresh local ingredients and our house made dressing.

We certainly strive to please every patron as exemplified by almost a 90% recommended rating on Trip Advisor and invite you to please return and try one of the many other offerings. Lastly, please always feel comfortable to share your concerns with restaurant management so they can be afforded the opportunity to make your dining experience a delightful one. Please enjoy your time in our wonderful Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caffe Prego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing