We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is everything”
Review of Norseman Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norseman Resort
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This mediocre hotel has a spectacular location, right on a beautiful ocean beach and only a few minutes from the restaurants, bars and stores of the town.
The view from the upper floor rooms is awesome, and you can sit outside on the common linked balcony and enjoy the sun and the scenery.
Ideal for a family beach vacation.
The rooms are in need of updating and refurbishment, and there is an unpleasant odour in the corridors, but LOCATION IS EVERYTHING.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 378 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

While the Norseman is dated and basic, a 3 story hotel with various options, right on the beach, ocean or river views, and short easy walk to one of the most charming towns in Maine, the ocean mere steps from the front door, and a 5-10 minute walk to the northern terminus of the Marginal Way (with Perkins Cover on the south end) -- it doesn't get much better or affordable. Do be aware there is no elevator, guests lug their own luggage, and you are right next to the parking lot for Oguinquit Beach. Sliding doors enter room from a veranda/walkway ringing the hotel, where lounge chairs are conviently places. Individual air conditioners in each room.

Room Tip: Nothing compares to the ocean view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDPautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great spot, right on the beach, the only one. Clean, quiet and well maintain. A 5 minutes walk away from the main street and restaurants. We have been there for 3 nights at Canadian thanksgiving. We had a room on the water facing building on the third floor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gusMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Went for a short trip and was pleasantly surprised by the "side oceanview". The staff was more than helpful from the time of reservation , to check in, to helping with dinner suggestions. As other reviewers have said the rooms are dated BUT execptionally clean! Our room was huge with an amazing view of the ocean. We went in October but the sunshine on the deck made it fine to sit out and enjoy the view!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithfamily-2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Norseman's location is it's biggest selling point. Free internet access is also a plus. The beds were uncomfortable, at best. Staff friendly. Parking sufficient. We are repeat visitors and enjoy the low key atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rwny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Recently stayed at the Norseman Resort in Ogunquit Me. Great Value for the price and Great Location. We paid $20 extra and had incredible views of the ocean. Spotless and comfy nice big room will stay again!

Room Tip: Bob's Clam Hut in Kittery had great seafood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Norseman's location cannot be beat - in fact, it is the best location in Ogunquit. My last visit was Sept 21-23. I parked my car upon our arrival (no problem parking, contrary to previous posters) and never used it again during our entire stay. My elderly mother and I either took the trolley or walked into town. But most of the time we were at the beach - just a few steps from our room (The Dunes). The rooms are very basic - but there is everything you need. Comfortable beds, good cupboard space, small fridge, large bathroom vanity (ours had drawers). There are chaise lounge type chairs right outside the room (on the patio or deck, depending on your room location) - good for early morning surf-watching.
I am always happy to spend a few days at the Norseman.

Room Tip: The Dunes give you a view of the ocean and of the dunes. There is a small path down to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JS787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
601 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norseman Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norseman Resort

Address: 135 Beach Street, PO Box 896, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $106 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit's only beachfront resort. Variety of accommodations to meet your budget and expectations. 2 restaurants, free parking. Outdoor heated swimming pool, tennis court, sauna, fitness room. All rooms have fridge, hairdryer, iron, queen or king beds. Our hospitality professionals have been taking care of our guests for over 40 years. Experience the Norseman and find out why our guests return year after year. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Norseman Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norseman Hotel Ogunquit
Norseman Motel Ogunquit
Norseman Ogunquit
Norseman Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing