We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little beat but good price good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonial Village Resort
Ranked #36 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
potsdam NY
Level Contributor
298 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A little beat but good price good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place was OK- we booked a SUITE and it was good for us four ladies for a reuinion. The price was fair for one night as most places in the season want a two day stay. The pools were fantastic... at low tide we walked right to the beach from the property. There were free row boats to use was a plus. Right on the trolley line and an easy walk downtown and to the beaches. I would stay here again. Shower HOT and great pressure. Bed was so so and the bedrooms nicer than the rest. Bathroom needs a good deep mold/grout cleaning.

Room Tip: If you like to swim...two pools LARGE outdoor and nice indoor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwright438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    29
    21
    17
See reviews for
57
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Attleboro, ma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have stayed here 4 times in the past 3 years. Rooms, pools, and Beach access rock, Be clear this is not a resort. No Internet in many rooms. Poor lighting in the parking lots. Not a resort feel.But it works for us. The desk staff this time were nice. when we stayed earlier in the month they were surly. You can do better in Ogunquit Wells, their prices are high. The upside is they always have openings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soaringspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The office personnel were helpful from the moment we arrived until check out time. The indoor pool and spa tub were not new, but both were clean and water was nice and warm. We didn't get to try the outdoor pool. Our room was very clean, bed was comfortable, flatscreen tv. A wonderful surprise was the availability of free rowboats! Kayaks are 10.00 to rent. (singles only. they don't have 2-person kayaks.We paddled around the crystal clear water the afternoon we arrived, seeing crabs and tiny fish jumping! We had a relaxing paddle (app 10 minutes long) to get to the uncrowded section of beautiful beach the next morning. No walking or driving required! The breakfast choices were fruit, cereal, donuts, juice, and instant oatmeal. I suggest they buy some yogurt and bagels and people will be much happier about the breakfast! The town is an easy walk. Walked to Caffe Prego, had a delicious Saturday night dinner.The place itself, due to the PERFECT LOCATION, friendly staff and quality amenities mean we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in room 35 (one queen size bed), second room from the end, so we had a beautiful ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 97HappyTraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON, MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked 2 nights as a very last minute stay. We picked the hotel based on price and proximity to beach & downtown. I read reviews after we booked and was nervous we made a mistake, but I have to say, I found the negative reviews misleading.
We got a newly renovated 2 bedroom (queen) with a microwave, fridge, and flat screen tv. The room was clean and enough space for (4) 2 adults, 1 baby and 6 year old. The grounds were clean as was the lobby / breakfast area.
The pool was large, but could use some maintance. I think they would benefit by adding additional shade / umbrellas and lounge chairs. The water was chilly, but clean.
The continental breakfast was a limited, but the donuts were very fresh and yummy.
All and all, I was pleasantly pleased. I would suggest for those on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMSTOCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family has been coming here on and off for 40 years. I had not been in 20 years and decided to give it a try with my wife, son and his girlfriend. First the good: the beach access across the river at low tide to the nicest part of the Ogunquit beach is certainly the main draw. So are the row boats that are fun. The state of the greenery is well maintained, except around the tennis court which is overgrown with weeds around the perimeter; come on guys and gals! It would only take a couple of hours to make it look fresh! Now the not so good....the pool fence, gate, etc. looks like it was built and painted by the lowest-level amateur on the planet! And covering the perimeter of the pool wall with a green plastic netting looks.....AWFUL! Breakfast....donuts and little cereal boxes. Enough said. Motel decor? Circa 1980's or earlier but at least ours was kept clean. The bathroom door handles and fridge are definitely 1960's. BBQ's? A nice touch if someone would clean the grills or replace the one with the rusted out holes in the bottom. When I asked for a steel brush for the grill, the reaction I got was a somewhat blank 'what's that?' stare. I even offered to buy one until my wife broughtt me back to my senses. Then an employee came along later with a plastic bristle floor brush and did her best to spread the ash around....too funny! Did we still have fun? Absolutely, but it's sad that the place has dropped so far in class. The original owners would be sad as well. I noticed one review response saying they've recently spent hundreds of thousands of dollars. On what? Probably on the facade of the front office building I'm guessing. Here's a suggestion: $200 to replace a BBQ, $40 for some BBQ brushes, $1000 for some hedge plants to replace that awful green plastic around the pool, $100 for someone to weed the tennis court, a few thousand to rip the sorry rotten fence out around the pool and replace it with a white plastic fence. Until you do little things like that, Colonial Village, I am believing your trying to unload the motel. Last point - if the management had pride in the place,they wouldn't let people hang all their beach towels along the railing. What a sight....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteevyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ogunquit hotels

Windsor Locks, Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the Colonial the third week of July and it was not full. We should have taken that as a hint. The room we had was so musty smelling we had to keep our windows open for our entire stay. The linens are so outdated. The shower & toilet area is so small and need to be upgraded. The toilet seat & tub were very worn. The tv was in such a small area with two straight back chairs for a family of four. They advertised wifi but it did not work from our room. The walk to the beach was rather long. The only good thing was the view at high tide. We will won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have been going to the Colonial for well over 20 years. First with my parents and then as an adult with my own child. I have really seen it decline over the years but this is the first year that I have thought about not going back. It has got so rundown. It is really sad. In its heyday the Colonial was just fabulous and the prices were so good. The pool is so sad. Tiles all chipped, I never saw anyone all week check the water. There were not enough umbrellas. This is a big change from previous years. It was so bad, that people were buying beach umbrellas at the store and sticking them into the middle of the tables just to get some shade. Air conditioner was so loud. Furniture old. It just makes me sad. I have had so many good memories. The competition is too fierce in that area for them to let the property go like that. There were hardly any cars in the lot and it is the 3rd week of July for goodness sake. Come on Colonial get with it. I know you can do it!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebjrnBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
Stage Run by the Sea
Stage Run by the Sea
#33 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#31 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abalonia Inn
Abalonia Inn
#17 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea View Motel
Sea View Motel
#27 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Village Resort

Property: Colonial Village Resort
Address: 548 Main St, P O Box 836, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3212
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Village Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
70 Unit Resort Motel with Basic Motel Rooms, Motel Efficiencies, 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites, Weekly Rental Apartments, and Riverside Cottages. Large Outdoor Pool, Outdoor Jacuzzi, Indoor Pool and Jacuzzi, Tennis Court, Game Room, Tidal River Access, 8 Rowboats for Guest Use During High Tide, Wireless Internet Access in Lobby, Free Continental Breakfast, 15 Minute Walk to Town or Beach, On Trolley Route! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Colonial Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Village Hotel Ogunquit
Colonial Village Motel
Colonial Village Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing