We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location with young kids”
Review of Norseman Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Norseman Resort
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic location with young kids”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We just enjoyed a 24hr. stay and it was wonderful. We you are paying for and getting here is: LOCATION. We were just a few steps to the sandy beach which was especially wonderful when the 3 and 5 year olds were ready to start their day at 6:05. The walk into town was super easy and we did it several times -- with the kids walking. The room also had a mini fridge which was perfect for stashing water, milk, etc. -- very handy feature. The room is a hotel room. No frills here and none needed b/c you should be ON the beach!! The room was very clean and had lots of smart storage. I highly recommend this for any couple who has young children -- especially if the kids nap -- you can hang out on the deck overlooking the beach while the darlings sleep away the hottest part of the day.
The hotel staff was extremely polite and helpful. We arrived at 11am and the room happened to be ready -- so we checked right in -- fabulous. Parking wasn't a problem as we parked once and walked everywhere after that.

Room Tip: It seemed like all of the rooms had their advantages and disadvantages -- we stayed on the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNorseman, Manager at Norseman Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Norseman Resort on Ogunquit Beach and for posting your experience on tripadvisor. We are definitely the ideal location for family travel. Park your car, check-in and avoid the $25 daily parking fee, the traffic, the hassle of carrying beach gear, children, coolers and toys to the beach. Both our accommodations and amenities are comparable with other area lodgings. Rooms are spacious, tastefully furnished and immaculately clean. Two restaurants, two retail stores, complimentary local phone calls and wireless internet and 500 feet away at the Aspinquid is an outdoor heated swimming pool, tennis court, sauna, guest laundry facilities and our new exercise room. We look forward to hosting your next Ogunquit visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    114
    39
    12
    11
See reviews for
111
164
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

It looks great online. Parking is jammed, spots are tiny so unless you arrive in a smart car.. you're going to have dings in your doors. The staff is NOT friendly anywhere. I've held the door for the staff and not even eye contact made, let alone a thank you. The rooms look like a Motel 6 room. Very tiny and your door is a glass sliding door...that's it. The bathroom is small and shower terrible. If I stayed here for 100/night it'd be worth the money for the accommodations. However, we paid over 300/night because we faced the ocean. The beach is packed. Lay down on your king bed and listen to your neighbors through the walls. I've paid this much for a Penthouse Suite at the Mirage in Las Vegas. We won't be back! waste of money.

Room Tip: the Air Conditioner worked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerNorseman, Manager at Norseman Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Norseman Resort on Ogunquit Beach. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations leading to your opinions on tripadvisor. Our website is representative of our property so if it looked great online to you, then your stay should have been great. I apologize if any staff member failed to provide the same level of hospitality which other reviewers have praised. We offer a variety of accommodations and our oceanfron king rooms are not tiny. Our rates and value are comparable with other area accommodations. I am sorry if your vehicle doors were "dinged" but that would be the result of inconsiderate people parked next to you - not inadequately spaced parking. Yes, the beach is packed. Ogunquit is a popular beach destination. Ogunquit was also voted one of the top beach towns in Yankee magazine this summer. If your neighbors were unusually loud, a telephone call to the front desk would have allowed us to address the issue thereby alleviating your discomfort. Should your travels bring you back to Ogunquit, we hope that you are able to locate accommodations more suitable to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, NH
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

At the Norseman you are paying for the location. And the location is GREAT! There is no better location in Ogunquit as far is access to the beach goes! Our first night we stayed in what they call the Economy Room. My attempt to save a little money turned out to be a terrible mistake. Let there be no misunderstanding, the room was exactly as described; location, view, size, amenities...everything was there as the website said. What we didn't know is that the "deck" is actually the roof of a restaurant and rusty nails kept coming up through the boarding from the roof. Our neighbors and us started a competition to see how many we could pick-up. If you get an economy room NEVER walk barefoot on the "deck". The AC was old and noisy and couldn't keep the small room at a consistent comfortable temp. The room was small as advertised, but it was also slanted. So slanted that the bathroom door no longer fit and wouldn't close, awkward to say the least; and the bathroom itself was so tiny it was like being in a refrigerator box. The bed was on it's last legs and wriggled, rocked and rolled with every breath. Little sleep was had, and it wasn't because we were having fun! The good thing about the room is that the refrigerator was one of those larger dorm fridges and it was right next to the bed and held everything we brought. As I said earlier, the location was wonderful, but no location is worth $200 per night if you have to stay in a room like that.
The following morning I went to the front desk and asked if we could up-grade our room (I couldn't spend another second in the room we were in). The front desk manager was kind enough to give us an upgrade (for an extra $85). We moved to a much nicer room with two queen beds, both of which were comfortable and stable. The room had a walk-out porch that looked over the dunes and the ocean to the right. The TV was very nice. As someone else mentioned, the fridge was a tiny little dorm fridge and we could hardly fit anything in it. And it was located in the bathroom right next to the toilet...kind of a weird place. The room was definitely passable though one should be forewarned that it was still a bit "campy". Though check-out was at 11:00 the chambermaids were at our door at 10:45, but when they realized we were still there they were incredibly friendly and went out of their way to let us know they weren't rushing us. The chambermaids were probably the friendliest bunch of all the employees there! If you stay there don't forget to tip the chambermaids, they work hard and so a great job making a silk purse out of a sows ear!

Room Tip: Don't try to save money by getting the Economy Room! It's not worth the money you'll spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kidzndogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Norseman is situated on an amazing long dune next to the classy Mainer seaside resort town of Ogunquit. Ogunquit is classier than Wells, directly to the North, and Norseman, which has been there since the 40's (i believe). They have their own restaurant and if you stay in the Sundowner (MUCH recommended) you will have a great view of the amazing beach. 2nd floor is best, as you are elevated and the heavy duty traffic during summer won't be able to see in. The water is NOT warm, but is swimmable if you have heart.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

The room was super clean, the deck was large and had an incredible view, the beds were comfortable and the location could not have bern better. We could literally walk downstairs and then right down to the beach. The staff was very nice and helpful. They didn't mind my tourist questions and made great dining suggestions! Also the trolley came right to the hotel, which was really convenient. I will definitely stay here again the next chance I get to go to Ogunquit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adams, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I booked a room at the Norseman for our honeymoon. We were looking forward to having a room on the beach in Ogunquit, When we arrived we were told that our reservation was lost. Upon further review once we pulled out our 3 confirmation e-mails, we were told that somehow they had changed our reservation from 5 nights to just 2, and they didnt have our room that we booked 4 months in advance until the 3rd night of our stay. We were asked to move rooms all week on our honeymoon. I wasnt happy about it and said we would take the room for the night and talk to a manager in the morning. When morning came we went back to the office and spoke with Larry the front desk manager. He was not polite, not concerned, not helpful and basically told us if we thought we could find somewhere else to stay then we should go ahead. I work at a hotel and I know theres much better ways to handle such a situation. We werent offered a discounted rate, we were offered anything for the trouble. Just this is what Im going to do and thats it. Im very sad to say we paid them $348+ for that first night, we werent even in the room for more then 8 hours. I never recieved a phone call or email from anyone apologizing or anything. Also, the room itself was not worth the money we were going to spend to stay the week. There were candy wrappers under our bureau that werent from us. The refridgerator in the room is located next to the toilet in the bathroom (yuck!). The room is quite large and they could have put it somewhere else. All and all it was just a huge disapointment, and I know that we as well as my parents who have stayed there plenty will not be returning to this resort again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed at the Norseman in early June, the weather could have been much better, however the trip in general was great! Everyone I encountered at the hotel was very kind and welcoming and could answer any questions I had. Our room had a wonderful view and was very tidy! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, whether you are traveling for business, pleasure, just by yourself or with family this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caseylynn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norseman Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norseman Resort

Property: Norseman Resort
Address: 135 Beach Street, PO Box 896, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ogunquit's only beachfront resort. Variety of accommodations to meet your budget and expectations. 2 restaurants, free parking. Outdoor heated swimming pool, tennis court, sauna, fitness room. All rooms have fridge, hairdryer, iron, queen or king beds. Our hospitality professionals have been taking care of our guests for over 40 years. Experience the Norseman and find out why our guests return year after year. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norseman Hotel Ogunquit
Norseman Motel Ogunquit
Norseman Ogunquit
Norseman Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing