We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value and location for the Money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Neptune Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Neptune Inn
Ranked #34 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Bloomingdale, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Value and location for the Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

If you are like my husband and me you will love this place.. WE are always watching our money and try not to spend too much. The Neptune is located on the beach, just a few steps away from the sand. The rooms are basic but clean and you can get either a River view or an Ocean view with a porch for sitting and relaxing. We went after Labor Day and what a deal it was! The people who run the motel are very nice, there is coffee in the morning in the lobby and free WiFi. You need to be near the lobby to get the WiFi but there are ocmfortable chairs upstairs and down so you can sit and use your laptop , etc.
We have gone to Ogunquit for years and usually paid a high price to stay at other places near the ocean but the Neptune is a Gem by the Sea as far as we are concerned.. So for a great price you are still where the action is.

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for it. They have cheaper rooms but those rooms do not have a porch upon whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seri4509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville vermont
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Having pasted by the neptune inn many times I thought it was a resort owned property that was out of my price range due to it's beachside location. Finally after checking it out I was delighted to see it was not owned by the overpriced resort owned property. This is a privatively owned gem of a property. I always stay here when we are going to ogunquit beach as you are right there, no walking the beach, no paying outrageous parking fees, park your vehicle and walk to everything you need from this location at an unbeatable price. You can't beat it!! Kudos to the owners!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front oceanview are real nice. If you prefer real quitness take a bayside room and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dale i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed in a upstairs room facing the tidal river and loved it. It is not 5 star luxury, if you are looking for this go somewhere else. It is comfortable, clean and friendly and right next to the beach. Location could not be better if you are a beach person, and the price is great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank AtlantisboundNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Neck, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Make sure you really want to go to this mediocre hotel- my mother fell and broke her hip BUT THEY WOULD NOT REFUND OUR DEPOSIT even though the trip was one week away. I WOULD NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THEM AGAIN!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryfromLittleNeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poisidon, Manager at The Neptune Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We are sorry that you were unable to keep your reservation with us. Our cancellation policy requires a 15 day notice in order to have your deposit refunded. We take a deposit to hold your room for you. As a small inn, we book our rooms for your arrival and departure dates and cancellations leave us with vacant lodging we are unable to rent. This policy is carefully explained to every guest on reserving their room. We know that events occur beyond control but we hope you understand why our policy is in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Upon our arrival, we were given keys to our oceanfront room...What we got instead was a parking lot view. The room itself was beyond small. There was a water stain on the ceiling. The pillows were as hard as rocks - - to the point where I had to go out and buy one. Also, the room had a strange smell to it...something between a horse and a barn smell.

As for the bathroom, well, it was beyond words. If you were ever on a cruise, the bathrooms on the cruise are large compared to the bathroom in our room. The toilet was so close to the sink you had to turn sideways to be comfortable. And the shower was a tiny stall. My husband could barely fit in it because he's over 6 feet tall.

If you are going to stay in Ogunquit, I suggest you find a better hotel. There are plenty to choose from.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LoralieESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poisidon, Manager at The Neptune Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for staying at The Neptune Inn and taking the time to write about your experience. I sincerely apologize for the room not meeting your expectations. Some of our rooms are oceanview rooms and not oceanfront. Yes the room is small but for the economy traveler it is clean and functional and offers a breathtaking view of the ocean. Many of our rooms are equipped with shower stalls which are of a standard size. We supply the rooms with firm pillows that meet the needs of most guests. We encourage our guests to bring to the attention of the reception desk any requests they have such as additional pillows. We are happy to accommodate our guests with any needs they may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

Ok it is not a 5 star resort hotel, but it is a great place to stay: right by the sea with great people helping you out to get organised while there.
I really like this small hotel where I go to enjoy the sea twice a year!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yann2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

Four adults in our family stayed here, and just loved it. Because the price was so low, we were a bit wary of what we might find when we arrived. No need to worry. We were greeted by a most friendly and helpful host, who not only made us feel welcome at the inn, but also gave great tips on where to eat and places to see while there. The rooms were clean, well kept and cozy. Nothing fancy here, but charming, comfortable and welcoming. The location on the beach, and also with a river view is wonderful. The shower was quite small, but the over-all ambiance of the inn certainly made the small shower an insignificant thing. We would certainly stay here again, and recommend it with no hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abalonia Inn
Abalonia Inn
#17 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Chambers Motel
Sea Chambers Motel
#23 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#22 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neptune Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neptune Inn

Property: The Neptune Inn
Address: 127 Beach St, PO Box 115, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Neptune Inn is conveniently located at Ogunquit Beach, and overlooks the wondrous sights of the ocean, the beach, and the rocky coast. The Neptune Inn offers lodging by the sea, and an unsurpassed location on a sand dune peninsula, with two miles of the finest beach in Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Neptune Hotel Ogunquit
Neptune Hotel Ogunquit
The Neptune Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing