We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spontaneous stay, well worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dragonfly Guest House
Ranked #6 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spontaneous stay, well worth it”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I took a spontaneous trip to Maine before the snowstorm would affect our traveling ability. We looked at some different locations online and I stumbled across the Dragonfly Guest House. I thought it looked really nice, so my girlfriend called, spoke to David and there was availability for that night.

When we got there, we were greeted by one of the owners, Charles. He was very friendly and welcoming, immediately making us feel "at home." He was nice enough to show us the two rooms available and we chose the first as we both agreed on it. The living/common area was very relaxing and comfortable, we even noticed they were making brownies for the guests which Charles pointed out would be cut up soon!

We stayed in the Pistachio room, which was very clean and spacious for the two of us. The bathroom was a good size and also very clean. The bed is always one of the most important things to us when we stay, as most beds are quite uncomfortable in hotels / BB's. I had no complaints on the bed here, very comfortable. A great added touch is the outdoor hot tub, especially to enjoy it while the snow came down!

In the morning, an "extended continental breakfast" was available to us. We were greeted by the other 2 couples as well as David and Charles when we walked downstairs. We got our coffee and joined the conversation. I cannot say enough good about both David and Charles as they are not only so welcoming but also so personable, sitting down to casually converse with their guests.

We look forward to visiting again and would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to visit Ogunquit, as it is in a perfect location, near many great restaurants, bars, the ocean and also a quick drive to other attractions like Portland, Old Orchard Beach / Saco and so on.

Thanks again David and Charles! We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
156
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Mass
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the dragonfly guest house last fall. We had a wonderful time. Quiet and clean rooms, friendly and knowledgeable owner, great location, excellent food. Would definitely reccomend!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My partner, David, and I stayed at the Dragonfly last spring and the wonderful memories of our experience continue to infuse my days in the year since. Our room was tastefully done, quiet and had every luxury at hand. The breakfasts were delicious and healthfully presented. Our hosts were friendly, knowledgeable and attentive in just the right amount.

The location of the inn could not have been better -- midway between the adorable village and the picturesque harbor.

What would have made it better....I can't think of a single thing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

David & Charles are the perfect hosts! So warm and friendly and never intrusive or overbearing. They truly made us feel as though we were visiting old friends. When the two other couples staying in the house sat by the fire with us and "schmoozed", David & Charles beamed and said this was exactly the type of family atmosphere they had hoped to have in their guest house (Note: They call it a "guest house"... not an inn... not a B&B... but a guest house.) The house and rooms within are spotless, tasteful, comfortable and well-equipped. The "extended continental breakfast" was freshly prepared daily and beyond all taste expectations. (If you're lucky, you'll get the raspberry/almond bread..MMMM!) The central location is perfect for enjoying the rest of the area. Plenty to do within walking distance. We were so sad to leave. We will DEFINITELY be back again very soon and many, many more times.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sky Blue room which is upstairs with the Sunflower room and the Pistachio room. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The location is great! We came with another couple we knew who stayed above in a different room and they liked it just fine.

I have zero complaints about the room itself. It was spacious and the fireplace was functional. What my wife was craving for, hoping for, and did not receive was any of the extra's one expects staying in a B&B.

Basically it was like a nice hotel room, but there was next to zero interaction with the keeper and nothing was provided in addition to our room. We were surprised that while do-it-yourself coffee was available in the morning (since the keeper wasn't up), that to-go coffee cups weren't available.

All in all the place really is very nice, but if you're looking for a B&B experience, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a great room at a good price, this place fits the bill.

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger "star suite" and for the couple extra bucks the space was well wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BCMike22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Owner at Dragonfly Guest House, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We’re sorry to learn that we did not meet your wife’s B&B expectations. We strive to create an atmosphere where our guests feel comfortable & at-home by offering such things as home baked snacks each afternoon, complimentary robes in each room, around the clock coffee services and a variety of homemade offerings at our expanded continental breakfast. We so enjoy getting to know our guests during breakfast and we’re saddened that we were unable to do so with the four of you due to your pre-dawn departure. We always try to be available to our guests but don’t want to be intrusive. This sometimes is a challenge when guests are traveling in pairs and are here for such short periods of time (less than 24 hours) such as yourselves. Thank you for your comments & suggestion for “to-go cups”; it’s a great idea that we have now implemented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonborough, New Hampshire, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Hosts Charles & Dave make you feel like family from the moment you arrive! The accommodations are very clean & comfortable, not to mention there expanded continetal breakfasts as they called it was delicious & plentyful! The central location is fantastic as you can park your vehicle and walk or bike to all of the Ogunquit /Perkins Cove attractions & Restaurants & beaches! My wife & I can't wait till our 2nd visit this summer!

Thanks

Bruno & Sharon

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Charles & David are excellent hosts. They are their to assist but quiet and reserved about it. They are not underfoot but available to talk to if you need them. This is like being a guest in a friends home for the weekend. The breakfast was superb and the fresh baked afternoon snack that awaited us after a day of sightseeing, shopping, etc.was very much welcomed. There is always fresh coffee & tea available as well, with lots of flavors & choices.

Charles gave us great suggestions for dinner each night. Location is great. We walked to dinner as well as Perkins Cove & Marginal Way. Location is great for walking which we love. It's nice to put the car away once in a while.

Can't say enough. If you want a relaxing setting, this is the place. Wonderful large dining table to share with other guests, fireplace, relaxing chairs to read in, etc. Guests and hosts alike all seem to be in a quiet mood around the house. There's just something about the place that relaxes you.

Charles noticed that I was reading a lot of newspapers, so he made sure I got a copy of the Weekend Times to look over. That was a nice unexpected touch.

Will definitely visit again. Thanks guys for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the backyard. Room we had in front is very close to the street, a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,029 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
555 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#5 of 26 in Ogunquit
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Guest House

Property: Dragonfly Guest House
Address: 254 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900 (Formerly Carriage Trade Inn)
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dragonfly Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dragonfly Guest House is surrounded by all that Ogunquit has to offer. Taking a stroll down Shore Road, guests will see museums, art galleries, quaint shops, restaurants and the picturesque Perkins Cove. Heading in the opposite direction on Shore Road one will find the Ogunquit Memorial Library, fine restaurants and the village shopping area. Ogunquit's famed Marginal Way is just a few blocks from Dragonfly Guest House through a lovely residential area. The jewel of Ogunquit; its pristine beach is a quick ten minute walk from Dragonfly Guest House. The acclaimed Ogunquit Playhouse is around the corner and multiple golf courses are just a short drive away.​Dragonfly Guest House has five guest rooms and one guest suite all with private baths. There is a large sitting room great for reading a book or just relaxing next to the fireplace on a cool autumn day. If you like the outdoors, there is a large common deck to take in the sunshine and a large dining room to begin your morning with breakfast served daily between 8am - 10am. We have an on-site Massage Therapist to help you relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dragonfly Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragonfly Guest House Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing