We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not have a major tradegy after booking this hotle”
Review of The Neptune Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Neptune Inn
Ranked #35 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Make sure you really want to go to this mediocre hotel- my mother fell and broke her hip BUT THEY WOULD NOT REFUND OUR DEPOSIT even though the trip was one week away. I WOULD NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THEM AGAIN!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryfromLittleNeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poisidon, Manager at The Neptune Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

We are sorry that you were unable to keep your reservation with us. Our cancellation policy requires a 15 day notice in order to have your deposit refunded. We take a deposit to hold your room for you. As a small inn, we book our rooms for your arrival and departure dates and cancellations leave us with vacant lodging we are unable to rent. This policy is carefully explained to every guest on reserving their room. We know that events occur beyond control but we hope you understand why our policy is in place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 50 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

Upon our arrival, we were given keys to our oceanfront room...What we got instead was a parking lot view. The room itself was beyond small. There was a water stain on the ceiling. The pillows were as hard as rocks - - to the point where I had to go out and buy one. Also, the room had a strange smell to it...something between a horse and a barn smell.

As for the bathroom, well, it was beyond words. If you were ever on a cruise, the bathrooms on the cruise are large compared to the bathroom in our room. The toilet was so close to the sink you had to turn sideways to be comfortable. And the shower was a tiny stall. My husband could barely fit in it because he's over 6 feet tall.

If you are going to stay in Ogunquit, I suggest you find a better hotel. There are plenty to choose from.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank LoralieESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poisidon, Manager at The Neptune Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Thank you for staying at The Neptune Inn and taking the time to write about your experience. I sincerely apologize for the room not meeting your expectations. Some of our rooms are oceanview rooms and not oceanfront. Yes the room is small but for the economy traveler it is clean and functional and offers a breathtaking view of the ocean. Many of our rooms are equipped with shower stalls which are of a standard size. We supply the rooms with firm pillows that meet the needs of most guests. We encourage our guests to bring to the attention of the reception desk any requests they have such as additional pillows. We are happy to accommodate our guests with any needs they may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Ok it is not a 5 star resort hotel, but it is a great place to stay: right by the sea with great people helping you out to get organised while there.
I really like this small hotel where I go to enjoy the sea twice a year!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yann2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Four adults in our family stayed here, and just loved it. Because the price was so low, we were a bit wary of what we might find when we arrived. No need to worry. We were greeted by a most friendly and helpful host, who not only made us feel welcome at the inn, but also gave great tips on where to eat and places to see while there. The rooms were clean, well kept and cozy. Nothing fancy here, but charming, comfortable and welcoming. The location on the beach, and also with a river view is wonderful. The shower was quite small, but the over-all ambiance of the inn certainly made the small shower an insignificant thing. We would certainly stay here again, and recommend it with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We just returned from our trip to Maine. We spent one night at the Neptune before heading up the coast. We've stayed in Ogunquit before & this year opted for this clean and friendly hotel with location location location. The hotel is right on the beach & couldn't be more convenient. The hotel is well kept; the furniture is circa 1960s (i.e. my big brother's old bedroom furniture). We easily walked down the street to town & took a bit longer walk down Main St. to the Lobsterman for dinner. Breakfast was next door at a diner. Perfect beach experience. Will stay there again. Note that the hotel does not have its own parking lot, but they have an arrangement for free parking with the public lot right outside after 3pm on checkin day.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank workinggirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

My girlfriend and I spent a weekend at the Neptune Inn in July, and we loved it. The room was perfectly clean, with good beds and nice sheets, great housekeeping (I don't know how they keep it so sand-free, being right on the beach, but they do), a room A/C unit, and a powerful, hot shower. Plus, maybe it was a fluke, but the room price was lower than those at almost every other hotel.The location cannot be beat: it's one of maybe two hotels actually ON the beach. It felt so good not to have to tromp (or drive and pay through the nose for parking!) with the hordes of beachgoers back and forth along the road to the beach. Instead we could just pop out and enjoy an afternoon on the beach, a morning coffee, or a sunset walk. It's even closer to the restaurants downtown than many other hotels out on route 1. I'll definitely be staying at the Neptune on future trips to Ogunquit.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jeff87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

This nice small hotel by the beach is the best!
I am going there now twice a year and everytime it's a pleasure.
The rooms are not that beautiful but they are cosy, really clean and it's is so great to look at the sea from the terrace.
Some rooms have a convenient kitchenette for your morning breakfasts.
And on top of all the people working there are always so nice.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yann2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Norseman Resort
Norseman Resort
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Betty Doon Hotel
Betty Doon Hotel
#34 of 36 in Ogunquit
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abalonia Inn
Abalonia Inn
#21 of 36 in Ogunquit
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neptune Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neptune Inn

Address: 127 Beach St, PO Box 115, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: $49 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Neptune Inn is conveniently located at Ogunquit Beach, and overlooks the wondrous sights of the ocean, the beach, and the rocky coast. The Neptune Inn offers lodging by the sea, and an unsurpassed location on a sand dune peninsula, with two miles of the finest beach in Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Neptune Hotel Ogunquit
Neptune Hotel Ogunquit
The Neptune Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing